Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

54 People found this comment helpful

Please watch out for these bulletin boards. I am a very sensitive person, health-obsessed and health food and everything, and I have had nothing but a good experience- no side effects to my surprise. Just relief. Also had in-depth conversations with doctors about generics vs. main brand and there is no difference. I have switched between Kariva and Viorele etc and no change. I love this drug.! Kee...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

The worst birth control I have ever used in my entire life. I used to take Azurrette and, like others, CVS switched it out for this new kind. I have been taking it for a little over three months and it is TERRIBLE. My first period on it lasted for over two weeks when normally it is just a few days long. It was so heavy and not at all what I was used to. I also experienced migraines and heavy mood ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first time on hormonal birth control, but after over a decade of unbearable PMS/PMDD symptoms and extremely heavy periods, my doctor insisted I start this. I was originally prescribed the brand name of Kuriva, but my insurance would only cover this one (Viorele). The first couple weeks were relatively normal. I had spotting but no big mood swings, and I noticed some cramping and cravings for sugar but nothing too intense. When it was time for my period, that’s when the hell started. I normally go for 3 days heavy but consistent; this time, I went for 8 straight days bleeding heavy and clotting. On the second pack of pills (I was instructed to skip placebo week), that’s when the side effects really kicked in. I’m a long distance runner with a stable weight, but out of NOWHERE with zero changes to my diet, I gained 5 pounds in two days. My depression is at an all time high, I’m breaking out all over the place, and I’m struggling to breathe with all of this bloating happening. It’s in my face, hands, feet, chest and belly. I’ve taken water pills and will soon take probiotics to counter this, but I’m now on my third month of this medication and it’s not worth it. I completely skipped my period this month which is a plus for some, but I still had all of the PMS/PMDD symptoms I would get without the relief of the bleeding and knowing it would be over after that. I do not recommend this medication if PMDD is your main concern.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
issapisces | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first time I've been on birth control and what a mistake!!!!! Viorele has me f*ck*d up. I've been SEVERELY depressed, with thoughts of self-harm and serious anxiety/anger issues which is very unlike me. NOW FOR THE PHYSICAL ISSUES: bruises all over my legs, like the large lumpy kind. Pain in my knees, lower back, TERRIBLE migraines 2-3 days long. My period (which pre-Viorele was 3-4 days medium flow) has been a nine-day experience with INSANE sugar cravings and terrible constipation. Sex drive hasn't been affected but the consistency/amount of my wetness during sex is like a dessert down there which again was never a problem before. Not worth it!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caroline Owens | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Viorele six months ago after a visit with my gynecologist. After suffering for years with painful and heavy periods, I decided to give birth control a try; in hopes of more regular and less painful periods. Instead, I received the complete opposite. After only two short weeks into my first pill pack, I began to experience debilitating stomach pains, breakthrough bleeding, and heavy spotting; which lasted all the way up until my period came. After taking my second placebo pill, I began to bleed heavier than I have ever bled since starting my menstrual cycle at age 12; (I am 19 now). I passed clots the size of golf balls, and had to change pads about every hour; which lasted all the way up until I began my second pack. I was very disappointed to find out that the next few months of this pill would be just as bad as the first month; if not worse. I began to experience emotional problems, such as: frequent panic attacks, intense mood swings, random outbursts of anger, depression, short temperament, crying spells, etc. Aside from emotional difficulties, I experienced physical problems, such as: stomach pain, pelvic pain, constipation, tiredness, fatigue, frequent and intense nausea, loss of appetite, insomnia, frequent urination, heavy discharge, migraines, spotting, etc. After six, long and debilitating months, I have decided to make an appointment with my doctor; and I will no longer be taking this medication. I realize that hormonal drugs effect everyone differently, but I ask that you heavily educate yourself on this medication before taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deftones8898 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for 5 years and stopped taking it recently it’s made my anxiety and depression so much worse and i’m ALWAYS bloated and have not cared about sex the whole time i’ve been taking this medication it also makes sex painful it was very effective for my PCOS and cleared my cystic acne to the point no one could tell i ever had bad acne but the horrible side effects are just not worth dealing with

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works however....I am finding comfort in reading these reviews knowing I was not alone with my Viorele experience. Pharmacy switched me from Kariva to that because "kariva was no longer available" I was told they were the same, both generic of mircette. THEY ARE NOT THE SAME AT ALL!!! I became so terribly grumpy with mood swings that I couldn't even stand myself. This was within a week or two of taking Viorele. I called my Dr because I knew right away it was this medication. Magically the pharmacy had Kariva available for me and I've been on it ever since. I've been on Kariva for 20 years without any issues, I knew right away Viorele was NOT for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allison | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/25/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this prescription for over 2 years and never had a problem. My skin is clear, my hormones are under control, best of all- I’m not pregnant. Every drug works differently for different people. This one works for me. I recommend the pill to all my friends. I also skip my periods. Last time I had my period was about 5 months ago. I love being on the pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
2/28/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cvs changed from kariva to viorele twice on me. Once was about a year ago, I had mood swings and felt depressed. Tried again this month when cvs changed meds again, once again having terrible mood swings and feel depressed. Will be asking for kariva again next month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladyab | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking bekyree birth control for about two years now and recently my pharmacy said it had been discontinued and switched me to viorelle since its considered a generic for bekyree. I noticed some weird side effects within the first week but I thought I'd ride it out for at least a month! So far, my back pain is gone, but my periods are heavier, I have very out of the blue migraines once a week, cramps are more frequent, nausea has somehow come into play (never been an issue for me), I'm having extreme breakouts in very different areas of my face rather than one specific area (chin, cheeks, jawline, forehead, and these guys are pretty big lemme just say), and along with that I've lost every last bit of my sex drive and have become much more depressed and moody. Considering I'm 20 years old, I think it has something to do with this particular pill for sure.. because prior, I only had minor breakouts every once in a while and everything else was pretty average.. average period, average sex drive, etc. I don't know why it's effecting me like this, but in all honesty the only reason it gets two stars is because I'm not pregnant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keyanna | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken viorele for about 3 full years now. I originally went on it because when I got my period it felt like I had stomach flu where it hurt so bed and I had such heavy bleeding and nausea to accompany it. Not to mention a long time this would go on for. But since being on it I hardly have to even worry about acne and cramping is half as painful. I did not experience any shift in my weight. But I am considered that it has lowered my libido substantially.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UGH | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also had a few pimples here and there, but once I started taking this medicine, I got TERRIBLE acne. It was all over my face and painful. I had issues sleeping, and I was extremely moody (the insecurity from the acne DID NOT help).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cons within one hour of taking 1st pill: high blood pressure 141/90, rapid heartbeat, difficulty swallowing and speaking,tremors,cold sensitivity on limbs, paleness on limbs, extreme heaviness, difficulty wakling, sluggish, blue nail pigment, emotionally unstable, dizziness, difficulty breathing, rapid heart rate (92), felt like I was going to faint. Pros: all symptoms disappeared within that hour and no nausea WILL NOT CONTINUE USE OF THE PILL. I'm the type of person that medications have a strong effect on. Even bendyrl lowers my breathing to a point of gasping for air. Good luck to whoever takes this medication. I'll stick to ibuprofen and rest. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst! Iâ??ve been taking this for just over a month and have never felt worse. The last birth control I was on didnâ??t help much with my painful periods, so I was switched to Viorele- which was a big mistake. Since taking it Iâ??ve gained weight, look bloated, CRAVE ANYTHING SWEET, which has never happened to me before, I feel nautious, my breasts hurt and Iâ??ve cramped everyday since I started taking it. Not only that but I feel so anxious all the time. Every sound or noise annoys me and makes me just start crying. I feel like a completely different person. If I had known that this is what itâ??d do to my body I would have never taken it. Iâ??d rather deal with 8 day painful periods then the symptoms of this BC. I wouldnâ??t recommend this pill to anyone. Im changing as soon as possible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacy has switched me multiple times from Azurette to Viorele, even after my doctore instructed them not to. The only symptoms I have had with Azurette was breakthrough bleeding a few days into the first week of the pack. The first time on viorele, i had very bad depresive thoughts, to the point where my sister who i rarely saw expressed concern. It has bee a while, but my pharmacy just switched me again. Starting the second week of the pack, i began to wonder if I would have the same. A few hours later I was getting ready for date night and started crying because i didnt think any of my clothes looked right. I automatically realize it was my medicine. I havent had another day like the rest of the week (finishing the second week of the pack), but I have had acne which I typically do not have, and now I am having way too much gas and feel constantly bloated. I would not recommend this to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
allicatnicole | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began Viorele 7 months ago, and since it's winter, I only realized about 4 months in that I've gained about 15 lbs and my legs are COVERED in cellulite! I cry all the time, over nothing, my sex drive has gone from high to absolutely nothing, and I mean NOTHING. Not great for my engagement. I have a hard time getting to sleep and staying asleep through the night, and I have zero energy. I went to the doc today and they are switching me to Trinessa for all of this; I am so hopeful that it's a positive experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mysza | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for 3 months now. I get migraines from time to time that are actually horrible and sometimes last like two days. Also, Idk if anyone else experienced this on viorele but my periods eversince taking this pill have been SO heavy and SO painful!!! idk if this is normal. My pharmacy actually changed me from viorele to kariva now so I am going to see how it goes with Karvia now. hopefully the pain goes away and i hope my period gets lighter. my periods were always super light but eversince Viorele they are horrilby heavy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So if anyone is wondering, I have read all of these comments and they all apply.bloating, nausea, weight/appetite gain (it's been 12 days) extreme rage, breat tenderness and lumps. I have probably gained 5 pounds in less than two weeks.i knew something was wrong, DO NOT TAKE IT!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AdultingSucks | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on the Viorelle for about 4 months now. So far its been a positive experience. My periods are relatively light. Cramps are about the same if not lesser depending on the heaviness of the period. So cramp severity is usually an inidcation of the period heaviness or lightness. One month I hardly got a period at all. This past weekend was my 1st real period experience on this pill, mensing for 5 days. I switched from the ring which I did like and was on for years, but after I turned 30 I swear the ring and my body chemistry were not having it. I started developing BV symptoms all the time when it never occured before turning 30. So I began to think my body was trying to tell me something about the ring and it was rejecting it. I tried everything to get the symptoms from reocurring as often as they were and switching from the ring helped. Im a really small person as it is I would love to be hormore free but when I go off of hormonal birth control I shrink, litterally in size. Im 31, standing 5'4" weighing 103 lbs on average. I cannot afford to lose any weight without looking like a prepubescent teen, so going on non hormonal birth control is not an option for me. I felt I was more emotionally unbalanced on the ring than I do with this pill. Im also on mood stablizers so maybe I dont feel the depression symptom like others Im reading are experiencing. My sex drive is so, so. But I think much of that has to do with being on an SSRI. Before mood stabilizers and when I wasnt on birth control for aome periods my sex drive was insane. Now its just kinda meh. I wish it was higher theres not just one thing I can blame that on. Overall this birth control is a thumbs up. Ive also tried the implant in the past, utterly hated it. That thing along killed my sex drive more than any birth control method Ive ever tried. I had it removed halfway into the 3 years you can have it in for. I hate taking a pill every day, but what else am I gunna do? I take pills every day anyways.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yanira | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking azurette for about three months I had switched over to azurette from a different pill that was not helping me. I had no side effects switching I loved azurette it normalized my periods and I would start to cramp a bit a week before my period just like clockwork. However recently my doctor switched me from azurette to viorele I have been on it for 16 Days now and about 5 days ago I started to have a panic attack which than turned into daily crying. I feel like I am losin my mind I usually get anxious or panic attacks but I am to manage them. After reading the reviews I wonder if this pill is making it worse for now I am stopping it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thisistortureforwomen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst birth control I have ever used in my entire life. I used to take Azurrette and, like others, CVS switched it out for this new kind. I have been taking it for a little over three months and it is TERRIBLE. My first period on it lasted for over two weeks when normally it is just a few days long. It was so heavy and not at all what I was used to. I also experienced migraines and heavy mood swings. I am now reaching where I should be getting my period and my PMS symptoms are raging yet again. I cannot stop peeing, which I know is not a UTI, I am super emotional and I am CONSTANTLY cramping all the time. It is a dull pain but it is ALWAYS THERE. I don't know how they are giving this medication out to women. This is the worst pill I have ever encountered in my 10+ years of taking the pill. The prescription even said that I needed to be counseled for the changed medication and no one at CVS even told me it was a new brand and may have other side effects. I called today and told them I need the Azurrette and will never allow for any substitutions again in the future. STAY. AWAY. FROM. THIS. PILL.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momto2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using an estrogen-only pill for five years before my doctor switched me to this (she says its more effective). I have been extremely moody--very angry-acting since taking Viorele for the past 12 days. I'm stopping this and getting back on the other pill immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More