Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

108 People found this comment helpful

Today marks my one year on Qsymia and I wanted to see if there were any long term affects so I decided to read these comments. To my surprise there doesn’t seem to be any long term users….most are 90 days or less. I am pleased to say in that since I started this drug I have lost 138lbs and I am going to continue until I lose 75 more. This drug is really for those who need it. I have but back ...

Shared reviews and ratings

OneDayAtATime | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started (2 days in) have had terrible headaches that I am hoping go away. Was on this site looking to see if anyone else had experienced that symptom and if they went away. Am hopeful this works - I have a terrible hip - even after a replacement which has seriously limited my mobility so I'm gaining weight left and right. Here's hoping this helps get me on the right track.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medicbarbi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on qsymia for almost 3 mo now at 11mg dose and having terrible side effects that are freaking me out and I’ve only lost 5 lbs. exhausted during day, insomnia at night but worse is my pulse rate is very high at rest, 110 and my blood pressure super low, 90/60, I’ve always been 120/80- went to donate blood last week and they rejected me bc of those stats and suggested I call my dr immediately. Keep getting a heaviness in my chest as well, tingling in my feet, just not myself…. It has decreased my appetite but not worth all these side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady T | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My results have been good. I lost 25 pounds in the first 3 weeks - two weeks on the 3.5mg and one week on the 7mg. I am still on the 7mg. I did experience some extreme fatigue on the 7mg...but maybe it was my body getting used to the medicine. I do water aerobics and zumba...i am too heavy to workout on land. I am going to keep going.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evil elf | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the name brand Qsymia for about two years and found it really effective. In total I lost 52 pounds!! The issue came when my insurance changed and they would no longer pay for the name brand pill. I’m now on the generic tablets (the qysmia pills as two pills) and I’ve gained back 29 pounds. This is great if you can afford to continue to take the name brand. You won’t have the same effect if you stop taking it. Even if you maintain the same exercise and food habits.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oneloopychick | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/30/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on and off this med for about 2 years. Combined with walking on the treadmill about 4 days a week and limiting calories to 1500 daily, I have lost 10 pounds in the first month. The reasons I stopped in the past are insomnia and extreme hair loss. My dermatologist seemed to think it was more likely related to the strict caloric deficit. This med helps me to feel less hungry and more energetic throughout the day so I can walk on the treadmill. Nothing has been as effective as this med for helping me lose weight.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
detective Miss M | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first day I noticed I could not see very well. After 2 years, I was hospitalized 3 times in one year with a Kidney stone. I did not know that Qsymia can provoke kidney issues. Terrible side effects that is hidden and many people are not aware.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr. called in prescription. Qsymia's website was down so thea suervisor Shondra offered to send the medication for an ADDITIONAL over-the-phone order fee. Who charges an additional fee because THEIR OWN website is down?This company is highly unethical and I would recommend staying far away from them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bigguy | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on this medication to help me lose weight for an up coming surgery. My BMI is 36 and I needed to be at 34. I was already having trouble with sleeping, anxiety and depression. I was on 4 medications a night to help me sleep and meds for depressionand anxiety. So Qsymia had the opposite effects on me. I slept 8 hours a night, my moods changed. I got out of my head a bit. My energy levels were good. The only side effects I had were being thirsty and headaches from not drinking enough water and a few times my cheeks would hurt like someone pinched them or I was smiling for a long time or I was a little confused but I found that went away if I took a short 2 hour nap in my dayRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/2/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I saw hardly any weight loss with the beginning dose. Once my doctor raised my dose to the next level, the pounds began dropping. I have lost 40 pounds in about 9 months. There are some side effects. I have just started to have hair loss. It is falling out in the shower in clumps. As for sleep, I do not sleep well but that could also be due to menopause - night sweats.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has altered my mind. It does suppress the appetite, but the side effects are not worth it. I am agitated, have insomnia, terrible neck and shoulder pain and am frankly just not myself. I even sometimes forget my thoughts mid-sentence. You will lose weight at the beginning, but once you stop taking it to regain your sanity, the weight returns. My advice...just stick to counting calories and exercise. Losing weight sucks and the answer is not in a pill. Change your lifestyle ladies!! Easier said than done...I know...but trust me...you'll have a happier ending!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Krg | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 51 year old physically active and fit cros fitter (5-6 days a week) who has always eaten healthy and avoid processed food, and severely curb intake of sugar, carbs, etc. I have tracked macros and have a good handle on my rmr . I also have Hashimotoâ??s hypothyroidism. Menopause has done a number on my weight and I was looking for something to help me shed weight. My endocrin. prescribed this. I donâ??t overeat or eat bad foods. And havenâ??t lost a pound in 7 weeks. I do find I have increased focus - a plus - and sometimes a racing heart that goes away. No trouble sleeping. Disappointed bc I was really hoping this would work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects of this drug are not worth small weight loss. I had serious suicidal ideations, depression, bad taste in my mouth and overall groggy feeling. I called my doctor to take me off because I did not like the way it made me feel. I almost lost my job because I was so anxious and angry all the time. I will try something more natural.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still find that im hungry during the day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JPell | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2018
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm starting my 3rd month on Qsymia. I've only lost about 7-10 lbs. So, I have not seen the kind of results people are posting on here. Maybe its not simply effective for me as with others? I do have some of the same side effects that have been described but nothing to the level that makes me want to quit just yet. Hand shaking, dry mouth,some small level of anxiety, etc... but no real issues. Hopefully, at $200 per month out-of-pocket I see some results soon as I'm not asking for miracles. My target is to lose 30-35 lbs. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/10/2018
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for about 8 months and lost 67 lbs. I was on blood pressure medications and I just didn't feel well at all. I was sleeping a lot. Once I started the medication and started loosing the weight, I was able to get completely off of my blood pressure medications. I felt really good! I went from a size 18 to a size 10. The only side affects I had was the dry mouth, foods had a weird taste therefore I ate less, and carbonated drinks were awful which helped me cute out sodas completely. To this day I haven't had a soda in 2 years. I would definitely recommend this medication if your doctors will prescribe it!!! it, along with exercise, has helped me change my life for the better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kristi721 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2017
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First two weeks was on the low dose, this is starting my 3rd week and it's on the next higher 7.5 dose. My side effects have been minimal--dry mouth (drink lots of water), funny taste in mouth, and can wake up often in the night but I'm usually able to fall back asleep. Compared to menopause, these side effects are nothing. ;) This is day 15 and I've lost ten pounds. I've not lost any weight in the last ten years--only gained--so I'm motivated to stay on Q. I need to lose another 60 lbs to be healthy. In another 4 weeks, I go back to my Dr. for evaluation. My doctor also has me on a diet of no more than 1200 calories a day. Tracking my calories has been very beneficial in seeing where the culprits are in my previous way of eating. I have not been exercising other than the 2000-3000 steps I get in daily (not good). With the patient savings card from the manufacturer, I pay $135/month at Walmart--my insurance does not cover it. I am a 53 year old woman.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AT67 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2017
Condition: Adjunct Treatment of Obesity in a Comprehensive Weight Reduction Regimen
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First month has been OK. Have lost an average of 2 lbs a week which is good. Have noticed several side effects-- carbonated beverages taste flat and sweet, I often have a bad taste in my mouth, I am definitely not as happy and upbeat as I typically am, but the worst is the insomnia. I wake up at midnight every single night, and then several times afterward until the alarm sounds at 6. Have tried adjusting the time I take my Rx, from 10 a.m. to 7 a.m., still wake up. Going to talk to doc about suggestions. The rest of the side effects are tolerable if it continues to work! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Outof100s | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2017
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is absolute garbage. I have gained 20lbs since using for 3mo. Looked up topiramate and it's purpose is pain med. Makes me unable to focus, low energy, went up 2 sizes. This is not for weight loss. Save your money. This co. Needs to change advertisement because it is false!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BK | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
8/4/2017
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very frustrated with this drug. A family member took it, lost weight but had to stop taking it due to hand tremors. 2 years later her hands are still trembling. Her MD is aware and has been evaluating it. It has affected her life. The 30lbs she lost on this drug is not worth having shaky, trembling hands for over 2 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ap | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/11/2017
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the medication for 11 months. I lost 35 pounds without physical activity. I did experince tingling sensations in fingertips and problems remembering or getting words out. The memory problem is the reason for getting off the medication, because of effecting my job. Since coming off the medication I am noticing my appetite coming back, which scares me because I do not want to go back where I started.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More