Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

65 People found this comment helpful

An absolute miracle drug in relation to my depression. I have been on anti depressants for over 15 years and have never felt this "alive" in my entire life. Currently it is prescribed as an adjunt with Celexa

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

This medicine caused me to have a racing heart, severe anxiety, headache, nausea, and suicidal thoughts all while just taking 1 dose.

Shared reviews and ratings

Turtlebutt4 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with bipolar, autism, and have had several medical concerns. I have treatment resistance to antidepressants and over the last 10 years had to switch medications every 6 to 8 months. I had a gene test (which I've read clearly not an automatic diagnosis) but it stated MTHFR. I started to take L-methylofolate and seen instant improvement with mood swings, depression and focus. I read several reviews, articles about the methylation process etc. Consulted many colleagues and decided it was ideal. It has been working thus far and I plan to continue. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roscoe | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking once when prescribed for depression, I suffered severe mood swings and symptoms that appeared similar to a manic episode and included trembling, agitation, self-harm, and suicidal ideation. For three days afterwards while trying to recover from the first pill it was like I couldn't feel any emotion at all. Many people have had positive responses to this drug but please be aware that not everyone will. My doctor claled me a liar when I told her of my symptoms. Be very cautious.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jw | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine caused me to have a racing heart, severe anxiety, headache, nausea, and suicidal thoughts all while just taking 1 dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Former Skeptic | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Normally I only peruse these listings, but this time I thought I owed it to all my fellow readers to give a detailed review. I began taking 10mg methyfolate around 10 days ago at the urging of my father, who, for obvious reasons, shares a very similar genetic predisposition toward depression and anxiety. The results? All I can say is wow. Within 1 day, I felt like my internal motor that had been idling along at a 5 out of 10 had been turned up to a 10 for the first time in a long time. I had more energy, clearer thoughts, happier disposition, appetite and libido returned full force. My only regret is not trying this stuff sooner. If it feels like nothing has ever really solved the problem before, please try this. It's a miracle.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiana | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2016
Condition: Inadequate Folic Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm slowly feeling better and better. I have RA, fibromyalgia, CFS, and an aortic valve replacement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: Inadequate Folic Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am MTHFR and suffered throughout my childhood concentration issues, low energy, and others. As an adult, I had anxiety, perennial stress, high blood pressure, and insomnia. A doctor discovered this recently (mid 40's now) and what a change has it been. Highly recommended.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kalibear | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SEVERE ALLERGIC REACTION. Broke out in boils on face and neck, throat tightened up, hard time taking deep breathe, anxieties out of control, shaking, heart pounding,suicidal thoughts, hearing voices, brain spinning out of control. Has taken almost 2 weeks to begin to feel better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladyloulee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An absolute miracle drug in relation to my depression. I have been on anti depressants for over 15 years and have never felt this "alive" in my entire life. Currently it is prescribed as an adjunt with Celexa

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does what it's supposed to do and very well, but it's tricky, especially for me, a woman. If you read Dr. Atkins, he's pretty clear that folate behaves like estrogen and I definitely felt that because I didn't ramp up at first. Also, read up on the folic acid cycle and the other nutrients involved such as B12, Vitamin C and read about Homocysteine and heme. These are all related topics. You shouldn't just take folic acid alone. Nothing in your body works alone. That's the mistake I made at first. I felt like I was having the worst PMS day of my life from just one megadose. You have to work up to it. The FDA does have a too-low RDA for it, though, so everyone's deficient in it. Find some videos by Dr. Bruce Ames (a biochemist not MD) to get some ideas about how deficient people are in general in many vitamins and also for an explanation about why he believes and I believe that folic acid deficiency is "like being irradiated." Just be careful when you start out, and at least take a multivitamin with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LARL | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for me to 'boost' effect of antidepressant. Definitely helps me feel better with no side effects. Taking 15-mg caplet once per day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P Fey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2014
Condition: Inadequate Folic Acid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Genetic testing show imbalance associated with depression! Not sure if it will help but hope it does. Think Im feeling some better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alicia | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/16/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt noticeably better at first... less anxious, happy, interacting and alert. I went from that to wanting to close myself in a room and be alone. My anxiety was back and along with that were major muscle and joint aches. I looked up side effects on mthfr.net and this reaction was one of three typical responses to taking methy-folate.Why does methylfolate create such an amazing week and then create such severe side effects so soon after? According to Dr. Lynch, it has to do with methylation, pre-existing inflammation and possibly genetic mutations. He doesn't necessarily recommend stopping the drug but tapering up and taking other supplements with it. Doing that helped me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More