Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this medication almost year ago for endometriosis. In the beginning it was awful, I had the side effects. From bloating to weight gain and my moods were all over the place. I kept taking it as it's my last option to prevent more surgeries and I'm glad I did. After a few months the side effects went away and my moods are back to normal. I know you read some bad reviews but if you c...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My doctor gave me this to stop my heavy bleeding as my blood count was way down. Since taking it (since early-2008), I have turned into an old man; my skin and hair have become thin, greasy scalp and shrinking breasts. Yuck. Now my doctor says I have fibroids on my uterus and wants me to have a hysterectomy. I wish I could have my periods back and just take iron pills. If I stop taking the pi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to these instead of taking 2 hormones to include estrogen. I can say they are more tolerable side effects, but still bad. At first I took the pill one hour late and got my period for a week. Since then, I take it at the exact same time every night which is not easy to do. I've noticed constipation, weight gain, cramps (maybe ovulation) and today I experienced a dizzy spell that scared me. The mood swings have gotten better and I did not experience acne like some other reviews stated. I am convinced there is no good birth control with hormones that we will ever be happy about. I've been on these pills 4 weeks and am not excited to switch again or continue taking. Good luck ladies. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ramirez | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The need to take this off the market or do another study i started taking this medication because i have pmdd so the gyn prescribe them to me and let me say the side affects were the worst i was depressed i was in bed for 5 days panic attacks for 4 days straight had to call paramedics because the panic attacks were the worst ones yet i threw pills in trash and will never take again i rather deal with the PMDD symptoms then what i went through in the past week please if you suffer from any mental health please do your research before taking these pills and dont let no doctor dismiss your concerns My doctor dismiss my concerns and said that those symptoms are not side effects of the pill but as soon as I stop taking the pill the next day I woke up full of life and energy i was back to myself so The pharmaceutical company that makes these pills need to do another study and check for panic attacks and depression and anxiety attack as side effects of those pills in their patients Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aleks | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking norethindrone with .35mg even before covid started. I am a little chubby girl for the past 2 years that's why I had a higher dosage. Overall it worked for me, I barely had any side effects except for the fact that it made me gain 30 pounds along with quarantine and it regulated my periods. Now I'm losing weight, matter of fact, a lot of weight and it made me have an extra period between my periods for 2 months. I had to get off the pill to another one, but all in all I had a decent experience, sometimes I would have moods all over the place, and rarely had major hair loss where I would pull out clumps of hair in the shower. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I took this medication for a total of 4 days before I decided it wasn't for me. I took this medication on the dot at 8pm each night. I even set an alarm so I could be extra precise. After the second dose I started my period. I typically have heavy periods, like bleeding for 10 days is normal for me, but this time it seemed even HEAVIER. I'm used to the first several days being crazy, but I feel like I am losing soooo much blood. I'm getting dizzy, and feel light headed and generally so tired when usually I don't feel this way on my period. The second thing I noticed was a TMJ flare up. I was diagnosed with TMJ 6-7 years ago and it's been about 5 years since I had a flare up. After the third day of being on this medicine I noticed my neck was hurting a bit, and then all of a sudden my jaw was hurting and started to lock up on me. Sure enough after looking into it hormone imbalances can affect TMJ which I thought probably was not a coincidence. The worst flare up I had of TMJ had my jaw locked for roughly 6 MONTHS!!! It was horrible. Needless to say I really don't think being on birth control is worth risking having my jaw locked for a prolonged period of time. The other more minor but annoying thing I've noticed since being on the pill is a persistent dull headache. I do suffer from migraines, and thankfully this pill hasn't given me migraines, but the headache and constant needing to take ibuprofen i could do without. Anyway after 4 days it seems like I am already getting several signs from my body telling me to stop taking this drug. I am always one to say "listen to your body", so here I am taking my own advice!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eli | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this by a doctor who didn't listen at all when I explained that I was on the combo pill for years with no side effects. He didn't care, said he didn't "believe in" the combo pill, would only prescribe the mini pill. I should've ran right there but I didn't have much option due to a number of factors. He prescribed me a year of this stupid pill, and now I'm stuck with seven packs of a pill that gives me horrid headaches, constant spotting, stomachaches and cramping, and the worst mood swings I've ever had. I've never had acne in my life but I always have pimples now. My head's in a constant fatigued fog ever since I started this pill. This thing's slowly ruining my mental and physical health. I am going to file a complaint about this doctor and quit this pill as soon as I can. At the very least, I haven't gotten pregnant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill was awful. The only thing it did was protect me from pregnancy. My face was oily and filled with pimples. My period became much heavier and last longer too. I had a period that lasted for 8 days. The cramps was still bad. Since being off the pill, my face has cleared, period doesn't last long although it's still heavy, and cramps are much better. It was not worth it to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this medication for the sake of your face !! This pills caused me to have my face full of acne, after having it clean, everyday you take this pill two pimples pop up in your face those painful red and big pimples are the ones I’m talking about. Do ur self a favor and look for another option.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Krystal | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only been 2 weeks that I started the pill and I been non stop bleeding not as heavy as usual but I never have my period more than 5 days it’s going on 2 weeks now…smh

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PS | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for heavy bleeding and associated pain/cramps in lieu of other BCPs with estrogen because of my high blood pressure. My doc recommended giving it a few months to settle in. I’m at the end of month 4, and can say it’s only made things worse. While my periods initially lightened a bit, they were longer in terms of total days and more unpredictable, and still with heavy days/clots. My most recent period was as bad as prior to taking this pill, possibly worse. The other major issue is I have almost daily pelvic pain and cramps, even when not menstruating. And the cramps/pain can get quite severe. I’ve been good about making sure to take it around the same time too. I’m finishing out this pack but am stopping after that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Littlelove | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On week 2 of this medication. So far since starting it, I’ve been getting random headaches, chest pains, dizzy spells and hot flashes at night. I feel it’s helped my moods. However, I missed a dose by a couple hours and ended up having my period. Not a big deal for me. Just wasn’t expecting it since I breastfeed. Norethindrone just isn’t for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication saved my emotional and physical well being and pretty much saved my life. Ive been on many different birth controls in the past which have all been horrible with side effect and no help. I am age 31 and I have stage 4 endometriosis and adenomyosis which is extremely painful. I was about to give up, my quality of life was terrible. I was constantly going to the er for pain I couldn't function as a normal human being, literally 75% of my life I've been in pain. Day to day activities just even standing up straight was hard, it was hard just to exist! I was doubled over constantly. I have been on this medicine for about 4 weeks and it has been a life changer! No more pain! I do have side effects but it is something I will tolerate because it is worth it. I have been spotting since I started the medicine usually about a tsp per day but I'm told that will go away. My hair is falling out more than usual but I am taking hair vitamins to counter that. My skin on my face looked really bad like rosacea for a couple of weeks but that subsided. No weight gain no mood swings. Lost a little bit of weight actually. The only major complaint I have is the insomnia which has been an issue but like I said when you have had debilitating pain for most of your life and then you find a solution it's totally liberating. I hope they never stop making this medication and I will be on it until I try to conceive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Avonna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To be honest it's great it has protected me thus far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/5/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this birth control pill for the sole purpose of preventing pregnancy and after I started getting constant headaches with estrogen pills. I started taking this pill in February 2018 and it took 6 months for my periods to completely stop. My periods were often regular and with no cramps. The only side effect I had was a little weight gain and my breasts got a bit bigger, which couldâ??ve probably been a result of my lifestyle changes and diet instead of solely the pill. Iâ??m a bit strict with the time, as recommended by the physician, so I try to take the pill in a 30 minute window, anytime after that I consider myself late.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Always had irregular periods since my very first back at age 12 however now that I'm "getting older" my doctor thought it best to go on the pill to keep me regular with less bleeding. This pill has caused me extreme abdominal pain the entire time on it - it's basically like I've had period cramps 24/7. I've also experienced mood swings, sweating, stomach irritability, and loss of sleep - none of these have been symptoms I had previously. I reported all to my doctor since these are all listed under "tell your provider or pharmacist immediately" but was told to just live on Aleve or Advil.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Loleege | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for nearly 6 months. My side effects have been similar to others(heavy bleeding, spotting, cramping), but also directly related to how on-time I am with taking this pill. I just want to stress how important it is to take it at the same exact time every day. Last month, I took it 2-3 hours late only 3 times and I had all spotting and heavy bleeding lasting over a week. After that episode, I set a phone alarm to remind myself to take it at the same exact time every evening and I haven't had any spotting or heavy bleeding this month. I hope that this helps someone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
12/3/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this norethindrone for 4 months now . I am taking it for the main purpose of birth control while breastfeeding. Overall I have not gotten pregnant but there has been some side effects for me. The main side effects include intense naseaousness in the mornings, a lot of hair loss, random mood swings, dark urine, no bleeding, no appetite, very low sex drive. I have take other forms of the mini pill before that caused depression. This one does not but with all the other side effects I am experiencing I do not feel it is worth it or healthy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 18 years of regular periods, my period stopped completely and that stresses me out. Id rather have a period to know im not pregnant. Moods are extremely off the chart. Combination pill is better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I have been on this birth control pill for 7 days and it has been great! No side effects whatsoever, I have tried a few combination pills that all made me nauseous, irritable, and depressed. This pill does the opposite for me, I'm energetic, happy and I feel so good. If you are considering the mini pill, try it you may love it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this pill to regulate my period of my PCOS and to hopefully help my hormonal imbalance and regulate my period and to loose wt. I almost gave up the first few months because I saw no change, and I would get my period twice a month. A few months later I would see my face is clearing up and I am finally loosing weight my mood swings have settled. I do recommend this product it has been a positive experience if you are living a healthy life style. The only thing I notice is that if I take the pills too close together I will break out into cystic acne my chin. However, that is my fault because I would forget to take the pills on time and I would try to take the pill 12 to 8 hrs before my next dose. After three days to a week the cyst was gone and skin was clear. So stay encouraged. and set the timer on your phone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More