Show ratings & reviews for

2.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

Worked like a champ! Classic clogged ear due to wax buildup. Used DeBrox for 2 days. First day, 4 drops in ear. Second, 10 drops in ear and lied down on my side for 15 minutes. I could heard the product working with the crackling sound right away. Afterwards, I used a medication syringe with warm water. After about 2 glasses of water I start seeing results and could hear again. Thanks DeBrox, you ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

What quack medicine.It made me go deaf when I went in I could hear, all I wanted was a little ear wax removed and three Dr.s used cold water with a couple drops of hydrogen peroxide,with a horse syringe, then one dr. jammed a wooden Q-Tip so deep into my ear that it broke and caused ly left ear to bleed badly; then they had me come back the next day, and he "borrowed a dental tool for scraping tee...

Shared reviews and ratings

Nakia Young | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ear clogged immediately after using this product, I put 10 drops in my right ear and it was a very unpleasant feeling. Thank God I didn't put it in my left ear. I will be making a doctors appointment to let them clean my ears instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aseem Chawla | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please don’t buy this product. I had a minor ear wax and decided to try this after doctor’s recommendation. My ear is completely clogged and I can’t hear anything even after 5 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
1/19/2022
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used debrox and now have a swollen irritated middle ear that will take months to heal. I went to an ENT today and he confirmed it was the debtox that caused the irritation. I also have trouble hearing out of this ear now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thrash160 |
11/26/2021
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I am a producer and my ears are very important to me. Loud music in headphones sometime push the ear wax into my drums and then I can’t ever hear. I used this product on my right ear (big tip: don’t wait the several minutes they say, wait till you feel it start to dislodge itself then tip you head forward to drain it) and did it for under a minute, flushed it and good to go! My left ear, HOLY MOLY OF EAR WAX. (Also I did the max drops which I would say if this is a last resort, do the drops in increments, up to 10 drops max) my hearing was gone. Like I had to get right in front of my wife to even hear her yell at me. (Also happy wife happy life) so this is what I did to release the WAX LODGED INTO MY EAR DRUM, I use the ear syringe with warm water(the warmest I could take) and loosen it up, then used ice cold water to harden it fast and help it flush out.( science baby!) Take your time flushing, don’t shove the water in your ear, you can damage it. Nice gentle release will help ease the wax out. I hope this helps anyone who used this POS ear wax remover brand. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justin | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/18/2021
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I could go back in time and tell myself not to use this. It will only leave your ear clogged and hearing-impaired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S. GILLETTE | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
10/23/2021
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used product in husbands left ear to relieve wax build up. As soon as we put drops in he said it started hurting. It went from bad to worse. He was in extreme pain. He did what he could to get it out. He now has ringing in both ears and total hearing loss in the left . Please take these reviews seriously, I wish we would have!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Warning!! | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2021
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had tinnitus (ringing) in my left ear since an injury in the 80's. The hearing in that ear is about 10 - 20%. The hearing in my right ear 'was' close to normal but I encountered a mild loss in hearing nine days ago. I attributed this to ear wax Impaction and purchased Debrox ear wax removal the following day. I applied the product as per directions. After approx. 15 minutes, I felt a mild pain in my inner ear as well as under my ear and on the right side of my throat. After 20 minutes or so, my hearing in the right ear began to dissipate. After several hours, the hearing level in my right ear was poor. I now have TINNITUS in MY RIGHT EAR and it's worse than my left. Now, we're seven days in and the tinnitus has worsened and my hearing in my right ear is VERY LOW... somewhere I would guess around 5-10% if that. I have an appointment with an otolaryngologist tomorrow morning. Please USE Caution when using this or similar products.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jill s | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ear felt a tad clogged on Monday night Tuesday morning was the same so I tried debrox. Big mistake. It was even more clogged. Wednesday it was so uncomfortable I went to the doctor he said I have an ear infection. I'm on antibiotics but it's now Friday and I'm in so much unbearable pain. My jaw hurts along with my interest ear. I'm going to see an ent next week. I'm really scared.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
david | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had chronic wax buildup in one ear; the other ear is fine. I have used Debrox for about a year and found that my hearing has become muffled, with or without my hearing aid. My doctor found that my ear drum has thickened and has scar tissue, as though I'd had years of infections, which I haven't. I'm told that this condition should not be part of the natural aging process. I suspect Debrox has caused this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjh | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've cleaned out my ears annually for nearly thirty years because of regular wax blockages. Take my advice and use hydrogen peroxide -- a few drops -- and a rubber bulb syringe. It's cheaper and better than this awful product. Or just go to the doctor. I made the mistake of trying Debrox just to clear my ears a little when they weren't very blocked. They became much worse, and after three days they are mainly back to where they had been before. I would not recommend this to anyone, and would absolutely not use it for a child as some reviewers have done. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deerboii | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it to clear out my ear but it seemed to block it more. Then I wound up with an ear infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mira | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2020
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is day 4th since my left ear has been clogged. I used this product hoping it would help. However, it made even a bigger problem. I am in horrible plain and cannot sleep. My ear is even more clogged and now it is even ringing. Please, do not make the same mistake I did. I am seeing a doctor now because of this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr A | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2020
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pain in my right ear accompanied with discharge. The PCP asked me to get Debrox. But, this product is giving me even more pain. It’s been 3 days and I have not been able to sleep, open my mouth and do my work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FairReview | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2020
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Audiologist recommended to use these OTC drops to remove wax before returning for hearing exam. Was told to apply the drops before bed and flush the next day to give time to work and soften. Awoke in the middle of the night in pain and couldn't sleep. Flushed out the ears and took advil. Needed weekend doctor appointment. Had small fluid filled bubbles developing inside ear under the wax that product did not remove. (I had no pain before this product.) On antibiotics for 5 days and praying it resolves the issue, as other unfortunate posters experienced lingering problems. Doctors--audiologists--you should NEVER recommend this product. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Afanasy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/2/2020
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lost my hearing for three days in both ears-went to ear doctor who cleaned ears and my right is better. I am afraid that I have lost my hearing in my left ear for life - time will tell. I have severe ringing in my left ear - had to miss three days of work andmultiple trips to the doctor. I live on a military base and it is difficult to get off base. This is sold in the PX - worst mistake ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2020
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

end of day 3 nothing. If you're not a rep for debrox the product or the company that produces it, then it won't work for you. I'm purchasing the micro-suction vacuum and equipment since it less than a doctors visit, and I get something tangible that will hold its value. Unlike he visit to the doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2020
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

dr told me to use in both ears. gave me a double ear infection and after 4 different antibiotics and 2 different ear dops, my ears are still in pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 3-6 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter had buildup and I mwntioned it to her pediatrician. The pediatrician suggested using this product, I bought it, used it and my daughter cried because she was in so much pain! I will not use this product again. I should have read the reviews before using it. I never would have purchased this product, much less use it on my child.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
corbster98 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2019
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately I have to agree with many of the reviews here. I saw my primary care doctor for clogged ears and was advised of pretty significant wax build up. I decided I'd rather work on the wax at home than to have my doctor do it in office. Though the Debrox worked to help loosen my impacted wax, the 2nd time I used the drops and let them sit in my ear canal, it caused intense pain. The pain took several minutes to decrease in severity and I flushed out the Debrox and ear canal as much as possible to get rid of the Debrox. The drops did help to soften and break up some of the wax but I will NOT use this product again- not with the amount of pain it caused in my ear canal :( Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2019
Condition: Ear Wax that has Hardened and May Cause Blockage
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medicine for once in my left ear at night. Whole night could not sleep because of severe pain and now I need to go ENT as this pain is intolerable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More