Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

Been on albuterol inhalers for the past 20 years. Oral steroids, Pulmicort and Duonebs. Doctor gave me a trial of Breo and I was shocked. I don't ever remember having such a deep breath of air in my life. Trying to get my crappy insurance to cover Breo got me so infuriated that I dropped my insurance so I can get Breo covered monthly through another program. It means that much to me to be able to ...

Most voted negative review

30 People found this comment helpful

This sucked and the commercial kept ruining my TV show

Shared reviews and ratings

carlos | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2022
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nothing but crap...how in Gods name did it ever get onto the market is beyond me and many many others...this is a dangerous expensive piece of s.....t that should be given to the people who made it.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After just one inhalation I had severe chest pain, high blood pressure, and upper back pain. Also must have caused low potassium because only if I had foods with potassium would the chest pain subside. I do not suffer from "anxiety" this med effects your heart. Stay away from this medication it can do more harm than good. Find a non steroid option to help with asthma. Also tried the Anoro Ellipta and had heart pain, urinating that felt like battery acid. Breo Ellipta snd Anoro Ellipta should be an absolute last resort ,and not a go to med for asthma maintenance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danei | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why is it that at the last 5 days of Breo Ellipta I suffer severe breakthrough coughing. I honestly believe GSK skimps on full dosing to save money. Meanwhile it costs a pretty penny even with medicare pricing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mer | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been asthmatic since 6 months old. The only thing I thought worked was symbicort, after multiple medications, yet it only opened my airways and didn't help with my day to day life. My Dr prescribed breo for me and I was very skeptical but this medication has literally changed my life. If you are used to another medication for asthma it takes a month to kick in and change. I told my mom who has copd about it and her dr switched her immediately. I honestly can't believe the way I can breathe now and I owe it to breo. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adam | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/28/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The meds is effective in helping with shortness of breath caused by inflammation. I couple this treatment also with Zyrtec to get the best effects. In addition it does help with energy and mood - similar to how prednisone can help with mood. The downside however is that the medication has been shown to increase blood sugar levels, make it very difficult to loose weight, and also increase tooth decay and infections. Currently I dealing with an infection in my mouth that is truly baffling - I brush, floss, and use mouth wash daily - there is no logical reason I should have a infection in my mouth under a tooth. However the Med does effectively help with shortness of breath, I just wonder if there is a nonsteroidal option on the market that doesn’t have these side effectsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GA Peach | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breo was prescribed for me to help prevent frequent asthma attacks. At first, I thought it was working well but that only lasted a couple weeks. Then it actually made it feel harder to breathe as it seemed to make it harder to take a deep breath. Terrible heartburn too along with bloating. After two months on this medication, I began having trouble sleeping along with sudden elevations in blood pressure and pulse. I always had normal or low blood pressure and during these attacks it would go up into the 150's with pulse rate in the 100's. Waves of panic would overcome me. I couldn't lay down at night for fear I would stop breathing. It was terrifying. Fortunately, a wise doctor finally realized the BREO was causing anxiety attacks for me. Something I had never experienced before. Despite brushing my teeth and using Listerine after each dose, I developed a nasty thrush infection in my mouth too. I stopped the medication immediately upon her advise, and within a couple days all returned to normal for me. Normal blood pressure, no anxiety, and I could sleep again. I feel patients need to be advised to watch for signs of anxiety if they are prescribed this medication. I wonder how many people are being placed on anxiety meds due to taking this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SRS | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This never changed a thing for me. A huge waste of money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Me again. I might add to my post that it doesn't matter what med you are taking for COPD. I found out you will feel much better and I do the same with Breo. That adding an Acid controller helps. It has been a must for me taking Breo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried so many inhalers and had so many different side effects even yeast infections after three days on some. You name them I have tried them. Breo though I have gained some weight is the most gentle and been the most effective for me. I was on the advair for several years and like it but kept a cough and my jaw would stay sore so my doctor said lets try Breo. No medication is great. Wish we didn't have to use them. Years of asthma and now COPD you just have to do it. I use oxygen at night and Proair at times. Breo out of all I have tried work the best for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ilovehockey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couple of things to add , with the Breo experience, burning is in both lungs I repeat both lungs. Sitting on oxygen a lot ,gonna or just used xopenex backup inhaler one Inhalation. And go to bed. I pray for answers for all having difficulty with this Med, it should be reported to the FDA. For what it does. I am tired. It’s very warm out. Air conditioning is a blessing. Prayers…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ilovehockey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am here this evening to tell you that I want off of the asthma medication known as breo. It is tearing my stomach in half. I think the FDA should take this drug off the market. Only happens after dinner. I get these issues, of a burned lungs , under my right breast. I am calling my doctor, Monday and laying the facts on the table, my lower back and shoulder was aching from this drug, get some relief from tums and my back up inhaler xopenex. Eating saltines.highly disappointed. Get off this dam drug as soon as u can!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2021
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have COPD, caused from PE's in my lungs that almost killed me. This medication has definitely helped me with my shortness of breathe and when used with my Spiriva... Im feeling and breathing much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tball | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2020
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on Breo after a few years on Spiriva. It stopped working for me. Breo has worked and am able to breathe deeper. The sife effects for me are hoarseness, always clearing my throat and nose stuffiness. The benefits outweigh the side effects. Will continue to use this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
10/17/2020
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this medication after the Spiriva Ives on stopped working. Breo does seem to work but having alot of uncomfortable side effects.Sore throat, nasal congestion, back pain, shortness of breath at the beginning. Also have had heart palpitations. Its seems to work better after about an hour after use and gets better after time. Not sure if I will keep using it and may talk to my lung doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JessA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/15/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on maintenance meds for 25 years. I get muscle tightness and leg cramps really bad with this medication all corticosteroid meds. But there are no other options.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had life long asthma that became out of control after living abroad in China, after trying a few medications I started Breo 200/25, which worked so well i moved down to Breo 100/25. I track my asthma, I can count the amount of times I use my rescue inhaler on my hands every year. Life changing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2020
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great like Symbicort did, 3 months in I got bronchial asthma, same as symbicort. No good at all, count on getting wet lungs wit Breo or Symbicort AFTER IT WORKING SO WELL for. Shor time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started using the Breo inhaler on Feb. 15, 2020. After 2 weeks of daily use I'm discontinuing use on the advice of my doctor. I experienced chest tightness, palpitations, daily headaches, severe back pain, leg cramps, and sweating, No Relief from my Asthma symptoms noted. Wheezing and Shortness of Breath continued despite this medication. It wasn't a good option for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/28/2019
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed hoarse voice, tight throat, difficulty swallowing. I also developed "burning mouth syndrome", my tongue burns, especially when I eat and I have sores in my mouth. I would rinse extra good and gargle but no relief. My doctor has taken me off the Breo for 10 day to see if that is the issue. Said she will prescribe something else if need be. I am feeling some relief but it is just now 10 days. We'll see what happens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tootsie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/22/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with COPD due to having one "frozen" diaphragm. Doctor gave me samples of Breo and it is wonderful. Insurance won't cover it so still requesting samples. This medicine works like a charm. can't believe its effectiveness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More