Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

122 People found this comment helpful

I have been on many antidepressants over the past 8 years in addition to other treatments such as therapy, lifestyle changes and was even on the verge of getting ECT for my MDD/BPD. All of the treatments I tried had limited success as far a depression goes. I started using Brintellix about a month ago and it has been, by far, the best treatment I've ever used for depression. Side effects were min...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sarah | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects and feeling great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nuralia M | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Brintellix before and it works really well. My anxiety dissipates into thin air. Then I changed doctor (moved for work) and the new doctor put me on escitalopram, which is the worst meds for me. I had memory relapse on escitalopram, was aggressive and was feeling more depressed. Switched to Fluoxetine, worked for the first month, doctor increased dosage to 40mg and I had panic attack almost daily and trouble sleeping at night (insomnia). Eventually they switched me back to Brintellix and within a week, I feel "normal", something I was not able to fell for the past few years. Got a bit nauseous for the few days, but it passed pretty quickly. The best part of Brintellix is definitely the mood booster; I am way more productive at work, I engage with people more enthusiastically and my mind super clear when I wake up in the morning. Escitalopram caused me memory loss, but Brintellix seems to make me remember bits here and there. My libido has also increased on Brintellix compared to Escitalopram and Fluoxetine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works for anxiety and depression! I have been on this brintellix for 2 years now. It really helps calm you down, be mellow, be chilled and helps with anxiety as I never had panic attacks on them. Without them my chest hurts. Helps with mood and think like everything is okay. The only con I have and please let me if you had the same experience is I find it to make me sleep so much. So I sleep in alot more ever since I’ve been on them so I wake up at 10am each day and when I wake up earlier than that I feel so tired. The other thing is I’ve gained a lot of weight since being on them like 20kgs in total. I don’t know if this is the medication or my bad eating habits of eating outside. I’ve noticed I am hungry more often as well? Anyone else have this problem? Please “like” if you do? I would like to know if anyone feels the same way? Other then that it’s a great medication as there isn’t other side effects which I love. Oh it’s a little pricey too $82 a month $$.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Manxiety | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for panic disorder. Having been on many antidepressants over the years I have only ever had a fantastic response with Clomipramine (Tricyclic) Vortioxetine for me is fairly effective but slow to see real benefits - over two months at 20mg. Panic symptoms are less frequent and less severe but not completely resolved (Yet) like they have been on Clomipramine. MAin advantage and the reason I will persist is the low side effects. I have a little nausea initially but this passed relatively quickly, no sweating, no fast heart rate, no shaking and most important very few sexual side effects. I will give this a full 6 months before deciding if it is for me long term but I am very hopeful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate D. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on medication for major depression and anxiety for 26 years. I have tried many medications, from tricyclic antidepressants to various SSRIs with varying degrees of success. Every year or so my dosages needed to be tweaked or my medications changed entirely because they no longer worked as well as they had previously. I hit rock bottom last July & had to be taken to hospital to see my psychiatrist, who is the head of psychiatry for all hospitals in our region. Honestly, I credit her with saving my life. She immediately put me on Brintellix 10 mg (not a high dosage) and dropped the fluoxetine 20 mg I'd been taking for years. I was and still am also taking 300 mg of buproprion daily. So the only change she made was to stop the fluoxetine and start me on Brintellix instead. Within a week I was already feeling better, and within 2 weeks I was feeling "normal" again for the first time in YEARS. I still take low doses of alprazolam & delorazepam before bed for insomnia & anxiety/panic attacks. That hasn't changed. So the only change was swapping out the fluoxetine (which was the first medication that "worked" for me back in the early days) for the Brintellix. I feel 1,000% better since starting on Brintellix. In 4 months my mental & emotional states have done a complete 180°. Every person reacts differently to each medication. What works wonders for one person can make another person even worse. All I can say is that Brintellix was a literal lifesaver for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elsie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the context of developmental trauma, I have longstanding difficulties with focus and memory. As such, despite being in my 40s and having years of therapy under my belt - I have struggled to hold onto / make use of any of it. A psychiatrist suggested I try Vortioxetine alongside my therapy, as it has some evidence of improving focus / difficulties which may otherwise look like ADHD. I’ve been on 10mg for 8 weeks, and just about to start 15mg. After 2 weeks I could finally follow what we were talking about in therapy, and I could sum up what we had talked about at the end of the sessions. I hadn’t expected improvements, having never experienced any, but being able to stay ‘present’ has meant everything to me - I am finally discovering a stronger sense of self and feel hopeful about moving forwards. My only side effect has been a very dry mouth in the early hours. I can live with that! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have changed to Brintellix from Fluoxetine which was working well but had side effect of immune system suppression / low white cell count (was taking 20mg once a day for years). I had high hopes since this medicine should work in a similar way on the serotonin receptors with little side effects. I was taking it for 3 months 2 weeks 5mg and 10mg until now (starting weaning off). Unfortunately, this medication did not make me feel any better with a lot side effects such as anxiety, enlarged pupils , hair loss, muscle craps and dizziness. I am planning to stop it and start 10 mg very low dose of Fluoxetine until i have less stress in my life and then reassess. Good luck everyone Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bel | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/6/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe treatment resistant depression. Brintellix was the 8th anti depressant they tried. I have also had multiple courses of ECT and TMS. I’ve been on Brintellix for two months. The first month on 10mg I didn’t really notice any difference to my depression symptoms. When my dosage was put up to 20mg within a few days my suicidal thinking and constant negative ruminating thinking quietened. This was the first time in a long time this had happened BUT my mood is still very low at around a 4/10. So this is somewhat effective for me but hasn’t helped my mood much. We plan on giving it another month to see if it will help my mood more. No real negative side effects for me except for fatigue (although I am on 4 meds in total and some are sedating) and slight stomach upset. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TW | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ll start with the CONS/DIFFICULTIES: 1) first 3 weeks are HARD don’t underestimate them. I felt way worse before I felt way better. Nausea, worsened sleep, fatigue, no appetite, fragile mentally and physically. I’d recommend taking time off of work especially week two when it’s really kicking in. And clearing social events. If you’re taking it easy at home it shouldn’t be too bad. 2) (More specific to my circumstance) Was told it doesn’t interact with my adhd medication (aspen dexamfetamine) which is a stimulant, but accidentally took them within 4 hours of each other as I thought the Brintillex would calm me down for bed not realising stimulants and anti depressants can be a big no no. So if you’re a dope like me, learn from my lesson haha. 3) (another dopey anecdote) had one half of a light beer made me throw up. had it around 7 and had the brintillex at 11 and it still got rejected haha so if you’re thinking of having a cheeky one don’t. I did switch to taking it in the morning if I thought I may have one or two that night and was okay but wouldn’t recommend it honestly haha. 4) in the beginning you pretty much have to take it right before you fall asleep otherwise you’ll be conscious and nauseous and that sucks.. 5) libido seems to have dropped a bit but I was never really that way inclined anyway ha PRO!!!! 1) Before brintillex I was waking up around 3 am every night without fail for over 6 months, not an exaggeration. Every night around the same time and would just lay awake anxious and overthinking. It took around 8 weeks (longer than I was hoping) but I sleep through the night completely now and feel well rested finally. I seem to get into a deeper sleep than I have in a long time, my dreams are more positive and seem longer too if that means anything. 2) every day tasks are easier, social anxiety is so so much better, I feel like myself now and have much clearer thinking. Able to converse with strangers and not have butterflies take me away 3) I haven’t had any weight gain at all but I finally have a normal appetite so am feeling a lot healthier now that my body is signalling it needs food during the day haha 4) it hasn’t made me feel numb at all, I still laugh hysterically and feel sadness and can cry when crappy things happen, I’m just not reduced to tears instantaneously any more. It’s given me a great emotional balance. 5) overall feels like an easy going medication once you get over the initial hump! I can see myself being on this for a long time, I feel very steady/consistent on this medication which brings a lot of peace. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JH | 45-54 | Female | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not only did this medication quickly alleviate deep feelings of sorrow and suicidal ideation, anxiety and nightmares but it helped me think clearly again. Due to my depression I could loose words, stutter,at times of stress find it hard to communicate despite being an articulate person. It lifted the brain fog. I still suffer from depression but my life is much improved as this medication controls the symptoms and puts me in a ace where I can function well in a demanding job and under go therapy to help me make sense of and move forward with my personal life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phoebe2803 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on Vortioxetine 5mg for over 3 weeks and itâ??s only in the last 2 days that the nausea and dizziness have worn off. I was tempted to try another tablet but as this was my third antidepressant, I was worried that I was running out of options. However, I definitely feel that my mood has lifted in the last 48 hours and my partner commented to me today that I seem brighter. Just a few weeksâ?? ago when Mirtazapine was not working for me, I was at my lowest ebb and wanting to self-harm. To feel more positive and not feel ill, I can now look ahead. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gina | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/24/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started 4 days ago on 10mg Brintellix to help with insomnia. Had jittery feeling for 30mins during the day. Yesterday so tired, tried to stay awake until 10pm but this morning after a rough sleep the jittery feeling started before my alarm went off. It set off my anxiety & had to take 1 Ativan so couldn't go to work. Saw Dr today & told her I will stick to my usual method of taking Restavit or Phenergan to sleep instead of continuing with this medication. She initially suggested trying it longer but I don't even suffer from depression & my anxiety is mild and rare.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sdh | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still early days, approx 2 weeks in. Switch over from Prozac which was making me too numb and detached. Not really feeling the mental effect, but has a terrible gastro effect, stomach completely empties 30-60m after taking in the morning!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guinea pig | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stay away. I had side effects of gastro, painful eyes and after 2 weeks I felt suicidal for the first time in my life. I took it for 4 weeks thinking that I would start feeling better. Very poor support from my psychiatrist. My eye sight has deteriorated over this period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt nauseous for the first month or so. But it's really helped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt nauseous for the first month or so. But it's really helped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lenn | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/7/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Major depression before use. Now "don't worry be haapy" feeling. A little costly but it works. Buy from Canadian pharmacies and save 65%-70%...Only about$3.00 per pill when you get 84 day supply.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried SSRIs in the past and they do nothing for me!I have tried SNRIs in the past and they have worked, but I now become physically ill when I take them! So I have now ended up on this evil stuff mainly because my GP was impressed by other paitients responses. So why do I call this stuff evil? its because for a week now all I want to do is die! (I wont do it!)but I havent felt this depressed for years until this stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JNA836 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took it for 3 months. While it was great for my depression I vomited everyday for 3 months. Unfortunately I had to stop taking it. A shame because it really did work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 32 year old female, been on numerous antidepressants over the years. After being on Brintellix for 2 weeks I felt compelled to commit suicide (I haven't felt suicidal in over a decade). Brintellix brought out the worst in me and really put me on a rollercoaster. Please be careful with this drug and monitor yourself closely, FDA issued warnings of the suicidal tendencies related to this drug as well, it very nearly ruined my life. I don't recommend it at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More