Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I used Ortho Evra for years, had to switch because new insurance wouldn't cover it. Until the generic came out. then I switched back. I see bad reviews, but I don't have a bad review for this medication. It can take a body 3 months to adjust to birth control. Generic's inactive ingredients are slightly different than the brand, so that probably accounts for many people's bad side effects. My a...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Like others, Xulane showed up unexpectedly at my front door when my mail order came in one month instead of Ortho Evra. For the first month it appeared to be a decent patch. The second month went okay as well it seemed. Side note: the Xulane patch does not re-stick at all once it peels off even just the tiniest bit. Ortho Evra does stick back on. When I put on my first patch for the start of the t...

Shared reviews and ratings

mky | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on the patch for maybe a month back in june, and i am still experiencing side effects! there were many moment while on xulane that i wished death onto myself. it made my mood swings ridiculous, i always felt nauseous, it made my anxiety ten times worse... i could go on. the only time it helped with period cramps (which is the reason i started using it) was the first week i was on it. the rest of the time i felt worse than i would have if i was just having period cramps. i do NOT recommend this to anyone. please, just take something else if you absolutely have to. i have never regretted anything more than starting xulane.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | Female | Patient
11/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried everything to control my cycles and nothing helped but this was very easy to use and effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KayC | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wasn’t using this to prevent against pregnancy. I was told to use this to help me manage my painful cramps I’d get on my period. I loved how easy it was to put a patch on rather than take a pill. Not even after 2 days of wearing this I had extreme vomiting, diarrhea, NO appetite, sporadic headaches, fatigue, and gas. I took the patch off and went to bed and by morning some of my symptoms started to ease. My stomach is still sore from throwing up and I still have very little appetite. I did wake up with a bunch of acne. I am very displeased and don’t really want to keep putting my body through any more birth control trial and errors. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first period with Xulane took me from 3-4 days of extreme pain to one single day of mild cramps that could be managed without painkillers and some hot flashes. After the sixth week of use, however, I was struck with severe chronic nausea akin to morning sickness, on the brink of vomiting, shaking, hot flashes, headaches and complete loss of appetite to the point that I could not sleep for 5 days before I removed the patch. Nearly a week later the symptoms have finally vanished, but I would not say the horrendous side-effects were worth what relief it gave me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Loved the patch, but had to take it off after two years of using it bc it made my blood pressure increase :( I started using it in 2020 and lost 30lbs within the first three months! This was amazing for me because I have PCOS, so I’ve always struggled with my weight. My periods used to either come ever 2 weeks or every 2 months, but the patch regulated my cycle! It also made my periods lighter. I would always get my period on a Thursday. One Of the only cons I have is that it gave me migraines all the time. At least once a week. At first they wouldn’t go away unless I napped, but towards the end they wouldn’t go away until the next day. Another con is that it made my blood pressure high. I didn’t feel any side effects of high blood pressure tho. The biggest con for me was my mental health. I was fine in 2020 and 2021 but I noticed that in 2022 I became very depressed. I didn’t realize that it was the patch making me depressed until they made me switch it for something else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Xulane for about 3 months and I'm already sick of this. Sure, it works but the side effects are awful. I have been waking up the past 3 weeks, sick to my stomach, pounding headaches, the shakes, overheating, no period. Meanwhile I am sexually active, I have taken 5 tests that all came back negative so I know it's not pregnancy symptoms I'm going through. I would get debilitating cramps that would leave me weak and shaking in pain. I haven't gotten my period in a month and a half while on this and that might seem like the dream, but I can assure you this is a nightmare. I highly do NOT recommend this to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took birth control because I wanted to enjoy sex without fear of pregnancy. After 3 months what I got in return was my first ovarian cyst, and a new chronic pelvic condition that causes me excruciating labor like pains every single day due to the hormones changing my veins. I used to have the healthiest reproductive system you can have at 22. Now my life has been changed forever with this new disease. The pain has made me suicidal. If I had known birth control could affect my body this way I would have never put this on my body. My biggest regret, I wish so badly I could go back in time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 19-24 | Female | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this thing! This is the first birth control I’ve ever tried and so far I’ve had minimal side effects (the ones I do have are just mildly annoying.) One of the things I love most is that I can skip my period! It’s so easy to use and so far i haven’t had any issues whatsoever with it coming off or wrinkling. I always make sure to shave the area first before applying and put clear tegaderm over it to keep it on. I take a shower every day and don’t have any issues with it lifting because of the tegaderm. The side effects aren’t that bad and only last a few days anyway. I’ve had nausea, mild anxiety, swollen breasts but no pain at all, and a little bit of itchiness but that goes away after a few minutes. I haven’t gained any weight or had mood swings and my libido isn’t affected at all. Overall thought I think the benefits far outweigh the side effects. They’re pretty expensive without insurance so I just use coupons to get them for about $50 a pack. Very worth it to me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nance | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Xulane for 7 months, will not use again. It first gave me nausea, that went away after about 2 months but then the headaches started. It made me on edge everyday. It made my face have lots of dark spots. Made my fine hair on my body and face overgrow. To make things worse it cause me to gain so much weight. I gained more weight than after I had my baby. I had to get off and switch to the pill. Now fee so much better, even the mental fog is gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah. | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have very regular period. I can almost tell you the day I’ll start every month. I got switched to Xulane. I just ripped off my third patch from the first round of it because for the past 13 days I have been MISERABLE. I woke up so bloated I looked pregnant. In two weeks I have gained over 10 lbs. I have random black and brown discharge and blood clots. I have been having the worst abdominal pain. I went to the doctors…had to get a transvaginal ultrasound, a regular ultrasound…and next week blood work. I have been on three different birth controls since i was 16 ( I am 20 now) and this Xulane patch I wouldn’t NEVER EVER suggest to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
waitandsee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started the third month of Xulane and I’m waiting to the end of this box to decide if I’m going to stay on it. There are a lot of pros and cons. PROS Don’t have to remember to take it every day Easy to use and sticks well Have not gotten pregnant, have had lots of sex Doesn’t have some of the psychological side effects I’ve gotten from the pill Shorter periods For the *first month only*, my libido was normal and actually increased a little CONS Lots of back acne that I’ve never had before — I place the patch on my upper back/shoulder and I get acne all over my whole back now which I didn’t have before Severe stomach issues that come and go: the first month I was only nauseous the second week. The second month, I was nauseous for the whole month and couldn’t stop burping and sometimes dry heaving. I could barely eat because food would make me even more sick so I could only eat very bland food like white bread. After my off week, the nausea stopped; I’m on the third month now and just waiting to see if it comes back. If it does, I’ll quit the patch. And the last con is that my sex drive is decreased. I still want to have sex with my main partner, but 1- sex is about 20% less enjoyable with him since my libido is decreased. I’m normally very passionate and fiery but the patch dialed it way down. :( 2- we are non monogamous and although I feel the desire to have sex with my main partner, I’m finding other partners less desirable. That is an unwanted side effect as I am wanting to explore and my partner wants to explore with me. If the nausea doesn’t stop and if my libido doesn’t return to normal then this will be my last month on the patch.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nina | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/27/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Xulane for almost 10 years. I realized just how great of a product it was after my insurance switch me to Zafemy. Zafemy is terrible. Xulane does its job by sticking on properly. I am a tennis player so sweating is inevitable. It has never slid off and it has never given me side effects. It's a really great product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used Xulane for about a year, then my doctor switched me to Zafemy because of insurance. I was about ready to give up on the patch until I found Twirla. It sticks great and works. Apparently Twirla is the newest patch on the market and isnt available everywhere yet, but with how good it works, I'm sure it will be soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jolie Dorgan | Patient
6/14/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no problem with this birth control until they changed the packaging and the patch itself. i only get 3 patches a month and every time i would get into water, the patch would come off without me touching it at all.. i would go through all 3 patches in a week and wouldn’t be able to get any until the next month. when i get on any form of birth control, i expect it to work at least this is ridiculous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StrokeAvoider | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/6/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had TWO strokes on this. I don't drink or smoke. I was 19 and avid with my diet/fitness. The insisted that it couldn't be from the only medication I took, but other women have died from the patch from STROKE! After coming off I now have post birth control PCOS. I wish I never touched this poison.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vanessamk | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/30/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this because my periods were super irregular.. I’ve been using it for a year and I loved how it worked until I grew to be incredibly unhappy with my body and how I looked and I narrowed it down to the birth control. I’ve always been small, I was active all throughout middle school and high school. My first year of college, I struggled greatly with my irregular periods and the fear of being pregnant at a young age so I decided in June 2020 to start birth control. I obviously did my research for the best ones and I narrowed it down to the patch. It worked wonderfully. I never had problems at all with it. I was consistent and didn’t have to worry about a pill every day. I realized that I gained probably close to 15 lbs since I started this with no diet changes at all. Overall I’m happy with the effectiveness, but I’m unhappy with how it made me look. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Goodadvice | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/12/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this patch since 2018 , I have never had any problems. I am allergic to latex so sometimes when I do a patch change I have to clean the area a little bit more, but I have never had an issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hippie_4life | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/9/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on many different birth control pills before finding Xulane. I LOVE XULANE. Yes the first month can be the hardest to adjust. I experienced super tinder breast. Migraines and some slight nausea. After adjusting, it�s my best friend. I�ve never felt more confident about a birth control till now. I�ve been on it for a year now. I�m 22yr old It has not effected my weight. I feel like it�s kept me from getting nasty breakouts. It may effect my Moods but oh well �they all did� I�m just a crazy woman lolRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cwrc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mood wise I felt great, but finally realized it was causing my migraine and week 2 I broke out in hives on my legs it's so itchy. I just took the patch off after doing some research

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess1021 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my third month on the Patch after giving up on the pill & OMG I love it !!!! The pill made me very nauseous & gave me severe cystic acne (orthotricyclen, I was on it for 8 months) The patch has cleared my face completely in just these couple months! & i have noooooo side effects & Idont have to worry about it every day? Omg i love it ! I do recommend it but again everyone is different I’m 5ft 115 pounds , it hasn’t made me gain weight, my periods were regular they’re now light , i honestly have nothing bad to say about this patch, I’ll update in a few months to see if I had any other changes Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More