Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I was on Butrans Transdermal patch (also buprenorphine) but they were sweating off in the TX summer heat so I was switched to BELBUCA. I like it. It's a small square"film" that sticks to the inside of your cheek and dissolves within 30 minutes. I do that every 12 hours. It is simple and this medication works great. I highly recommend it! It is the one and only pain medicine I take. I have DDD i...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Not gonna give even single star. Just wasted my time when I went to pharmacy for pick up.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bobby | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gradually helped relieve back pain to help get my life back as normal. Was a bit weird to put in my mouth at first but you get used to it, and best if don't drink liquids / eat for a bit after putting in. Haven't tried other medications so no comparison with oxy / morphine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ermie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot keep this adhered to my cheek. Thus, I don't think I get any of the medicine into my body. It is horrendously expensive also. I was on a similar patch, but had trouble keeping the patch adhered and it gave me horrible rashes. Seems I can't win with this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AngelaGaljour | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2021
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First day on I puked my guts up. Next day I tried it again had nausea but no vomiting. I was on 900mg which worked for about 4 hrs. Now on 750 and it allows me to function somewhat but no where near what oxcycodone 10mg & morphine30mg did. I’m going to ask about it at my next appointment. Also the medicine costs over 1000.00! Morphine & oxycodone no more than 20.00!!! And I had been on that combo for at least ten years. With no issues, except I kept testing positive for marijuana. I had to resort to smoking it at 50 yrs old to help alleviate nausea. I think my doctor is reasonable and may allow me to swap back to that. Btw I been on these type of medicines for at least 25 yrs! Never asked for anything stronger. Towards the end of that medication after ten years I felt I needed something for break thru pain. Not necessarily more mg but maybe one extra dose during the day I would function so much better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ItReallyWorks | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/19/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have several major issues with my back, left leg, and both knees. I’ve had multiple surgeries and will end up with knee replacements eventually and I’ve taken many narcotic pain medications including oxycodone, time release OxyContin, time release morphine for several years now and was on a high dose of gabapentin at the same time as the pain meds. They all worked but my life was not in my control at all. It was all under control of pills that I had to take multiple times a day. Those pills gave me side affects of not being able to sleep that then led to adding sleeping meds and muscle relaxers at night on top of narcotic pain pills and gabapentin. Finally my dr suggested we try this. We started with the 300mg and slowly increased over a few months to the highest dosage of 900mg every 12 hours. It did take a few months to really work well but now that I’ve been on it for over a year it works AMAZINGLY! I have my life back! I can do things with my kids again without being in constant unbearable pain or wondering if I can take another pill yet. I can hunt with my husband again without being down for the count for days following. I can work 8-10 hours a day again and come home to a husband, 4 kids, and 3 large dogs and still be great. No more pain pills, no more gabapentin, no more sleeping pills other than on some occasions I do take melatonin at night if I’ve had too much coffee that day. This medicine does take some time to get really in your system and working at full strength but once you get there it’s just amazing. You learn tricks to the issues some have mentioned like the patch rolling up in your mouth. I wait 10 minutes AFTER having anything like food or drink in my mouth and then place the patch and hold for a few seconds. Then don’t move your tongue over it or move your mouth or talk for about 5 minutes and it will stick and not move. Ince it is fully dissolved, brush your teeth good to prevent any issues there. It will take time but I promise you this stuff works miracles. This medicine gave me my life back! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sassy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/17/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is not a medication that relieve my pain and allows me to move around. I use my hydrocodone meds with this and I feel that work against one another but I use it as the doctor suggests and get no real relief. I think this med is good for people that lie about their pain and don't really have none or can be managed with small amounts of medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
McCarthy Mor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my teeth hurt and feel weak. Unable to function normally so stayed bedridden to reduce pain. Totally ineffective for my condition but the doctor pushed it. I finally put my foot down and he placed me back on an inexpensive morphine extended release, so I feel somewhat better. The delivery system of this drug is difficult and ridiculous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
McCarthy Mor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Belbuca made my teeth hurt and feel weak. The patch drifts onto the teeth. You cannot move about with the patch in your mouth, because it will roll up and not stick to the buccal area. Pain relief is minimal and short acting, even when the dose was doubled. Horrible, bizarre delivery system and negligible results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heath | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thundermg1swife | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication by pain management doctor to try to "trick" my receptors. This was just as the "opioid crisis restrictions" from CDC came out so I started those restrictions maxed out on medication. I had a ruptured disk and crushed nerve L5-S1 but Tricare Prime was taking forever to approve the disk replacement. Tricare (Humana Military) ALSO doesn't actually cover this medication except as a non-formulary so it cost a LOT for something that didn't work. Fast forward just over three years: surgery was completed March 16, 2018 & I was told that however I felt on March 17, 2020 is how I would probably feel the rest of my life. I've been in a lot of different pain meds for almost 20 years now. The newest doctor (his PA, actually) has taken away my morphine ER (yes, I had some problems with it, OIC, Insomnia, etc, but I was able to handle it) when I asked to be able to take it twice a day instead of just once a day. She wants to try this again (even though I told her what happened before with Belbuca). She stated that she would like to see if there will be "a difference this time due to different circumstances". Folks, I have Crushed Nerve Syndrome. The pain is still there. Also have bladder and bowel problems due to the nerve damage. I don't think this time will be any different. But, I will update everyone in a month and let you know if there is a change. By the way, this rotted my teeth, on both sides, upper and lower, along the buccals and they have not and cannot be repaired or saved, so, please take that into consideration before agreeing to use this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BelbucaIsBad | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/7/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't understand how an alleged analygesic med can make my pain worse, but it does. The 3 times that I recently tried this was absolutely horrible. My lower back pain became much worse an very sharp, I couldn't sleep, I felt dizzy, my legs were shaking and had horrible constipation the next few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Film doesn’t always stay put, or dissolve correctly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brodybobi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible side effects. I made a mistake by even giving it a try for my chronic pain. It made me feel awful and then I had to suffer in pain for like 2-3 days after that because it blocked my opioid medicine from working. I suffered unnecessary because of this awful ineffective medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eyesyes08 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BC | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

20 years of chronic pain , started on low dose . Had to get through side effects. For me it was well worth it . Pain no longer controls me I take 450 mg twice daily I set my alarm on my phone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Somebody help me | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/28/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is so inconsistent,it dosen't last 12hours, I wake up in the morning feeling like hell because of like a withdrawal,it takes about an hour to take effect again after taking it. I'm on 450 mcg been taking this drug about 9 months, I'm going to have to up it 600 mcg,I dout if that helps.I want to try something else that would make my life comfortable but then I would have to start at the beginning again. Hydrocodone worked good for me but your life evolves around a 4 hour pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TankGirl | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/4/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From the day I started it I could no longer sleep. I have used opioids for years for chronic pain and never had this issue before. I was placed on them by my doctor who refused to switch me back or onto something else. Seven months after taking them I am in more pain than ever and still not sleeping. My health has gone downhill and I can no longer function. Chronic bladder issues, no sleep, difficulty thinking and chest pain for 7 months. I was suffering and my doctor would not take me off - so I changed doctors who put me on another medication. I am finally starting to feel like myself again. What a bad drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pain doctor switched me from the butrans patch to this little film because I was severely allergic to the patch adhesive. It really works for me. I use one every 12 hours and I can feel my chronic back and arm pain lessen. No side effects for me. I am happy to be relatively pain free and able to live my life again, be active, get work done, enjoy my life family friends and husband. Pills were miserable for me. Too many side effects and weirdness. My insurance covers it and I paid the rest $25 after a coupon. Pain and pain treatment are very personal, you really have to try different things especially if it's chronic. I an happy my doctor put me on buprenorphine and very happy to have this form of it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zeedykr71 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zero pain relief! Ibuprofen provides more relief than this product. It's relatively easy to use if you don't mind a slimy square disolving against your cheek.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
1/26/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The problem with long acting pain medications is sooner or later, there is going to be a time when you run out the medication IE your DR retires or dies or no longer thinks the medication is right for you or the pharmacy has to order more. There is myriad of reasons it can happen, trust me I have been there more than once. Then the withdrawals come. Severe Belbuca withdrawals can and do last for a month. (Look it up) Then lasting effects can last up to six months. The doctors never tell you this. Long acting pain medications are a very viscous trap. They tell you instant release drugs are bad because they can be abused. Well Belbuca aka Buprenorphine abuses the body with withdrawals that just don't stop. And the pain relief is not that good to begin with. Yes IR drugs do have withdrawals but after 72 hours you are detoxed and can move on. Unless you are planning on being on this for the rest of your life and do have an endless inexhaustible supply of Bulbuca, you are playing with fire. And then there is the price. 600 a month unless you get there coupon. When the coupon is gone, then what?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More