Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

At the one month mark blood sugars are below target! I have to take this in the evening because it makes me soooo tired! Also I have noticed increase in blurred vision, don't care for that. I will discuss with doctor at next visit, until then I will continue taking as prescribed.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

It was suggested by a diabetic nurse that I shouldn't be taking these pills, not good for me in the long run.

Shared reviews and ratings

Sweetandlow88 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication on January 2021. I didn’t pay attention to the side effects as I was going by what my doctor said. How this would help me. I started getting severely bloated, tired all the time, swollen feet and ankles and abdominal pain/ itching in my abdominal section. I talked to my doctor he said I was consuming too much salt. I gained weight and he said it was my diet. 8 months later I gained 60lbs since January and it was difficult for me to walk. A few days ago I went to a different dr as I was having pain and discomfort in my abdominal area. The dr linked it to the medicine given to me. Please don’t take this evil pill. Don’t ignore the symptoms. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crystal | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had breathing problems, my blood sugar was not improving and my vision was getting blurry really bad and kept really bad headaches every day . I had to stop taking it so I could breathe. I check the side effects of this medicine and I am glad I stopped taking it. They are not real good side effects. Check your medicines before you take them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nuliver | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on it for a week, but I don't see any effectiveness at all. I was told to take in am with breakfast because it could lower my blood sugar quickly. I take it along with Metformin, and by lunch my sugars are higher than when I woke up. 250-300 range, my muscles ache and I'm tired more than usual. Sometimes when my sugar is high at lunch, I skip eating. I feel hungry all the time but when I go to eat my appetite disappears.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bubba | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works good for me. No side effects. You have to take it for 3 months to get the full effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/19/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

gained 30 lbs. feet, legs and thighs swelling so bad I had to go to e.r. dr took me off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dellis9326 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 months of use, the effectiveness of this medication is questionable. I've had a few low reading but my morning reading before breakfast are much higher than expected (in the 160 range). I get lots of exercise (12,000 plus steps per day) so I having difficult figuring the right time to take the medicine. I concerned my vision is changing and becoming blurred.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LowCarbHero | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the one month mark blood sugars are below target! I have to take this in the evening because it makes me soooo tired! Also I have noticed increase in blurred vision, don't care for that. I will discuss with doctor at next visit, until then I will continue taking as prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chagrizzly2 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/9/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works great for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zafykj | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/21/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jo3dirt | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/19/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Is it true that this medication Actos (pioglitazone) can cause serious side effects, including bladder cancer and heart failure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A1C7.3 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jteddy52 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My three time daily readings are below 150 everytime and my 7 day average is 89.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | Patient
7/7/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Manamac | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/18/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Daily readings before breakfast give high numbers, 145 average, but semiannual A1c show 6.8 or better. Checking it out since mentioned as possible cause of edema.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not working for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

unable to adequately control my sugars. no weight gain but noticed muscle stiffness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chi chi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/20/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been very satisfied with this medication. I had been on two other medications before and they broke me out, cause me to itch and I couldn't sleep at night. I am happy that I finally found something that I can take that will not make me sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
factory | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was suggested by a diabetic nurse that I shouldn't be taking these pills, not good for me in the long run.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A.Patel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/22/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works well for me.Maintains blood sugar below 150 with proper diet to control diabetes type2

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More