Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I take this medicine once a day in the morning. I have had no accidents and only minor leakage incidents since starting the medicine. Previously I had accidents frequently when the urge to go was immediate and experienced leakage all the time. I constantly had to wear liners and when I had an immediate urge that wasn't enough. I no longer have to get up several times a night either. Previously I w...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this for bladder problems but soon realised that it stopped me from sweating which being a menapausel 56 year old was a god send. It made me feel clean

Shared reviews and ratings

GJ | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My urologist prescribed a 5mg pill twice a day. On the third day when I awoke I could not focus my eyes. Every thing was blur. It took about two hours for this to gradually dissipate. I stopped taking the pills and will see my ophthalmologist today to get his advice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great if you have hyperhydrosis!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lacemaker427 | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/29/2021
Condition: A Condition of Bladder Dysfunction from Nerve Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis almost 30 years ago, and have suffered with neurogenic bladder ever since. Ditropan XL 15mg has been very effective for me, though I prefer to use a generic form because the price drops from $200 to $20 per month. The problem with generics, however, is that they are NOT all the same as name brand Ditropan. The generic made by Kramer-Urban has been very effective for me, but three other generics had very little effect. Trying several of the generics is the only way to know if you have an effective prescription. Since the effectiveness of the generics is so variable, I wonder if some of the negative effects reported by other reviewers were due to a poorly manufactured generic, and not the oxybutynin itself. I have a long list of prescriptions that I am am allergic to, and I am very grateful for that oxybutynin isnâ??t one of them. With it, I have been freed from making an urgent trek to the powder room every two hours.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/27/2020
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 56, I started having OAB symptoms. I was prescribed oxybutynin. Started at 5mg, then 10, then 15. The OAB symptoms continued to ratchet up as did the very awful side effects of the med. Dry mouth, yes, but worse, it prevented me from sweating. One bike ride on the first warm day resulted in near heat stroke. Heartburn also started. Stopped taking it and started pumpkin seed oil gelcaps. No more overnight symptoms and side effect free! This med was a year of wasted time and more importantly a very stressing and negative life altering year. Don't take it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IndiKat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2019
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 2 doses of oxybutynin before having 3 back-to-back seizures. There are, without a doubt, better options out there. I was driven to the Emergency Room 3 times, overall a horrible experience. The paramedics said to my mother that they weren't sure how I lived. To this day, I suffer from PTSD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meh | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took half a 5mg tablet twice a day and it worked after one day. I used to go 15 or more times in the first few hours of the day. For the first time in my life I could choose to go before leaving the house even if I didn’t have the urge to go. I was really excited about it. But I was having a constant ache in my lower abdomen that felt like the start of period cramps. My period is at least a week away so I worried it was my bladder. And I had to stop the day dose because I was sleeping too much. The bladder pain continued on just the night dose so I stopped. I am having the worst knee pain in am old injured knee. It may be from the weather but it’s never been this bad & winter isn’t even here yet. Did anyone else get joint pain??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ella | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2019
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Continue with frequent urination. Have only been taking 1 pill per day for three weeks now. I am NOT happy with the results so far but understand the effectiveness of the drug could take months!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Tomato 6 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2019
Condition: A Condition of Bladder Dysfunction from Nerve Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been using this drug for a few days but its like a miracle has happened. Ihave total incontinence due to diabetic neuropathy, as well as inability to sense when my bladder is full until I HAVE to go to the bathroom; frequent accidents are the result. With this drug, I have had no side effects so far and I am very satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NLagan | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2019
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very soon after beginning taking this drug I began itching horribly on my arms and hands. Its like it began in one spot and then just got worse as it spread. The worst part is nothing helped, like itching cream or Benadryl and I am miserable so I am going to have to stop taking it due to the skin irritation! I will hopefully find something else to help with my bladder issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skeeter | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2018
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was going to bathroom about 14 times a day that included 3 to 4 times at night. After taking it for a couple of months I went at night from 2 to 3 times. However, THIS is the problem that I have with this medication. Months after started taking it; I stopped sweating and my skin was itchy/burning sensation. very uncomfortable. After 2 years of this problem; I stopped taking it and has gradually started back sweating and the itchy burning is gradually reduced. Not being able to sweat could cause heat stroke. Now that I am off the meds, my bladder leaks has returned and going to bathroom more during night time. Can't start back taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJ | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/18/2018
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for bladder control problems associated with enlarged prostate, mostly frequent urgent need to urinate. After nearly 4 years, I am switching to another medication due to side effects of the oxybutynin. These included dry mouth, thickening of mucus in throat to the point of making it difficult to swallow, foul tasting clumps of mucus in my throat in the morning, significantly decreased semen and possibly dizziness (although this can also be associated can with other medications I take).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joe from brooklyn | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2018
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It caused severe dry mouth and feeling of dizziness and fatigue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
allylivia | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2017
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only take this medication when my bladder acts up, and every time I take it I immediately feel better. I have never noticed any side effects and I have been taking them for 5 months now. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is suffering from constant urnation, and has the constant feeling of "having to pee super badly" even when you do not need to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ptaylor | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/28/2017
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for a while, I only take it when I am going to be away from home for a while, never at night as it causes me to have bad dreams and severe dry mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony C | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/30/2016
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Oxybutynin Chloride I Experienced Sever Side Effects And I Have Been Of The Drug For 9 Months And I Still Experience Side Effects, Hot Feet, Dry Mouth, Acid In Stomach, Metallic Taste In Mouth, Dry Eyes, Headaches, Bloating Of The Stomach,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/6/2016
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this for bladder problems but soon realised that it stopped me from sweating which being a menapausel 56 year old was a god send. It made me feel clean

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rongbmm | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2016
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've gone to the Dr. for two months and have been given two different meds. Tolterodine, worked pretty good for a month I was on it. Then, Oxbutynincler, works some days then just stopped working. I think I am worse than before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/9/2016
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for about 6 months!at first it seemed to work but now not at all in fact my problem is worse!Back to getting up 3 to 4 times a nitr if not more and bladder/abdominal pain!Anyone else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rex | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2016
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dry eyes, Dry skin, And very little helping with the sudden urge to urinate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More