Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

I am not through with treatment, I have had 3 so far, and I can see glimpses of not being depressed. My suicidal thoughts that were nearly constant are few and far between. I gave it a low score on ease because of having to stay at the doctors office. It would be nice to do it at home. But I can see why the patient has nothing to do with getting the medication because I could see the addictive pr...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Same experience as the first post. Iâ??ve also been approved for this drug and have been waiting for a month for my provider, who is approved to dispense it, to get back with me after the initial appt. Janssen says we should be ready to go but Iâ??ve sent my provider 2 emails and left messages for their benefits coordinator and canâ??t get a response. Something is wrong and the providers arenâ?...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dennis | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first thing to even dent my severe depression in 30 years. It won’t solve your problems. It won’t make you happy, whatever that means. But the horrible gray fog of numbness has lifted. Ease of use is low because it’s administered by the doctor and you must stay 2 hours, and you’re not allowed to drive home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MDDBPD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I heard about this Rx awhile ago but thought it was too new to ever be covered by insurance and forgot about it. I've been in some sort of therapy since I was 8 if not earlier. I have Major Depressive Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, PTSD, Anxiety and the list keeps going. I'm 44 years old now. Life has seriously gotten unbearable for me. Thoughts of suicide, sleeping to escape, isolating, hating myself and the world... You start to lose any hope the older you get, the more meds you've tried, the more of them that do nothing. A few years ago I went on Viibryd. It helps a teeny tiny bit. Only one that does. I've been searching for something and came across an ad on Facebook for a place by me offering Spravato. Then I remembered.... It's 100% covered by my insurance. Not even a co-pay. I would prefer the IV but I'll take any option at this point. The insurance was a huge hurdle. They did deny though I was outright qualified. I have UnitedHealth via Medicare and Medicaid. Submitted again and eventually it was approved. I lost my job because of the hours required, they weren't willing to work it out with me but it really became like I do this or kill myself so I quit. Today was my first visit. I keep asking myself if this is real or a placebo effect? Anyway, I got there. I filled out how am I doing paperwork, I took a spray to each nostril. Not fun but okay. Waited 5 minutes and repeat. Then I started giggling and feeling floaty. Then happy and silly. I had some trouble walking when I had to go to the bathroom but it's like my legs weren't... Right lol. That wore off in like 45 minutes. Then it was simply like things were....good. I felt good. I remain feeling good. I was telling my bf how I could see why things happened maybe for our benefit that had been negatives lately and he started to tear up. He looked at me and said you chose hope just now. He said I never do. Maybe it's placebo. I dunno. I don't think it is though. I'm excited. I'm seriously hopeful. I haven't felt this way I think ever? I don't know that I know how to be happy. It'll be an adventure. I hope you all find yours. The times I wish were offered in the evenings so it didn't effect peoples jobs. That's a serious problem. I mean I don't mind being there the 2 hours. The driver thing... I think they should allow in our day and age for people to Uber back and forth at least. Not all of us have others to ask for help. My 2 cents.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Remrque | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think to note that most of the negative comments are more to do with logistics and process ( the 2 hour treatment time, insurance, etc. ) than the actual efficacy of Spravato itself. After just 2 sessions, I can say that something is happening and it's on the positive side. I've been in and out of TRD for 50 years and though never had any suicidal ideation, it's still feels terrible. Everything is relative. I find the 2 hour process actually relaxing and, at least the first 90 minutes, necessary. You really are not as mobile as you usually are. Everyone's experience with this will be felt in a uniquely individual way. Perception of what you thought was one thing appears in a more realistic light and, therefore, usually a better light, hitherto obscured. That's what, so far, has been the highlights for me. Energy and appetite have inched into more positive territory, as well. Looking forward to week 2. Good luck to all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Courtney Blair | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are as described. I used it for exactly 1 year. It may have helped initially but the majority of the 12 months I did not improve. I have TRD and anxiety with panic attacks. It seems like none of the medications work for me. Sidebar: I've had these conditions since early childhood

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Had Enuff | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Living rurally and having to travel 120 kms round trip and have to rely on someone to take you home afterwards. I am not on any other medication for my mental health. Had 8 treatments so far and I am still sleeping all day with no incentive to be alive. Ready to withdraw from the trial as its a waste of time resources and energy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JAS | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spravato gave me a much needed boost with the first dose. It didn’t completely alleviate my depression but it definitely got me out of a hopeless state. I was sleeping 24 hours a day for 7-8 months with only breaks to eat and use the bathroom. After the first dose of Spravato, I was able to play with my dog outside. This drug will give you a kickstart but probably won’t bring you all the way out of the depression alone. The downside is that you will need to find a ride to the doctor’s office. Then you have to wait 2 hours before you can be picked up. I am on wellbutrin, pristiq and abilify. I see my psychiatrist once a month and a counselor weekly. The Spravato definitely gave me enough of a boost to be able to start to recover with the help of counseling and other antidepressants.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had a good response for which I’m grateful. My doctor and his staff are excellent. Because of my medical history I was eligible under my health insurance’s unusually narrow criteria and approved quickly and have continued to receive preapprovals for weekly treatment. Although each treatment is only $20 out of pocket, I’m not thrilled that each treatment is so expensive—I’ve no problems with the seemingly high cost of the office visit, considering that I’m in there for 2+ hours and it makes sense in terms of overhead, but I’m uncomfortable with the cost for what is a very expensive device to administer a generic existing drug with decades of safe use. I’ve not been able to progress to less frequent treatments and while cheaper than inpatient treatment, the $75K a year is a great deal of money. I find myself participating in what I find worst about the pharma industry.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/4/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tomorrow will be my first treatment with Spravato. Many years, decades, of depression and anxiety and those dreaded ideations. I'm in Florida and found a clinic and had my evaluation and got the call about an hour ago that we will begin tomorrow as my insurance, a Medicare ppo approved it. I'm praying I feel results after a few treatments to remind me that it's going to be okay. Because I'm scared to tell you the truth. Just scared that maybe my treatment resistant depression is one that can't be treated. I'm Pete and I hope to update this and share my journey here and maybe on YouTube. Currently don't have the energy or the dough but want to do it for myself and really for all others searching for hope. Peace be with all of you. PeteRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MariaM | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first used ketamine infusions, which were a miracle drug in treating my major depressive disorder but so expensive because insurance wouldn’t cover it. I switched to esketamine because it’s covered by my insurance. However, I’m not convinced it works as well as the infusion method. Plus it is very time consuming with 8 treatments in month 1, 4 in month 2, and 2 in month 3.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amie Moore | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Sprovato for 3 months now. I’ve gone from being severely suicidal and self harming to truly happy. I have done a complete 180. I’m a better mom and wife. My psychiatrist says this is the happiest he’s seen me in five years. I hate the disassociation but it’s worth going thru for effectiveness of the Sprovato. I’m on the 86mg dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bizz2021 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced years and years of depression and anxiety. My depression has always been the worst, and started when I was about 18 years old. I am 32 now. I have been on and off so many different oral medications over the years, and none of them seemed to really get me to a good, mentally stable point. I even tried TMS for treatment; unfortunately, it did not help. I have been diagnosed with TRD; Treatment Resistant Depression. When Spravato came on the market I put a lot of hope into it. For me, it was a matter of life and death. I have been on Spravato since late 2019 and it has been a saving grace! Do I still have issues with depression, yes. Do I still struggle sometimes, yes. But this is the ONLY medication I have ever taken that actually helps and gets me to the point of being able to live life. I would highly suggest talking to your doctor about trying it if you have TRD. I had nothing else to lose, and I feel like it saved my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PNWSparty | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not through with treatment, I have had 3 so far, and I can see glimpses of not being depressed. My suicidal thoughts that were nearly constant are few and far between. I gave it a low score on ease because of having to stay at the doctors office. It would be nice to do it at home. But I can see why the patient has nothing to do with getting the medication because I could see the addictive problem. The actual treatment is you do two sprays each nostril at 5 minute intervals and if you’re like me I could feel it working before the doc left the room. For the next 45 minutes it is, for me, a great feeling. It’s hard to explain. The music I listen to (I suggest instrumental) sounds so good. It’s like the musicians are actually in my brain. If you have some goes in your throat it is the worst thing I have ever tasted. Plus that’s medicine not going to your brain. I personally didn’t have any of the million side effects that are listed. Just tired. If you have it late in the afternoon you can eat dinner and after I just go to sleep. Spravato has a great savings plan. After insurance it was still $1100 and the savings card brought it down to $30. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thanks Spravato | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really changed my life after years of serious depression. Got a life again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JK | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from Treatment Resistant Depression for 25 years. I finally found a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner who runs a Spravato Clinic. Spravato saved my life. I am the person I used to be before depression ruined my life for 25 years. This drug is a miracle and a life saver.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/3/2020
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on it for 7 months and it totally has saved my life. It works well with Prozac for me and have added some natural supplements and I'm happy for the first time in my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2020
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was able to get to complete remission of my depression that was present for over three decades. No other medication and no psychotherapy was able to give me any relief prior to Spravato. It has been a life saver.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Baldfun | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2020
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on 6 different anti depressants and going through 6 weeks of Intercranial Magnetic Stimulation that did not give me any relief. I have done the full treatment with Spravato. (2 treatments per week for 4 weeks, 1 per week for 4 weeks and 1 every other week for 4 weeks, each treatment being 86mg) I have had no relief from my depression. It took several months for my doctor to get set up to administer the drug in the office, which is in itself depressing when all I wanted was some relief. I have asked if any of their other patients have had better results and been told no. I believe that this drug was not tested on truly drug resistant depressed patients. This is a time consuming and pretty expensive treatment without results.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CASF | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For those having problems with finding doctors who will do this, it may be the insurance requires them to buy the drug up front for the full treatment (12 sessions for me) and they have previously been stuck with the bill because the insurance for some reason refuses to pay up later. This happened with my doctor, they were stuck with around 17,000$ I believe. They just don't want to take the risk again. Chances are other doctors have heard the horror stories, so won't even try it even if the insurance says they are approved to do so. I am hoping in a year or so that this issue will be removed and I will try again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RFM | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2019
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Interesting drug that is stronger than straight Ketamine. The main problem I have is with it running down my throat. NASTY. That can make you puke.A 28mg dose doesn't do much but make you relaxed. Second dose 5 minutes later starts things rolling. You start to really feel it after several minutes. The third dose is where the fun begins. For the most part the experience is good, especially coming off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sadface | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Same experience as the first post. Iâ??ve also been approved for this drug and have been waiting for a month for my provider, who is approved to dispense it, to get back with me after the initial appt. Janssen says we should be ready to go but Iâ??ve sent my provider 2 emails and left messages for their benefits coordinator and canâ??t get a response. Something is wrong and the providers arenâ??t willing to share what it is. It shouldnâ??t have to be this hard.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More