Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

After a mild stroke, I have been taking aggrenox and lipitor. I have felt tired and without ambition or motivation. My sense of taste has changed making many foods distasteful.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

BEWARE OF THIS MEDICATION! I had been taking this since a T.I.A. a year ago. I have sufferred the whole year with uncontrolled blood pressure including orthostatic hypotension.(low blood pressure upon standing or exercise-90/35)Also sufferred from Syncope-passing out. My blood pressure was so low after taking this medictation that I no longer took cozaar and norvasc that I had been taking prior ...

Shared reviews and ratings

5eirr5 | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2016
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the first capsule, and ended up in the ER. Headache, extreme diarrhea, vomiting, dehydration. I fell twice. Daughter called ambulance.I was so weak I could not walk in to the ER. They put in an IV, rehydrated me, and within a few hrs.I went home, with the recommendation that I do not take that medicine again. It is a very expensive medicine, and now I don't know what to do. They recommended I be admitted for observation, but I refused as I was feeling much better after being hydrated. I was supposed to take this med twice a day. This is what the first small capsule did to me!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Subbu | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/14/2016
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had TIA three years ago. Initially i was Clopidogrel. But after 15 days developed very mild symptoms of numbness on face. I changed my neurologist and he suggested Aggrenox. I had headache for first two days and then nothing. I continued Aggrenox and now going to complete 3 years. The medicine works very well for me with no further TIA and side effects except mild acidity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2016
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a small stroke 8 days ago. I have had 2 previous ones in 2011. The neurologist at the hospital prescribed Aggrenox. The 1st night I was up from 1am till 5:30am with the worst headache I have had. it hurt so bad, I was in tears. It also made me nauseated. This is day 7 of taking this med and I still am suffering headaches. I see my Dr next week. If the headaches continue, I will insist on another med. I very rarely have headaches until this med. I am tired and weak too but I am hoping that is from the stroke and will pass. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BCiullo | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/23/2015
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1 month after taking Aggrenox, my 92 year old father fainted and the ER determined he was severely anemic due to a gastrointestinal bleed. He received a blood transfusion and his Hgb increased from 7.3 to 10.4. We immediately discontinued Aggrenox and after 2 months, his Hgb rose to over 12. Added note: we would not allow hospital to perform a colonoscopy on him due to his age and the high risk and fatalities in his age group. The ER physician got very angry with me for this decision. I am SO glad we trusted our instincts and knew it was the Aggrenox that caused the bleed and continued to have his blood tested after he left the hospital before deciding that such a risky procedure was necessary. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marcwilson1216 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2015
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having taken aspirin for years, the doc recently prescribed Aggrenox, because I had had a TIA about 10 years ago with no recurrence. I have met my donut hole, and the stuff costs a fortune. I've called the doc to find out if I can resume taking just aspirin, as I had for years. Before he gets back to me, can anyone tell me if they have noticed a perceptable difference between Aggrenox and 81 mg aspirin? Is it worth the outrageous price vs. $3 for a year's worth of aspirins?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joshuler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/17/2015
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father experienced a brain embolism on a Tuesday night. Took him to ER and they prescribed Aggrenox and within 1 week he had a major cerebral bleed and died. Not a good drug!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rich Joan | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a monstrous headache the first week. I began taking only one pill at night. After about 3 days the headache was completely gone. I added the morning pill back and the headache stayed away. The only problem I have now is some diarrhea. It's not too bad and I am hoping that it, too, shall pass.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/11/2014
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking Aggrenox, I have experienced a extreme loss of appetite, with a constant sour stomach, bad taste in my mouth with a constant coating on my tongue. Weight loss. Have made an appointment to see what other alternatives are available, as I just can not tolerate this side effect any longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suem | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/20/2014
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had 2 strokes in 2002 carotid artery 100% blocked. Have been taking Aggrenox for 12 yrs only problem was after 5 yrs stomach problems, went on omeprazole, now it's ok, only concern is now I need knee replacement surgery and no orthopedic surgeons know anything about this drug or how long I can stop taking it for safety. Does anyone know the answer?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a mini-stroke (TSA) in 1990 and in 2008 another TSA. My doctor put me on Aggrenox in 2008 and going on 6 years taking this medication, I have had No TSA's and no side effects at all. Very satisfied with Aggrenox.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
strokeman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/9/2014
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ischemic stroke at 51. Have been taking Aggrenox ever since. No TIA's. No second stroke. No headaches. Slight anal bleeding from time-to-time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/30/2013
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2013
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very bad side effects. Could not function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/5/2013
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At age 55, I took Aggrenox for 2 years after a small stroke, experiencing daily feelings of faintness and lethargy, with daytime active blood pressure of 85/50 when taken at home. This was highly unusual for me, as I am otherwise a robust, athletic person. For a few months I noticed increased bruising and sometimes bleeding when I barely bumped into something. Then,I developed uncontrolled bleeding from my nose, which required 4 days of hospitalization and 2 units of blood. All my blood cell counts were down (thrombocytopenia, pancytopenia). After discontinuing Aggrenox, my blood tests returned to norma\. I am active and healthy, and have had no further incidents. This drug is a nightmare. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/28/2013
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peggy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/30/2013
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has worked fine for me for the last 15 yrs can you take advil or aleve for pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug should be taken with caution!!! After 3 days on Aggrenox I woke up one morning and had numbness on left side of body, severe double vision, slurred speech and headache with nausea. Symptoms went away in about 3 hours in emergency room. Subsequently had 2 more incidents with same symptoms. Primary doctor and neurologist thought the Aggrenox was causing the problem and stopped the medication. All symptoms cleared up in 48 hours and have had no more problems. Personally I think this drug ought to be taken off the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug to lower my HDL to below 100. Started at 118 got to 38 with this drug. Some side effects but if you stick with the drug they will go away with usage and time. Seems to do what it is supposed to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/1/2013
Condition: Prevention of Blood Clots in the Brain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Norma | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Withdrawal side effect....itching

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More