Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

44 People found this comment helpful

Bipolar - I took this med for one year with no blood testing. I started experiencing mixed symptoms and asked my doctor if my dosage might need to be adjusted. She then decided that my oxcarbazepine level should be checked along with my sodium. I was not even in the therapeutic range, so my dosage was increased. My sodium was only slightly low. A few weeks later my levels were checked again. ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

He gave me this he is a psychologist and I do not have sezuires.

Shared reviews and ratings

ElizabethFig | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for almost a month. After about 10 days my depression hit an all time low. I was crying 3-4 times a day and noticed suicidal thoughts were getting bad. I talked to my psychiatric nurse and was basically told at 150mg that it was impossible for it to cause the depression and it was the things goi g on in my life causing it. On my own I stopped the medicine for 4 days and the depression lifted. Just to make sure it was the medicine as I thought, I started it again and the depression and suicidal thoughts hit again after a few days on this medication. I’m not taking it anymore and considering changing my healthcare provider. This is not a common side effect but healthcare providers need to be more aware and listen. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jake | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this prescription as an amplifier for meds I’m already taking. Slowly noticed that moving would make me dizzy like I was seeing through a shaky camera movie. Getting up too quick made my head spin. Been a week and still have dizziness issues but it’s slowly going away. Also had wrist rashes. Only took the medicine for two weeks. May also have been extra irritable and depressed as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lory | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, It s the FIRST drug that make me sleep whitout bzd!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose2022 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just stop taking trileptal cuz it was making me cried so much and my mood swings gotten worse with trileptal. I told my psychiatrist that I stopped taking trileptal cuz of my mood swings and me crying so much !!!! I won't go back on this medication ever again !!! Its too much meds and I feel so much better without it !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aednoob | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trileptal gives me absolutely no side effects apart from the occasional headache and nausea. The main reason I will be leaving this medication is weight gain/water retention. I've retained so much fluid in just 3 weeks of taking 300mg daily. It should be listed as a possible side effect since so many people experience this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BW | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking oxcarbazepine for over 3 years now for bipolar 1 and it works really great. I felt it immediately and almost like a buzz in the beginning. I take the max for my mania at 2400mg a day (1200 morning and 1200 night) but I still have had no side effects whatsoever. Helps me keep my mania under control and I'm actually managing my condition now which is what it's all about. Depakote worked ok but did weird things to me. Lithium was ineffective and made food taste weird. And anti-psychotics are hell on me and actually make me psychotic. Oxcarb has been a revelation. I guess it doesn't work for everyone but for some of us it works like a charm. A real blessing for our incredibly challenging lives.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FGG | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/3/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried other meds for Bi-Polar but Trileptal has worked the best. I've been on it for about a year now, the only issue that I'm having right now is the my white blood cell count has dropped. My doctor is re-testing my wbc to ensure that it hasn't dropped any lower. If it does, he wants me to try a different med, which I don't want to do as it takes several weeks to get your levels right and also can put me at risk of having another episode.. which we all know is no fun! Keeping my fingers crossed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robert_stunner_ | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/15/2019
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is not it for me, ive had so many drug interactions with other medications. Ive experienced the worst of the side effects as well. When taken with fluoxetine (prozac) i experience longer, more severe seizures. My body is always low on sodium, and im always in pain because of muscle spasms. Of course, i dont place 100% blame on the medication, my doctors suck and didnt warn or inform me of the possible drug interactions and severe side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/2/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On this medication for Bipolar. It works really well for my mood. I have continued to experience some side effects, such as being a little unsteady on my feet when getting up or turning my body, but it's not bad (especially since I'm clumsy anyway). I have also experienced some mild blurry vision. However, overall, I am really impressed with the medication's results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bpmomma | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/20/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medicine for bi polar disorder. It has been amazing. I have not gained weight or had any significant side effects to speak of like with every other medicine. It really helps me with mania and irritability. I do try to take the biggest amount of my dose at night though, due to daytime sleepiness. 900 mg at night 300 mg in the morning. It works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom of Peyton | 13-18 | Male | Caregiver
4/26/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tn pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was supposed to be a cleaner version of Tegretol. After taking it for 4 weeks my girlfriend noted that I was very irritable and I could not sleep at all. This medication did not work for me and I do not recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dsakita | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for Bipolar Depression: This was the first medicine prescribe for my recently diagnosed bipolar depression. Yes, I had stopped cycling as often, however, within a week I was increasingly irritable and had a personality change. It got to the point where people I worked with commented on my personality change. Since changing meds, the irritability has completely gone away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
julie864 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/14/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bipolar 1. Been on this med for 8-10 years. Suffered low sodium at 117 and had to be hospitalized. It should be 135. Trileptal and Lamictal the culprits. Be careful on this drug. I've gone down from 12200 to 600 mg and have 2 points below normal range on sodium. It has been a miracle drug for me so I'm gonna see if I can stay on it at a lower dose and keep a check on my sodium

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LeftyBob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/7/2016
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well, completely controls seizures, doesn't make me sick, tired, or sleepy like other seizure control meds. Downside, blood sodium levels are low. Need to really supplement my diet with a lot of salt and drink Gatorade daily. Small price to pay for seizure control

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/21/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme weight gain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/17/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have depression, Anxiety, and very bad mood swings. Ive been taking Trileptal for my mood swings for over a year now, and it has made such dramatic improvement on my life. Not only did it stabilize my mood, but also worked to treat my anxiety as well. The first week or so taking it, I was a bit dizzy and groggy but after that those symptoms went away, and in weeks my mood was stable and I was on to continuing a better life style.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/15/2016
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

excellent !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tsuyoikuma | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/9/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for mood regulation/depression and let me say it is an absolute blessing after my first couple rounds of trying other antidepressants and psychiatrists, thank goodness for this last one. I take 600mg in the morning and 1200mg at night. After years of being a restless/light sleeper I can take the evening dose and in a half hour be sound asleep with no grogginess/drugged out feeling when I wake up a good 6-8 hours later, simply amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More