Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I started taking minipress for PTSD, and have no side efects other than a slight dizzy feelng for a short time after taking the drug. It passes, and I m fine. I have had only a few panic attacks since on this medication, and they have been greatly deminished........

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

After two nights of taking this medication i had severe palpitations and completely passed out. I was taken off the medication after.

Shared reviews and ratings

Prazosin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 2 mg of prazosin once daily before bedtime. I start a new job and I want to know if it's okay to go off of it since it is low dose as I don't want to take it before my shift at 10:00 p.m.. what are your suggestions?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/9/2017
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My boyfriend was diagnosed with Bi-polar disorder and also suffers from childhood trauma PTSD. The medication alone he was still having his manic stages and his lows, but once the doctor added the minipress to take at night with his seroquel quetiapine, it created wonders for us. He has been very stable after only 30 days and we hope this progresses through out time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kittybelle | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2016
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Experiencing PTSD-level night terrors after brain damage caused by another medication. Minipress stopped the dreams right away. Doctor initially wanted me on 5mg, but due to side effects (rapid heartbeat and swelling in legs and feet), had to back down to 3mg dose, and have had no side effects since then. This drug is amazing for treatment of the night terrors - down from 4-5 per night to once or twice a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jberg2011 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/21/2015
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has worked remarkably for me. I was having horrible nightmares. I was even trying to escape the nightmare physically. I couldn't believe that I didn't have any flashback nightmares anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2015
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Chronic PTSD and DR said to try this medication to assist my sleep and hyper vigilance. Small dose cause severe headache, heart palpitations and on second night, I passed out without notice and collapsed. While on drug, I was vague, unable to drive and could not effectively work or make meaningful conversations. After 4 days, I was taken off it and never used it again. Dr said I had one of the few % of people that has a severe adverse reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bung | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/16/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this Rx (generic- Prasozin) for years for both blood pressure and BPH. Quite effective. BUT, Why in hell has the price gone up 400%?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wayne50 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/5/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second drug I"ve tried for an enlarged postdate, which is somewhat effective but both clog my sinus's really bad. You know when you have a cold and your nose gets blocked up..well this is twice as bad. I"m wondering if anyone else has had this problem, and if so ,have you found a substitute that doesn't come with this side-effect?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/25/2014
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

given to me for controlling niteterrors

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littlepeaks | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/30/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first high BP medication I was put on in the military. It raised my BP. My Dr. kept increasing my dosage and my BP increased, until at max dosage it was 180/??. It also cause dizziness, fainting, heart palpitations, ED, and at night my back would fall asleep. Finally, they started weaning me off this and put me on lisinopril. As my dosage decreased, my BP decreased. It is now well controlled on a low dose of lisinopril.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jer OC | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2013
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has significantly decreased my nightmares, and also has lowered my blood pressure. I was skeptical a medication would work for nightmares... It lowers my blood pressure and blocks the adrenaline that increases P.T.S.D. related nightmares/night terrors.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2012
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mandy Cake | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2012
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I told my Psych that I would try Mini Press as he stated it would help with my Severe PTSD, nightmares/daymares/flashbacks. I find I sleep 2 hours more however, instead of reducing my nightmares/daymares/flashbacks it has increased them. The vertigo is horrible and lasts all day long so I can not function. Trying to swollow the caps is hard for me as well. Over all, Not a fan of this drug and am weening myself off from it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gary kilo | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from severe combat post traumatic stress disorder which causes severe nightmares. Upon starting this drug my nightmares stopped almost immediately. After missing a dose one night, I suffered 3 severe trauma induced nightmares. Upon continuing the prescribed dose, the nightmares were gone. The drug works amazing for combat PTSD related nightmares. My quality of life has been dramatically increased as a direct result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2012
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

to many tramua in my head

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PTSDmom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2012
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has worked amazingly to stop nightmares. I take 2 mg before bed. I did experience some dizziness at higher dose, but have had no problems since dose has been adjusted. I find that I am able to wake up easily for my children during the night if needed (I also prescribed up to 9mg of melatonin for sleep). Panic attacks have been greatly reduced, although I do still have some anxiety through out the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xgrimm | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/8/2011
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has really helped with the nightmares I get. I am happy with it, a little after taking it I do feel a little dizzy but it goes away after about 30 minutes. The only thing I guess that would be on the bad side is that it makes me sleep like a rock. It takes alot to get me up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gerbercell | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started the medication. have been taking losinapril as well as exforge, stopped losinapril and started prazosin 1mg twice a day, and kept taking the exforge 1 qday. blood pressure out of control, consistantly 140 to 150 over 103 to 120's. hoping this new mwdication helps, ongoing headaches, blury vision on and off, sweeting during day and night. have a family history of hypertension, diabetes, heart attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lanelocust48 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2011
Condition: Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder with Trauma-related Nightmares
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been useful in helping to not have so many flashbacks. I have tried to come off of it and as usual, the flashbacks and other symptoms of PTSD comes back! So...I know this drug does work! At least it does for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More