Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Zonisamide for almost 2 years. It was prescribed for athritis and sciatica. The arthur is completely gone and I rarely have sciatic pain. I never have headaches any more and I have lost almost 40 pounds while taking it. Love that. There have been no bad side effects that have changed my life style. I love Zonisamide. It has given me my life back.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

i used this medicine for my migraines

Shared reviews and ratings

Andrea | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently taking (3)100mg capsules at bedtime in addition to 1500mg Keppra 2x daily and 500mg Depakote ER 2x daily. Was initially taking with water at bedtime, but found it was causing awful heartburn. Neurologist suggested taking with milk instead which helped until I became lactose intolerant. Now I’ve been trying different juices and sodas, but everything seems to make me sick to my stomach and I get restless legs at night, so the last thing I need is sugar and caffeine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 35-44 | Female | Patient
1/13/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this zonisamide for the past 5 or 6 years now. It's worked fine until about 6 ago when I had to get kidney stone surgery. Very painful, 3 which were the size of a quarter. I recently had a ultrasound before my Urology appointment and I apparently have now even after the surgery several in my body. Other then the kidney stones this medicine helps a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lol | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2021
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Myoclonic Seizures that turn in to grand mal without Clonazepam at hand. What makes this so difficult for me is I can't really take pills so I must either break open the capsule or crush down the pill or do something to take the pill. But this medicine has worked. I take only 300mg of Zonisamide a day and I have lost over 25lbs in the past three weeks. Very bizarre, but it has controlled my seizures very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/20/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take about 1pm and take 3 at a time daily- have lost 10 lbs and my nurapathy paid is controlled- never gone but controlled. so far so good. This kills my appetite. If I take after 1pm I have trouble sleeping. I cant find out if it has caffeine in it or not- I think it must?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RubMe4Static | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2019
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been through every anticonvulsant for JME, all have had terrible side-effects; either they increased the frequency of my seizures, gave me side-effects without changing my seizure frequency, or severely affected my mood and memory. I am now taking 500 mg of Zonegran, 2 mg of Klonopin and 1-2 joints of high CBD cannabis a day (I have a medical cannabis card, I usually smoke in the morning and before bed as these are the times when my symptoms are at their worst, including insomnia). This combination has been the best for me in my "10 year epileptic career". However, I still have frequent Partial Seizures (thankfully I am 2 year free of grand-mal seizures! The brain-zaps, word salad and confusion still suck though), myoclonic jerks (bad enough where I sometimes throw glasses/cups/plates and shatter them without meaning to), and was just diagnosed last month with Anorexia due to Zonisamide (Zonegran), which is one of its most common side-effects. I've always had a fast metabolism and have a "gymnast body" as I exercise daily, however after starting Zonegran pounds flew off me without any diet change and a few months into it I developed nausea so intense I was prescribed 8 mg Ondansetron ODT sublingual tabs, as I was vomiting (and still do), after each meal. I'm 27 years old, and currently weigh 111 pounds. No matter how much I eat, I don't gain weight. I drink ensure, force myself to eat as much as I can, but cannot put on any weight for the life of me and the nausea can be unbearable; I wake up with it and sometimes vomit bile literally right after rolling out of bed. It seems I've hit a plateau weight wise and float between 110-112, but the lack of energy from not being able to eat/hold down food on some days is terrible, and the vomiting and constant nausea is incredibly painful and inconvenient as a senior trying to finish Uni. Unfortunately, there are no other anticonvulsants for me to switch to, as this has worked best in controlling my grand-mals.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sarah | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on this med for years, some minor side effects that are completely manageable (especially compared to other epilepsy drugs)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoyDivision | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2018
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great seizure control on a low dose. Horrible side effects. The medicine caused my throat to hurt, my skin to itch and burn and bone pain. It made me depressed and hostile. Irritable. I've never felt like that. I also had severe petechiae. The mood issues were the worst. I also had weird perceptions and complete loss of appetite. I was taken off of it and the hunt continues for a good complimentary treatment with the kepra.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/29/2018
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication stopped my seizures but the side effects were horrible. It caused a deep depression that grew worse, until I finally realized it was from the medication and got it lowered. I would not suggest this to a student, or anybody. I had thick brain fog everyday, making it hard to talk to people and concentrate. On top of that I was always so tired and always felt so sad on this medication, even when I got it lowered! Would not suggest!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

myoclonic seizures...15 years....4 or 5 every night...some so bad I wake up in e.r next day many times.....started on it in 2014, and built up to 450/ day....after about 10 weeks , seizures completely gone......enjoyed about 2 months of freedom till one day I got what looked like a bad sunburn out of nowhere...a few hours later , gasping for air , as wind pipe was closing up.....spent couple days in hospital, and had to cut dose in half, and discontinue following week.....seizures came back.....taking valium, and phenobarbital since 2003 but they barely keep them under control.......going to talk with doctor about zonisamide again, as falling down has caused 2 pretty bad head injuries in the last 8 months......the headaches and ringing in my ears is so loud I can hardly hear ......I had the worst possible reaction to this drug, but it was nice to be human for 2 months.........my trouble started 3 months after back surgery # 5....while repairing a disc rupture, neuro surgueon spotted a 4 inch tear in a nerve root , that required an additional 8 hours to gather all nerves and blood vessels, and make a casing for them......looking out the window from a bed in the corner of the living room is no fun......I going to try the zonegran again , even if it does kill me .....good luck to every one with this.... I know a few people who take this , and are doing really well!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lchivers1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/5/2017
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has given the fewest side effects, the only side effect I really notice is that it makes me sleepy upon wakening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RK | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/15/2017
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As for my epilepsy I am completely satisfied with this medication as I am seizure free for quite a few years now but I had a drastic weight loss which I am unhappy about plus I feel tired, find hard concentrating and have problem with speech.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whitty | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for a couple weeks now and I see no difference at all. I am going through PT and my pain doctor gave it to me. I have researched it and unless magic happens here shortly, I really don't think it is doing anything for me. I am a chf patient as well as fractured spine and neurological difficulties. All together, I take SEVENTEEN pills at bedtime. I see the pain specialist again next month sometime!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chattycathy100verizon.net | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking 25mg, the first day, my migraines have Completely disappeared!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/25/2016
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for the past few years for Epilepsy. Im taking 100 mg in the AM and 300 mg PM. I had sleep problems when taking all of them in the AM. I do have some loss of hair but that more then makes up for it with the less amount of seizures. like any Epilepsy medication it has side effects (which usually aren't pretty) but the pros outweigh the cons. Its worked great for me hope it works as well for you too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BFSkinner | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/23/2016
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had to up my dose to 2 100 mg 3 X a day for a total of 600 mg a day. At this dose, along with Keppra I am able to control my seizures. The problem I now have is that, since I am already prone to kidney stones, I have a LOT of kidney stones. It is a no win situation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Veriity | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

200 mg for the first two weeks, had another major grand mal that lasted for 10 minutes and now the doctor doubled my medication. I have no appetite (whoo hoo) and no problem staying hydrated. Nausea is easily controlled with small amounts of food during the day. Already dropped 8 pounds. Doctor already has me on 300 mg of Lamictal for seizures and depression and is adding another for seizures this week. Still having breakthrough Grand Mal's. Tried Depakote (1200 x2 a day) and Keppra (500mg x2 a day) and still having breakthrough seizures. Seizure increase post-menopausal. Had to leave work, still searching for right meds so I can go back to normal life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LifeIsGood43 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/10/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

8 years seizure free on this drug. It's probably saved my life. I take 6 x 100mg pills per day. I go through a lot of pills. So I'm replacing more than I'd like. That's why the 4 stars there. But really, it's been very good for me. I've taken several other drugs in the past for seizure control and this has been the best.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MyaVT | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 500mg per day. 300 at bedtime, and 200 in the morning. This completely eradicates pain, burning and numbness in my neck, shoulder, arm and hand. My hand was numb in a "gloving" effect (yuck). The symptoms are from herniated discs between c-5 and c-1. Opiates were not helpful at all. As a welcome side-effect, my migraines are gone as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
June | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for severe nerve pain due to fibromyalgia and severe back problems. Currently taking 150 mg. going to 200 mg. next week. Not helping at all. Not sleeping more then 4 hrs, a night due to nerve pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for migraine prevention when other preventative options were causing weight gain. This worked well in preventing migraines and weight loss but the side effects were awful. I had depression and agitation as well as nausea. I had to stop taking the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More