Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Lovenox since 05/06. I like it way better than coumadin. I have my life back,I have lots of energy, my hair doesn't fall out, I have even got my scuba certification,I go ocean kayaking and don't get sunburnt.I use an SPF 50 of course.I'll take the injections anyday. I inject myself 2x a day 100mg. I have had 7 clots in my lungs and my right leg is completely occluded. I love having ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I have DVT and HATE THIS MEDICATION!!! Why? Because the delivery method is sadistic and barbaric! I am able to give myself daily injections of Forteo (for osteoporosis)because it uses ultra-fine 31 guage needles, so I DO know how to do subcutaneous injections. But the (only available) needle on the Lovenox product is large, incredibly painful, and leaves HUGE painful bruises, whether it is a nur...

Shared reviews and ratings

Pregnant | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second time having to be on this medication due to DVT caused by pregnancy. I’m on a 40mg 1x/day for my second pregnancy whereas first pregnancy 9 years ago I was on life saving measures of 50mg 2x/day and deemed a high risk. I still have scar tissue from the first time and those injections were given to me in my sides. This time around I’m getting them in my back. They burn horribly, and as I progress in my pregnancy (due in March) the shots are becoming more and more painful. My lower back is bruised, sore, and some sites are already scarring underneath leaving round bumps. Some days I bleed, other days I throw up, some days are tolerable. And overall, the side effects are horrible. Constant nausea, headaches, dizziness, loss in appetite and bowel movements are loose. I wouldn’t wish this on anybody. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pow | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2020
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this injection in the hospital. It caused a sroke with permanent paralasis on my left side. This is a bad drug and you should never use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Freddy Fredrickson | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/27/2019
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 2015 I was badly injured in a fall, shattering both of my feet, and was confined to a wheelchair for almost a year, well my team of doctors wanted me to take lovenox twice a day for 8 months! I would have to rotate injections sites from my stomach, to my rump, because after a 4 or 5 days, they'd be covered in bruises. I understood the importance of the medication, but it was a really awful experience to go through. I'm also convinced that it really messed with my blood pressure, because before that I had normal blood pressure for a guy that was pretty active at the age of 34. Ever since I took that medication I've suffered from unusually high blood pressure (now 38). I checked it just today, 170 over 106. While I was taking the medication, I would regularly be 190, 195, 200, 205, over anywhere from 110 to 120.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Survivor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention in Abdominal Surgery
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Lovenox injections once a day for two weeks following a hysterectomy surgery. The nurse at the hospital instructed me how to do it and I gave myself my first injection in the hospital on my release day. It has been easy, painless, and overall a good experience. No problems with blood clots. Loose stools were my only side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2017
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention in Knee Replacement
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not prevent or eliminate a DVT in my calf of the replaced knee.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2016
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After injecting myself 2-3 times, I realized it it pain free if the plunger is pushed slowly. It takes a few more minutes, but it is well worth it opposed to feeling that annoying burn after the shot. Hope this helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
melody2421 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/22/2015
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate doing the needles I'm all bruised and have small welts when done giving shot, and I don't put it in all the way to the tip.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tkjack | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Blood Clots in Deep Veins and in Blood Vessel of the Lung
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has saved my life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2015
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had plantar fasciitis release surgery and developed DVT. Given Warfarin and Lovenox. I got NO patient info. Just syringes in a ziplock bag. Lovenox website was down. Googled subcutaneous shot. Winged it. Needle sometimes hurts, but tolerable considering it's saving my life. But the burn that comes after the needle is out is bad. I cry. I can't help it. It's really painful. Wish it was pill form. Manufacturer...send out more patient leaflets so everyone gets one. I gave one injection in the wrong area with wrong method. Work on pill form!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ovannie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2015
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found that SLOWLY injecting Lovenox stops the horrible pain that happens when it's given fast. Just take your time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnkleSurgeryBoy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2014
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be sure to get alcohol swabs and a sharps container when you pick up your Lovenox. Their YouTube video showed that those items were included and my pharmacist never mentioned that they were needed. Fortunately I have alchohol at home, but I can see others injecting themselves without being able to clean their skin. So please be prepared and be sure to get these items before you start injecting!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Painful after needle is out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bonnie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have this rash around the injection site and it really iches, now im getting a rash on my neck. dose anyone know if this is serious?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vettegirl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have finished using the 10 day treatment post hip revision surgery. I agree with other users. Sometimes the medicine burned. It was short lived, however. I have had some bruising--little at site of injection. The only side effect I seemed to have was having to go to the bathroom a lot. I have noticed a very small amount of swelling. I suppose I was holding fluids. I have now finished the medication and will be using aspirin therapy for a total of 30 days--twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raymond | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/24/2014
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking shots twice a day for over 6 1/2 months. Still ended up with a clot in my left leg behind the knee. I had abdominal surgery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2014
Condition: Blood Clot Prevention Following Percutaneous Coronary Intervention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stinging when injected

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miteezma | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/24/2014
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am pregnant and have factor 5 Leiden. I am taking one injection of Lovenox daily and though the needle it self does not hurt the medication burns so bad that it brings tears to my eyes. I don't mind needles or injections, but do to the pain this medication causes me I have found my anxiety and nerves all messed up every time I have to inject this medication. I have another 8 months of using this medication and I really wish there was another option. In addition to the burning, every injection site is bruised. Wish it could be injected somewhere else besides my stretching-sensitive-stomach. I do like that the syringes are pre-filled and come with a safety feature for after use. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes lots of bruising

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pwillis4267 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2013
Condition: Blood Clots in Deep Veins and in Blood Vessel of the Lung
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Grab some of your waistline and inject these shots very slowly at a 45 degree angle around your belt line. Inject this medicine very slow. Wanting to pass this information on about these shots that have helped me to reduse the burning, brusing, and knots in my stomach. The blood clots were found in my leg and in both of my lungs. I had to take the shots twice a day. I hope I am finished, going for more blood work in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Violet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I too have Factor V Leyden to contend with. History of clots, this one from ankle to upper thigh. Coumadin made me tired and forgetful 14 years ago, so I stopped taking it. Lovenox is causing headaches, tiredness and 4mm purple-reddish bruises at the abdominal injection sites. Thank you to the person who said to ice the injection site--it does help. The burning of the drug is horrible, like rubbing alcohol being sealed into a wound. Why do I give this drug high marks? Because I don't have to: get my blood taken x times/day (major plus!), be careful of not eating anything high in Vitamin K (as with Coumadin) or get rashes from the yellow dyes favored by Coumadin/Warfarin. Yeah, I'd say this is better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More