Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

My GI doctor subscribe this to me for IBS, and to help me sleep I was told take a half a pill every night for five months and that’s it. What I found out is when you stop taking it even at a low dose I got really sick very bad stomach pains and was really tired. I went to my regular doctor and he had given me another prescription because the pain was so bad I couldn't get out of bed. It helps me s...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I use amitriptyline for sleep. I have to take 150 mg. and it sometimes works and sometimes it doesn't. I don't like the daytime drowsiness and increased appetite.

Shared reviews and ratings

tracydinardo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/14/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pseudo Bulbar Affect. This medicine , for me, taken once a day, has changed my life for the better !! I have not had any inappropriate outbursts since starting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stillbreathing84 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bad experience while taking this drug. I was given a stronger dose which wasnt working because it was too strong of a dose. then then switched me to a lower dose of 5mg, experienced a tickling or feathery feeling in my head which caused me a panic attack. ( I managed to overcome it by laying in a childs pose with my head face down, forehead into a pillow and deep breathing). the drug did nothing for me. Hope this helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bettye | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Waa tols to take instead of lunesta. To use lunesta iccasionally. don't undertand why

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amitriptylin hydrochloride | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2012
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIKEY | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

100 MG A NITE PRESCRIBED BY GP FOR CHRONIC PAIN MANAGEMENT AND HELPS TREMENDOUSLY WITH FALLING ASLEEP. I GET 8 HRS NOW AND USED TO GET 5 HRS SLEEP. SIDE EFFECT: CONSTIPATION. NEUROLOGIST THINKS 100 MG IS TOO MUCH.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pushyjones | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this for migraine headaches. Works great. I do get tired easily and did gain a few pounds, but to be rid of the daily chronic hedaches - it is worth it! I am worried about the many side-effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moe | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/21/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
calichic1184 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/8/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug for IBS by my GI doctor about 3 years ago and recently stopped smoking and no longer needed to take the pill. I went to my dr to be weined off the drug since I had read that it could be harmful to just stop taking it. I have been off for about a week and since then I have been having BAD headaches, BAD pain in my stomach and constipation, and these weird "nervous" muscle twitches in my hands, arms and legs. I don't know if this is due to the "withdrawal" from the medication or if these are signs of something else but it seems to be a bit difficult to stop taking either way. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/5/2009
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has taken away of alot of my anxiety. I'm not quite so nervous all the time. I have been taking this medication for about 4 to 5 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2009
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been useful but the excessive dry mouth is pretty severe. I had to stock up and gum and mints just to make it through the day. I was a bit dizzy after first taking it but that side effect has since worn off. I have been taking it for about 7 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
graham1 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/15/2009
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amitriptyline | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my physician gave me the prescription for migraine headaches. Worked famously. No more headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking 10mg. at bedtime to help keep me asleep at night. does well at putting me to sleep but I still wake up several times a night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/20/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medication after the murder of my son. It helps with depression and panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2008
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i take this for sleep problems but it still takes a couple of hours to fall asleep, but once i do fall asleep i don't wake up alot anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/4/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My GI doctor subscribe this to me for IBS, and to help me sleep I was told take a half a pill every night for five months and that’s it. What I found out is when you stop taking it even at a low dose I got really sick very bad stomach pains and was really tired. I went to my regular doctor and he had given me another prescription because the pain was so bad I couldn't get out of bed. It helps me stay calm but then there are days I have no energy and I am way too calm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paul | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

iwas taking it for to help me sleep pain relife anddepression but was taken off it by my gp he say:s it can cause some sort of desiese i have not taken it for 6to8 weeks and i feel really tired sore accute pain 24 7

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt slightly nauseous first couple of days into treatment, and tire more quickly. It does have a good sedative quality helping me to slow down and calm my anxiety generally. I am still under investigation with my doctor. I don't know if it's post herpatic neuralgia or infection of liver or kidney or bladder infection. These tablets are having some effect in calming my abdomen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use amitriptyline for sleep. I have to take 150 mg. and it sometimes works and sometimes it doesn't. I don't like the daytime drowsiness and increased appetite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More