Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Had a root canal that became infected & wouldn't drain. Needed a lance & drain installed in upper gum, and was put on this RX. It worked well though gave me a flu type feeling.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

DO NOT TAKE THIS MED!!!! IT ALMOST KILLED MY MOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS WAS GIVEN TO HER FOR TONSILITUS, BUT IT CAUSED SEVERAL SIDE EFFECTS AND IT GAVE HER SEPSIS. SEPSIS MADE ALL HER ORGANS SHUT DOWN AND SHE WAS IN ICU!!!!!!!!!!!!! NEVER TAKE THIS !!!!!!!! MY MOM IS FINE NOW, BUT SHE ALMOST DIED LITERALLY.

Shared reviews and ratings

Rita | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2021
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got to day 3 and nausea set in and vomiting ??. Didn't take anymore. Dark urine and totally bad experience

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter Ruiz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused severe bleeding admitted to ICU spent week in hospital also needed several transfusions. Ready to undergo surgery when bleeding suddenly stopped. Worst experience of my 71 years on this planet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can say that along with Tustin DM it feels like it is clearing up my sinus infection. But, man what a horrible medicine. Diarrhea so bad, after the 20th time it’s just bile. Worst part is the leg cramps, just horrible. Will never take again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jorge | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe sinus infection like headaches and lower back pain. Took ibuprofen with it and seemed to help ease the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could not get to a dentist for a toothache. I went to the ER because the pain radiantes . The doctor prescribed this medication for a tooth infection. This antibiotic worked very well for me. Pain subsided within hours. Must take with food to avoid stomach upset.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
48930 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2021
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pill itself is HUGE! It gave me lower GI issues even though I ate with food. Also made me nauseous. I hated this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Infection of the Biliary Tract
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Big pills but I have no trouble swallowing pills. Slight nausea but less so than why I was prescribed it for. Took for 5 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jennel | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2020
Condition: Cat Bite Wound
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My resting heart rate & blood pressure got more elevated each day I took this. I was nauseated after taking each dose. I developed a headache that felt like a sinus headache after taking this for 2 days. I feel dizzy & lightheaded & my brain feels foggy (hard to think). After day six, I developed an itchy rash/hives.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2020
Condition: Acute Staphylococcus Aureus Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The diarrhea is unbelievable I swear I didn’t think I could poop so much .. The pill is so large almost couldn’t take it .. I’m in day 3 and I feel like I’m getting better only 5 more days to go .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Velma | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found this medication to be horrendous. It caused extreme discomfort in my hands ( nerves tingling, buzzing in my head, peripheral neuropathy ). Burning in the urinary tract, dark yellow orange urine, confusion. I tried to take the full course, but I could not tolerate it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HuskerFan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Violent, projectile vomiting for hours after taking just one dose!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HeadaLyn | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even though I ate a good bit of food, I still got nauseated. It took a while for the feeling to pass.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2019
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pi;ll is too large for me too swallow. cant use it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so nauseated, have no appetite. Feel very tired, no energy. Stomach hurts, cramps, still feeling very bloated. I will never take this medication again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jajam | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/25/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused extreme diarr

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anxious ally | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2018
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the 875/125mg every 12 hours for 10 days for walking pneumonia and an upper respiratory tract and sinus infection. I had been coughing for 3 weeks which led to coughing up green/foamy mucus and chest pain. Side Effects I experienced: I felt like I was in a fog & had dizziness. I was lethargic and couldn’t keep my eyes open. I also experienced a bubbling feeling in my stomach and urgent need to use the bathroom (diarrhea). This RX made me cough less, but made the cough more productive. All of this sounds like a lot, but it was bearable. I want to share some helpful tips that were suggested by my pharmacist (and frankly should be told to everyone taking this Godzilla of a medication): 1. DO NOT take this on an empty stomach. That is a recipe for disaster as this medicine kills all bacteria and will ream your insides. I've been there. It blows. Please do yourself a favor and have a hearty meal before taking this so there is something in your tummy before this medicine comes in Gladiator Style to battle the bacteria in your body. 2. Hydrate, Hydrate, Hydrate! Taking this RX with water is SO important! If you experience any bad side effects like diarrhea, you will be dehydrated. Drink at least a bottle of water right after you take the pill. 3. Take a Supplemental Probiotic. This medication wipes all bacteria, good/bad, out of your system. 4. I read in a previous review to eat some chocolate when taking this, so I tried it. Popped a few M&Ms after taking the pill and during the day. I cannot say if this helped, but it tasted great and made me happy, so to each their own. 5. Lastly and most importantly, remember that everyone is different and will react differently to any kind of medicine. I truly hope this helps anyone debating the medicine and wish that doctors would lay this all out before blindly prescribing this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2018
Condition: Acute Sinus Infection caused by Haemophilus Parainfluenzae
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smonfils | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By day 3, eyes were red, burning and itchy. Continued to take since I had a reaction to the previous meds, By day 7 my whole face was puffy and red, my eyes were so bad, it was painful to open. Body aches & head aches. Am not taking this ever again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello sir after administration of this tablet iam getting pain should i continue this tablet or shall i stop

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elle | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2018
Condition: Cat Bite Wound
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this 5 months ago for a small cat bite. It made me very sick to the point I thought I was dying but completed the course as instructed...since then I have become more and more sick and am almost housebound..this drug has wiped me out. I've just had a fecal test and have been told I have nasty bacteria in my gut...waiting to see what happens next...but am still feeling very ill and afraid. DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG...it's evil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More