Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

58 People found this comment helpful

I'm writing this review to set the record straight. First of all, I'm a 20 year old college student who has never had a child before. My doctor and I made the decision to go with Mirena because of complications with the birth control pill OrthoTriCyclen Lo. After reading many negative reviews about Mirena- I was very hesitant to go through with getting it. I was so nervous I delayed getting ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I hate it! 17 months of a nightmare! Completely destroyed me physically and mentally!! Ruined my life!! Dont be fooled! At first you will be happy, and then find yourself like me!

Shared reviews and ratings

Jennifer S. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 39 and suffer from bad anemia and also started to have really bad menses and my iron levels dropped to 3.4 ..so I was admitted to hospital and was told to get hysterectomy or try another form. I went and got the Mirena (it felt weird at first) but I had two light cycles and now here I am 3 months later no cycles and only issue I get is very sensitive nips and that's it. I'm happy and my hubby loves it. Also prior I used to have 2 cycles a month that lasted a week each time . So I'm very thankful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat K | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having periods (sometimes extremely heavy) that would not stop unless I took progesterone pills. I cannot take anything with estrogen due to migraine with aura. I was thinking of going straight for an ablation but between my insurance coverage and my doctor’s recommendation, I chose to get Mirena knowing if it didn’t work I could go for the ablation in the future. The insertion was uncomfortable but not painful. Within about 24hrs after insertion, my period practically stopped. I’ve not had a period since (4+ months in) but light spotting most days. My skin and moods have not changed as many others have stated. Since I’m in my mid 40s I’m hopeful this will last me through menopause.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Agirlinpain | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can’t really talk about the effectiveness but I will say this was singe-handedly the most painful procedure I have have experienced in my life. I was screaming in pain the entire time and almost passed out. I lost color in my face and lips and felt dizzy for an hour after the procedure. I had to stay in my room for an hour before I could leave and even then I still didn’t feel better but I just wanted to go home. The nurse was constantly checking on me cuz she was worried about my color in my face going away. I did forget about take ibuprofen an hour before and maybe if I had it would have been more bearable but I took some ibuprofen right after and it’s been 5 hours since it was put in and the pain continues to come and go and I can’t move off my couch. I had to take more ibuprofen even tho I was told to wait 8 hours and I still feel the cramping. All I want is to have it taken out at this point but that is going to hurt as well. If the pain isn’t gone by tomorrow I don’t know what I will do. I def don’t suggest this if you are someone who doesn’t have a high pain tolerance. And yes I have a good relation with my gyno. I trust her and she explained everything to me as she was doing it and went as gentle as possible. Procedure lasted like 2 minutes but I was in there for over an hour before I could go home.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cass | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/5/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I opted for the mirena for its low maintenance. The procedure was fairly quick, with some discomfort and pain for a few days after(hand warmers are great travel heating pads). I have had it for about 5 years I believe, and I have had very little issues. I haven’t had a period beyond what sometimes seems like a “phantom period” (some of the symptoms you get during the period like back pain or cramps). I’ll be getting it removed in about a year or so once the expiration date of the mirena comes closer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the Paraguard copper IUD for about 3 years when I couldn’t stand the pain of the cramps from it, super heavy periods, and previously getting BV from it. I went into my Gyno to replace the Paraguard with the Mirena. The removal wasn’t bad at all. It was so quick. Getting the new Mirena inserted did hurt a bit but PLEASE TAKE IBUPROFEN BEFORE YOUR APPOINTMENT!! I learned from not doing that the first time and had so much pain. Anyway, the insertion was painful but over with quickly. I felt fine/normal the rest of the day and had minor cramps the next. I’ve had light spotting which my doctor said would be normal. I’ve felt instant relieve getting rid of the copper iud and getting the Mirena. I’ve had no pain and so far no mood swings/anxiety/depression. Will update if side effect arise. I didn’t give it a full 5 stars only because I’ve had it less than a month but so far so good! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sj | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When this was inserted in me it hurt so bad! Then continued to hurt until i had it removed. It caused me to get bacterial vaginosis and a uti at the same time. On top of that irregular bleeding and the smell of discharge from the bv and just having the iud in itself. I was prescribed medication for the infections, and took them all but for some odd reason the infections only got worse. I blame this on the iud . This type of bc was a nightmare and will never consider anything like this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wanted the copper iud and for whatever reason dr. Insisted on mirena. Pretty immediate after insertion experienced extreme fatigue, severe hunger, felt really cold, mood swings with panic attacks. Had to take it out in 1.5 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jade | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/25/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Leveling out my hormones

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One month after getting mirena it perforated my utereus and is now floating around my abdomen. It took many doctors and clinics in two countries to understand that it is still in my body. And now I have to wait 6 months for surgery to have it removed from my abdomen and hope it hasn’t attached itself to an organ. Apparently this is much more common than people are made aware of when they get it. :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momoftwins | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/23/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A few months after giving birth to my twins, I decided to get the 5 year non copper Mirena put in, it took less than 5 minutes, I cramped some but minor compared to the HORRIFIC cramps I grew up experiencing and then cramped for about an hour after insertion. My periods went from extremely heavy 7 days to barely there 1 or 2 days . Fast forward to year six, I got my first IUD remove and replaced with another 5 year non copper and same experience upon removal and insertion of the new one. I have since returned to having full blown periods for a full 7 days but the brith control part still works and I'm sure my body is now accustomed to the IUD hence my normal periods returning. I also appreciate that it has no hormones. In 2022 it will be time for me to get my IUD removed and I will consider either getting it again or flat out tying my tubes cause I'm done getting pregnant. NO Issues at all but always remember EVERYONE'S BODY IS DIFFERENT!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay C. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the Mirena hormonal IUD. I have hypothyroidism. I had issues with feeling cold all the time. The birth control increased my thyroid symptoms even while taking my thyroid medication (Levothyroxine). I felt since the birth control was hormone released …it was affecting my thyroid. My thyroid symptoms increased on the IUD randomly throughout the day but levels were normal when tested. I do feel it’s due to the Mirena IUD since it releases the hormone progesterone throughout the day. I also experienced gastro issues (constipation, nausea, diarrhea). My symptoms went away in 5-7 days once my Mirena was removed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CruzeCntrl | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I had this put in a few months after my daughter was born. I had it for the whole 6 years. The take out was the worst thing ever. It was imbedded. Took 2 nurses and 1 Dr at the hospital to try an remove it, they were about to surgically remove it if the 3rd try didn’t work. I was crying and in pain. But in all reality, it did it’s job the whole 6 years. I had light to almost non exsistent periods. But there were times I spotted lightly for more than 1 week. I never got depressed or had a low sex drive. My skin never broke out like how some mention but everyone is different. Yes the removal was brutal but I don’t think I expected it to slip right out after being in there for 6 years lol 1 month after removal I was pregnant. My daughter is now 1yr and I am about to start the pill. Due to the removal I am petrified of the IUD but it did a great job with everything else. I would recommend it but just grow balls for the removal lol Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tiffany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my iud put in 4 months after my daughter was born.i am 25 years old! I tried depo shot for 3 months, then the pill for one month til I could get an appointment for the iud. I have now had it in for 7 months. Insertion was painful, since then I've had hair loss, extreme fatigue, no sexual desire, moodiness, stomach pain. I've went too the E.R for cysts on my ovaries too find out that it could be a side effect from the iud. When I went too had my string check too make sure it was in the right place the doctor could not find them so I went too have an ultrasound, the ultrasound showed it was in the correct spot. I went in this week, mind you it's been in 7 months! When I went in the doctor and her supervisor both tried getting the iud out. 20 minutes of pure torture. I was crying constantly finally they stopped now I have too have surgery too get it removed. It's been 3 days since they tried taking it out and I'm having severe stomach pain, I missed work today because of it. And I now have too wait weeks too have surgery I don't even have a date set . ! HATE THIS DEVICE ITS NOT WORTH IT AT ALLRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happycamper | Patient
6/19/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only two periods in, but I am VERY happy with my decision to use the Mirena IUD. I 46, in good health, and someone who had been dealing with increasingly heavy periods for the last 10 years. I was contemplating an ablation, but I wanted to try something less invasive and less permanent first. My ob/gyn recommended Mirena, and she told me that even if I had had bad experiences with birth control pills in the past, to consider giving it a try. She also uses Mirena and was a fan. I did some research and scheduled my appointment. The insertion wasn’t super comfortable, but it wasn’t painful. I took ibuprofen in advance and my ob/gyn prescribed a drug to dilate my cervix in advance of the procedure. There was some discomfort and cramping with the clamp, but nothing compares to the pain of a contraction, and only slightly more uncomfortable than a Pap smear. After the insertion, I had to use a pad for about 24 hours, but then the spotting stopped. My first period after Mirena insertion was almost as heavy as a regular period, but my doc had warned me I could have heavy bleeding for days, which some people do, and I didn’t. I also had some constipation and diarrhea, which the nurse I spoke with said was not likely related, but who knows, as it started right after insertion. Around three weeks after insertion, the GI side effects subsided. I just finished the second period I’ve had since insertion, and I am so happy. Rather than soak through 4-5 ultra sized tampons per day and needing pads for back up, I needed 1-2 regular sized tampons every 18 hours or so. Complete game changer. It was almost like not having a period. Pre-menstrual breast tenderness was worse than normal, but I will happily trade that for the freedom of having a much, much lighter and easier to deal with period. Hopefully the trend towards even lighter periods moving forward will continue. A few friends who use Mirena said they have no more periods at all, or maybe spot for a day or two, and are so happy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chacha | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried every contraception prior to the mirena iud , and my body has rejected all . I was hesitant for the iud , but went ahead with it anyway as I've just had my 5th child . Insertion was a bit crampyb no horror stories here , appointment took about 10 minutes in total insertion literally 1 minute . Went home on bed rest and pain was gone by the next day . Spotting was light but everyday , had 2 heavy periods with spotting in between till about week 10 . Have now stopped spotting and getting periods all together which I'm absolutely stoked about . Highly recommend Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 52 experiences very heavy flow that sent me to er by day 15. They gave me a progestin pill to stop it, I had 8 days of no period then had the iud placed. It was somewhat painful, but short lived. Was able to drive home and walk fine. I have not quit bleeding since being placed. I'm wishing I would have tried the ablasion, I think. So far no side effects that stand out, but its only been 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dayzie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 41 year old woman and have had two Mirena IUDs, one for the full five years, and the second for over 6. (My appointment was cancelled due to COVID and then I totally forgot to reschedule it.) So, I have almost 12 years’ experience and wish I’d known about it sooner. While the main reason I got it was for birth control, going from having heavy periods that lasted 7-8 days to one day of barely spotting has been life changing. I didn’t have any other side effects. The only negative is that it was uncomfortable both during insertion and removal the second time, but my gosh, the insertion takes less than a minute and then a few minutes of mild discomfort. Maybe a little discomfort for a few hours, but nothing worse than I’ve experienced from cramping during my period. Overall, well worth getting five years of effective birth control that I don’t have to think about.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mirena | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the mirena inserted when I was 21. I have never had kids. The first two years I had no period, then regular periods the last 3 years. I did not gain weight and it not affect my mood. I really enjoyed being on the mirena the insertion was painful, but I felt better the next day. I just had my mirena removed yesterday, which was super quick and not as painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TinaE | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've seen so many negative reviews on here that psyched me out, I wanted to come on and give some reassurance. I had this IUD put in early this morning. I did not cramp during the insertaion and that was likely due to the Ibuprofen they told me to take 30 mins before. Since I'm ovulating and my walls are thick, I did feel the tiny jabs of the T prongs when the IUD was pushed out of its tube. That was short lived. I drive home immediately after with no problems at all! I haven't had any serious side effects yet which I was told, aside from bleeding, would mostly happen today. Mild cramps which were easily ignored. I've had worse period ones. Vertigo is a problem but I suspect it's bc my sinuses are bad too today with the cold front moving in. So a double whammy that makes standing up after sittingaying or bending over a bit tricky but it stops quickly too. I have high hopes for this an will post future updates! Don't let the negatuves scare you off! Most people only review when unhappy so of course you'll see a lot of bad feedback. I've noticed in the reviews too that if you've never had a baby, you're going to have problems. I had a son 3 yrs ago. I've also noticed more in the age bracket under 30 having trouble. So if you fall into these cafegories you may want to tey something else to avoid trouble. I'm told the Mirena is marketed to women who have had babies already. So likely why I noticed the common thread.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brink | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had the Mirena IUD twice - the first time was in 2013 before having children. I had it in x 1.5 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More