Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

59 People found this comment helpful

I'm writing this review to set the record straight. First of all, I'm a 20 year old college student who has never had a child before. My doctor and I made the decision to go with Mirena because of complications with the birth control pill OrthoTriCyclen Lo. After reading many negative reviews about Mirena- I was very hesitant to go through with getting it. I was so nervous I delayed getting ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I hate it! 17 months of a nightmare! Completely destroyed me physically and mentally!! Ruined my life!! Dont be fooled! At first you will be happy, and then find yourself like me!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/9/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using the Mirena IUD since March/22 ever since I’ve had it inserted I’ve worn a pad everyday, I bleed/spot nearly everyday, it gets tiring honestly. I’m worried it might misplaced or is this normal? I’ve never had it before so I don’t the outcome, ANSWERS PLEASE!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joanne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Insertion was very painful, it made me very light headed. A bit like like having a smear but the worst period pain you can think of but it only lasts a minute. The first 3 months my periods were so long that I bleed more than I didnt and I was very disheartened. I didn't however have any period pain what so ever which was amazing as I always get crippling pains and that's what kept me going. I kept telling myself each month just hang in one more month and I did and by the 3rd month my periods has disappeared I kept expecting it to arrive but it never did. I haven't bleed a drop since and it's been absolutely amazing. No periods, no pain. My advice is give it 3-6 months don't rush to get it removed it takes time for your body to adjust to it. It's not the same as the pill. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crystal | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second go around having more a, right now I'm in the process of trying to get appointment to have it removed. I had a horrible time trying to remember to take the pill, and ended up with a surprise second child so I decided mirena could help solve that. I've not had a period in years... I'm 41 about to be 42. There has been times when I had mood swings and was able to control my emotions. Unfortunately very recently and almost everyday it is getting WORSE! so badly it's effecting my personal life, my family and my job. I have had extreme depression,anger, anxiety and weight gain. I plan on having it taken out and going back to regular birth control within the next couple of weeks. I have a friend who went through the same thing, recently had theirs removed and it's made a huge difference. Something has to change because my poor husband can't live with me feeling like I do much longer and my extreme mood swings. I do not recommend this product to anyone, if you do get it I highly suggest short term (2 years or less) because I think from my experience the longer you are on it the more it alters your body making natural estrogen like it should therefore causing your whole body to be off balance. You have to do what's right for you but don't wait to long like I have because it will just get worse! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tankgirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered with endometriosis for 15 years, tried numerous birth control methods for relief to no avail. Most were detrimental to me hormonally. Mirena saved my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s been terrible for me. I was previously on birth control pills, which I loved, however I wanted to get away from added estrogen. My gynecologist and I discussed the Mirena IUD and all I heard was how much I would love it. The reality is, it really, really hurts to have it implanted (& I’m a half marathon runner.) I was not myself for a few days, but was relieved not to have to take a pill everyday. From there, I experienced severe depression, hot flashes and terrible acne. My healthcare provider asked me to “just give it some time”. 9 months later and the acne is still awful and I’m having the thing removed from my life. It’s so important to know all the pitfalls of this implant. It’s not a silver bullet and I certainly have not loved it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/26/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not use I know it gave me breast cancer !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stripes | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had this in near a full cycle now. Thought this really wouldn’t work out for me. As a teen I was given a harsh hormonal contraceptive pill and it caused horrid side effects, including severe mood swings and acne. Since, I’ve avoided anything hormonal but after suffering from very heavy periods (to the point where leaving the house would be difficult), my GP convinced me to have a Mirena in. I’m now 41 and haven’t had kids if this helps anyone. Honestly, I’ve had no massive issues with this myself although I do appreciate everyone is different and has their own experiences. I had a lot of anxiety beforehand, thinking that I was so sensitive to hormones as a result of my teenage experience with the pill. But the GP explained that the hormones with the Mirena are more ‘local’ rather than surging around your entire system/blood stream. The only side effects I have had are: Feeling a tiny bit emotional. Here and there. I can cope with that (as long as it isn’t low mood or intense anger - that’s fine with me). This is rather minor I.E I find I am more easily able to cry over silly things (such as a heartwarming news story). Being a music person, I have found it has improved the intensity of some of my fave songs lol. Today I was reading about how, if a goose leaves the flock and ‘V’ formation to land because they’re not well, how others in the flock will also land and stay with them until they’re better and I was ?????????? over this for a good 15 minutes when I wouldn’t have been previously ?? Headaches/migraines for the first two weeks which were quite severe. Easily managed by a couple of paracetamol. They’ve now gone thankfully. Nausea…I wasn’t expecting this. So, feeling rather queasy for the first couple of weeks after insert, which wasn’t pleasant but oftentimes solved by drinking some cold water. This was restricted to the stomach only (the rest of me wasn’t feeling ill, if you get me….it was almost like the feeling you have when you’re so hungry you feel sick but more intense). Big learning point was - don’t take a hot shower when you’re feeling nauseous like this - it doesn’t end well ?????? Bloating before my period was due…that surprised me because I don’t usually experience this. Quickly went away by day 2 of cycle. Cramping on day 1 of cycle. But this is minor in comparison to when I didn’t have the Mirena - but enough to feel uncomfortable still. This lasted for about half a day. My period came in as usual but it was so light (more like a brown discharge - sorry if that’s TMI). This has been an absolute game changer for me. On day 3 of my cycle where I am now, without the Mirena, I would have to change my tampon every 40 minutes to keep on top of it. I would also be confined to the house for 2/3 days because the period was so heavy, it was difficult to manage. Now my period is barely there, and if that remains then it’s improved my quality of life beyond measure. Previously, I couldn’t go out, couldn’t go walking, would have miss out on social events, would have to plan holidays and other things around my period. Looks as though I don’t have to worry about that now. No acne, no weight gain from what I can see although I am a tubster anyway tbh so if a few pounds has gone on, I probs wouldn’t notice ha ha. No mood swings or anger. Insertion was very quick. I felt a slight cramp as it went in but that was pain scale 2 out of 10. Brown discharge and some bloody spotting for a couple of days after - very easy to manage. The worst part of the insertion was the horrid device thing that goes in first to hold everything open. It never works for me because I’m tall and long inside ?? so there’s a lot of wriggling about and then having to take it out and start again with a longer one. I don’t know why I don’t say to the nurse when I have lady procedures done “you’ll need the longer one” - if this is you, perhaps you may like to consider just outright asking for it to reduce as much discomfort as poRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elle | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the IUD in for 48 hours before removing. I became extremely ill! I had server cramps, nausea, chills and brain fog. I would rather deal with cramps for a couple days a month, then to ever feel so poorly and physically helpless.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamara | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a Mirena placed in 2017 because my pre-menopausal periods were heavy and almost constant. The plan was to have this device placed to get me through pre- menopause and into menopause. I had already had a tubal ligation so this was just symptom relief. For the first 6 months I experienced very light periods and some lightly tinged with blood discharge between periods. I did have light periods for about two years with no regularity. After that I stopped menstruating at all and enjoyed about 3 years period free. This device did exactly what I needed it to to get me through peri-menopause. I had it removed today because my bloodwork shows I am menopausal and should no longer menstruate. I really hope that is true because I have really enjoyed being period free. I highly recommend this product to anyone experiencing severe discomfort and heavy bleeding from periods during a pre-menopausal time. I am not just a patient I am also a registered nurse and want to strongly endorse mirena as an option for women experiencing excessive bleeding on their journey to menopause. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shantell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got the mirena put in a couple days ago because all my friends said they love the IUD. I have been taking Yaz birth control pill for 10+ years to help with hormone control. My experience with getting the IUD was not extremely painful and I have not had children. I was told to take ibuprofen and eat a big breakfast before going. Also I was on the second day of my period. I did have cramping but once it was in place the pain was gone. I drove myself home and even worked that same day. I walked slow and bending over was uncomfortable but manageable. The bleeding is light but I need a pad 24/7 because I was told no menstrual cup and no tampon for 30 days. I am hoping to be one of the lucky ones to get no period but I am in that waiting zone right now. I have been told irregular is normal for 3 months. My doctor recommended mirena even though I haven't had children and in my experience, right now, it's worth itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rimaa | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello Im on mirena since 3 days . First day i had a very bad cramps but its gone the second day I had some light discharge the first two days , now there’s nothing I was very bloating before mirena and its gone now The procedure was very easy i felt nothing my doc was very gentle & explain every detail for me. I hope my period will be lighter than before hopefully because i have a very very heavy bleeding during my period I will know the next month

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected]?! | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/2/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this in for 11 months. The placement wasn't painful for me, unlike many women. However I experienced unfavorable changes in clitoral sensation after several months. Also I gained 33lbs in that time according to the doctors scale, even while dieting. After it was removed i was able to lose the weight with diet alone and have not gone back up to that weight in a few years since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hansley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/29/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well but side effects were too much. I got the Mirena inserted October 2017. My period never stopped, but it was lighter and shorter (4-5 days compared to 7 pre-insertion). I experienced bacterial vaginosis that would be treated then would return. My hair started to thin towards the end of the 1st year on it. I assumed it was because of my diet, but nothing changed after changes and seeing my doctor and nutritionist for 6 months. I developed hypertension 3 months after insertion. I attributed it to a poor diet and high stress job. Once I got a new job and started working out 5 days a week in 2019, my blood pressure was still high. I finally had the IUD removed July 2020. My blood pressure has gone down, but it is nowhere near the 110-115/70 that I typically would have pre-insertion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi there! I'm 28 and this is my experience getting the Mirena IUD. Just like a lot of people have already said, everyone’s experiences are different. My advice for those who are worried about getting the IUD, don't let fear or someone else's experience stop you from doing something that could turn out perfectly fine :) INSERTION - The insertion process was a MILLION times better than I expected. I had heard someone describe it online as getting your cervix “hole punched”…so naturally I was nervous lol but for reference, I think if you’ve gotten a tattoo(I haven’t) this is probably a lot less painful. I attribute the smooth insertion process to my GYN. She made me feel super comfortable and she's a great listener. I would 100% recommend you to try(if you have the option to) to find a doctor that makes you feel comfortable. She talked me through the entire process and before I knew it it was over. I took 800mg of advil before going as instructed and I drank a lot of water and ate a filling breakfast, which I think helped. *note* I was on the 2nd day of my period when I got the IUD inserted. POST INSERTION - Immediately after, I felt completely fine. The cramping from the procedure went away relatively fast. I didn’t feel light-headed or dizzy. My boyfriend drove me, but I would have been 100% fine to drive myself to and from. Later that evening and in the next few days, I did experience some cramping. It was the worst the night of the insertion. I took Advil and used a heating pad and was fine. I got it put in on a Thursday morning and worked from home that afternoon and that Friday. Overall, the pain was manageable and short lived. Sunday night though I did wake up with really sharp pains in my front right hip, sort of near my hip flexor and in my lower right back/butt area that almost brought me to tears. I do struggle with sciatic pain and my GYN believes the nerve may have been a little irritated and was probably still getting used to the IUD being in my cervix. I’m at week 5 now of having the IUD and the pain has since gone away for the most part. Taking advil has helped a lot and I’m hoping over time this will go away entirely. PERIOD REGULARITY - I got the IUD on the second day of my period. My period is typically 5 days and spotting on the 6th. After the insertion, it lasted for about 4 days and I had spotting for a remaining 5 days. I was blood free for about 10 days but sadly started spotting from that point on and that lasted for about a week. Prior to the IUD I had absolutely zero breakthrough spotting and my period was very regular, so this is something I’m still getting used to. After a week of spotting I got what I believe to be my actual period (bright red blood w/ clots) and that lasted for about 6 days. It was a pretty light/medium flow. I’m on day 7 of my cycle now and I’m having light spotting. Overall, I’d say it’s manageable and even if this lasts for a few months, it wouldn't be a reason for me to get it removed. MOOD/EMOTIONS - I’ve had no changes to my mood/emotions, which is a relief. Not to discredit reviews that claim otherwise, but you have to remember that the IUD is an easy target to blame when it could have little to no correlation. Just something to keep in mind. Also just a note that I’ve struggled with anxiety and mild depression in the past, which I mentioned to my GYN prior to getting the IUD, and she stated that mood changes are rare but if they do occur it's typically with 2-4 weeks after getting the IUD. So you should know pretty early on if you’re experiencing that and you’ll be able to talk to your doctor on ways to manage that or to have the IUD removed. SKIN/ACNE - I haven't seen any changes to my skin! I struggled with cystic acne for years through college and years after. In January 2020 I started taking a hormonal support vitamin(Borrage w/ Saffron via Persona Vitamins) which completely cleared up my acne. SEX DRIVE - I've seen no change to this either :) WEIGHTRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tb | 19-24 | Other | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The best choice I've ever made in regards to managing my heavy periods and menopause. I highly recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the merina coil in.wednesday so I've only.had it in for 2 days but feel really uncomfortable I'm not sure weather this is normal or not but I've not stopped bleeding yet I had it put in.whilst I was in theatre Wednesday I'm just going to give it chance to see if it works or not

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lena | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/2/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am here to give some positivity on the Mirena! This is my second IUD (I had kyleena first) and my procedure pain was absolutely tolerable. 30 seconds of discomfort for 5 years of fool proof coverage? You can do it girl. I wasted my time with pills and shots. This is a very low maintenance option with the highest effectiveness. I do recommend staying on top of your checkups to ensure the placement is correct. Other than that, Listen to YOUR body and try it out! ***I will say if you’ve never had one before and this is your first time expect a 3-6mo adjustment period of random pain and bleeding. It did not fully become predictable until 1 year FOR ME you may take differently****Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pien | Nonbinary | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive had mirena now for 5 years. placement was painfull, had cramps for about 3 months on and of but after that 10/10 until now. i need to get it taken out because im not sure if im feeling bad because of it or because of myself. it wil be 5 years in march. I'm thinking of taking a copper one... dont know what i think of getting my period back... so chill not to bleed buckets like i used to :'-)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eemiia | Nonbinary | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/29/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5 years of bliss. No mood swings no periods. Until it hit 5 years and expired. I then spiraled into what I can only describe as a suicidal mission. Had a new one fit out of desperation and back to my stable self. Not sure what will happen if I need to remove it to start a family. An unfortunate side effect that doesn't seem to be acknowledged

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brianna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So the doctor finally convinced me to get the IUD. The insertion wasn’t pleasant and as I was walking to my car I felt a gush of liquid. I didn’t think much of it but I’m also breastfeeding and have been dry so I was confused. At first I thought it was just going to be discharge but no I bled completely through my underwear. When I asked the doctor prior about side effects she never mentioned heavy bleeding or the cramps or migraines. I’m going on two weeks of heavy periods, cramps and migraines. I wish I never had this put in. I can’t say the effectiveness cause I never had the chance to have sex with all this heavy bleeding and honestly doesn’t even make me feel in the mood so based on that - I guess the thing it’s effective at is making you stay away from sex. I am not sure if I am going to keep this in or not. The doctors keep trying to say to wait 3 months but if the bleeding is gonna be this constant and this heavy, I’m taking it out before that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More