Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

64 People found this comment helpful

I recommend the cherry flavor since the mint is chalky tasting. personally, i find that a larger dose is more predictable as to when you can expect it to work-about 2 to 3 hours for me. the downside is frequently going to the bathroom for a few hours once it begins. it's very gentle,no cramps and is strong. it's my first choice.

Most voted negative review

30 People found this comment helpful

haven't taken yet was looking for the active ingredient. NOT LISTED.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ray | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from IBS it runs in my family and it’s sometimes hard for me to go. I recently had surgery and was constipated even before the surgery so afterwards it was even worse. I had pebble poop and it was so hard to pass. I always heard about milk of magnesia so I decided to try. The first day I only drunk 15ml because I took another laxative that didn’t work so I didn’t want to overdue it just in case they both activated at the same time. The second time I tried it I drunk 45ml and In about an hour I was able to go with no pain or anything. I’m happy for this product because before that I had to use an enema and that was no easy task at all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been significantly constipated several times in my life. When that happens, I take Milk of Magnesia. The drug worked reliable (the next day) every time except once. When it did not work right away, I took another full dose the next day. It still did not work. I then took an enema. Between the enema and the Milk of Magnesia, I spent the whole night going.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Celine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2022
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent for constipation Nothing works for me - only MOM

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/18/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would literally die if not for Milk Of Magnesia I am 63 female I’ve all my life been on the slow side, as far as movements go?? I have went through three bowel cleanouts for procedures. Of all the crap doctors say to take, I will next time trust MOM. Now those clean out sessions caused me other problems to the point that my colon is blocked Once again MOM to my rescue. My uterus seems to have shifted causing this problem. Anyway I’m just saying; I give MOM a 10!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took a while to work but my doc said 30 ml every 8 hours and it did work. Taste is wretched but I am very thankful for this product. I was nervous about using it but it was generally gentle for a very difficult problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Friend777 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2020
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works but can take time. I also want WebMD to know people cant and wont go to the doctor based on your suggestions due to negatives effects like diarrhea. It's just impossible for most people to go to the doctor for all the symptoms suggested

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heckvo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2020
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took MoM every night for a month. Made life normal again, didnt have diarrhea. After a month I skipped a few days, thinking, I shouldn't live on this stuff. I got blocked up like the LIE on a pre-pandemic weeknight. Back to every night - but I will try to tune it a little --

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
workitlove_ | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2019
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had surgery 4 days ago and have been on pain medicine every 4 hours which causes constipation. i was worried when the constipation made my stomach hurt badly and made it big and hard. its been 5 days since I last moved my bowels and no bought thus this morning and within 3 hours i had my bowels moving no cramps no straining no lightheadedness or nausea like other laxatives cause. i know everyone reacts differently to meds but I ate a lot of food had a lot of pain medicine and little water and this product was still very gentle on my stomach body and bowels and relieved the constipation without causing me discomfort. You just need to make sure when the urge finally comes to go just make sure you go and everything works out comfortably no diarrhea no pain and no straining.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took at 9 am hoping to move bowels the same day, after days of horrible constipation and bloating. MoM claims it works within 6 hours, but nothing happened. I took another dose at bedtime, still without any movement. The following morning I have awful diarrhea. It's so bad it gave me an anal fissure and I've been taking Imodium and putting on lidocaine to ease the pain. Ridiculous to go from one extreme to the other. Yes I should not have taken a second dose, but thought it would be fine since it did not work at all after 14 hours, and supposedly you can take this daily. I thought this would just quicken transit time, but no, it stayed it my gut, mushed everything to liquid, and gave me the worst diarrhea ever. Never taking again! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2016
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The action of this medication can be somewhat spectacular so for the first time you take it and until you have a good idea of how it will affect you, plan things so that you will have immediate access to a bathroom for the next six hours give or take. It can seem like nothing at all is happening and then suddenly you need to go *RIGHT NOW* and it may feel as if the entire contents of your bowels empty out in one long mad rush. For others the action is much more gentle and patient is left wondering what all the fuss is about? I do know that the next time I have a need to buy it I will look for a flavored formulation because the one I bought tasted like liquid cardboard. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lia | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken everything you can think of to have a bowel movement with no success. Fiber, chia, teas, senokot, etc.but everything made me feel worse and in terrible pain. It wasn't till i remembered my mom used to give me milk of magnesia every summer that i tried it. It worked like magic, with no pain whatsoever and the feeling of actually emptying was amazing! Never felt better! I totally recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tealblue | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been rather severely backed up for some time, and I'm still using this, but so far it's very effective. I took a half dose, then another half dose an hour later, drinking 2 cups of water per as opposed to one due to my chronic dehydration. It worked like magic. The bottle says it takes from 30 minutes to 6 hours to produce a bowel movement, and sure enough, 5 hours 45 minutes later it took full effect. I skipped the dose for a day, then took another one in the same manner today, and it's worked even better. I'm very pleased with this treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Caregiver
12/11/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

haven't taken yet was looking for the active ingredient. NOT LISTED.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just had knee replacement surgery and I am on a lot of pain medication. That medication has led to constipation. I will at least four days at a time without a bowel movement. This medicine takes care of that within two hours. Just be sure you have plenty of time to be around the toilet before you take this because you're going to need that time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mikeningrid | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tastes horrible works fine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does what it says. I generally don't like taking 4 tablespoons at one time, though. Seems to work TOO well if you take the full dose. I usually take 2-3 tablespoons, and that gets the job done. As for the person who took 4 tablespoons at 6p, and 4 more tablespoons at 11a, you're not supposed to take more than 4 tablespoons in a 24 hour period. That might have been your problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emma | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took MOM for the first time two nights ago (4 Tablespoons worth) around 6pm. Then the next day, I took 4 more Tablespoons worth around 11am and was in complete misery. I think part of it was my period started that same day as well. So, I was just cramping like crazy :( But, it worked and ended up getting a lot out. I would recommend this for anyone who is blocked up. But, afterwards and during, drink tons of water!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DCMomma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works but I wish it worked faster.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relief! | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the laxative around 3:30. I've never taken this medicine before, and I didn't know what to expect. An hour later, I had a lot of gas and then had my first, huge bowel movement. I had no idea I was so backed up. Since then, I have had diarrhea every half an hour. No cramps. Just cleans me out!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lindenano | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2015
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This treatment is easy to take and very effective. It has been on the market decades and has a proven track record. It is also less expensive than other treatments on the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More