Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

This drug has done wonders for my heavy "flooding" periods. My bleeding has decreased by 50%. I have noticed my period lasts a day or 2 longer, but it is lite bleeding. I do recommend taking this. My alternative would be surgery and I really do not want to do that. My sister had a hysterectomy. That was prior to the FDA approval. I am grateful.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

This pill does help minimize heavy bleeding. I use to have severe clotting during my cycles and when I take the pills it has lessened some. This is just my second menstrual cycle taking the pill (I am 49). However, this time, I did notice the chest pains others have mentioned. It is not severe, but I have never had it before taking this pill. Also, both months, I did not take the pill as directed....

Shared reviews and ratings

Juliet | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only take 2 mills the first had no side effects after the second i woke in the middle of the night feeling like i was going to die. Very hard to breath and chest tightness as well as panic attacks so will not continue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P.Evans | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 43 yrs old and I have suffered from very heavy periods since I was 13. Using Tampons and pads together barely got me through 1 hour for the first 2-3 days. It wasn’t until I became anemic that my Dr. & Gyro decided to offer this medication along with Iron. I have only taken it for one menstrual cycle and it has been a game changer! I take 2 pills three times a day and my period pretty much stopped. I tend to absorb medication a lot more than the average person so I think next time I will take 1 pill per dose and see if that still helps as I may not need 2. I understand the side effects of this medication but I am disappointed that I suffered so long without being provided this option. It wasn’t until my blood work was bad enough to offer this help. I tried an IUD before and that was a terrible experience so I had to have it removed 3 months later. I highly recommend this medication to ease the suffering! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have endometriosis stage 4, struggle with heavy and very painful periods. Was given this by gynae and it has changed my life. I didn’t want hysterectomy at 33 so this has meant I can have a “normal” period. I have to start it as soon as I feel it coming to have the best effect and it doesn’t make them go on longer by another couple of days, 7 instead of 5, but I can manage work and life where as I couldn’t without this medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarina | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First month taking this medication. 45 years old female with history of very heavy and painful periods. 650/ 3 times per day for three days during period. Within the first day, significant decrease in bleeding and clots. Only adverse effect was minor headaches. Again, first month trying it, but definitely will do it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brandi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works to lighten periods but every time I take it my face breaks out with cystic acne and I end up spotting for a couple of weeks rather than my normal 5 days of heavy bleeding. I haven’t read that cystic acne is a side effect but I swear every time I take it a week later I break out which I never did before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 25-34 | Female | Patient
3/1/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from pcos/endometriosis. My periods are awful! I usually have to wear depends along with an ultra sized tampon while going to bed. I have to put on a mattress cover along with some extra blankets to ensure that I won’t damage my sheets. This pill has been amazing for myself personally! It slows my period down enough that I’m not having to change my tampon/pad every 25-30 mins . My period got so bad that it could last for weeks with non-stop bleeding. I would recommend this drug to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had very heavy periods since 40ish. Used to soak thru Ultra tampon/pad every hour or so for about 24hours every period. No doctor recommended this drug till I moved to Europe where it seems to be common. It's a life saver. I take 2x every 6 hours for good control (soak thru every 3hrs at heaviest flow) for about 2 days. Only downside is if wait longer than 6hrs for next dose, heavy bleeding return with a vengeance. Also sometimes it may make you feel groggy, not completely focused. Cost: about US$30 per box of 30.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Misty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems to work however if I only take 1 pill I didn’t have any issues.Dr wanted me to take 2 pills 3 XS day how ever I did this one time and had rapid heart beat dizziness and felt out of sorts scared to take it again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kylie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So November of 2020 I had a procedure done to biopsy for endometriosis. It’s normal to bleed heavy for a couple days afterwards, I was bleeding so much I couldn’t keep up, 2-4 pads an hour.. Anyway they prescribed me tranexamic and it was incredibly helpful! Now one year later I’m having a very heavy period for now 26 days. Obviously not a great feeling, I’m very weak. I requested a refill of this prescription since it worked so well last year. The only thing I wish is for a smaller pill or even a shot ! I can’t take pills well and I have to take 6 of these a day for 5 days ! I’m doing it cause it’s better than bleeding but it would be so great to have an alternative for people who have trouble taking pills. Overall it’s great and I just started it today and have already seen a difference. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bridget | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/27/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibroids and my periods cause my anemia. So far I have seen a decrease in the amount of time I have had my periods since taking it, as well as the menstrual pain and swelling that occurs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relz | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from menorrhagia most of my life this is the first time using it and I must say it was definitely worth it. I'm usually bedbound on my first two days using incontinence pads and this is the first time I've been able to enjoy life whilst on my cycle without worrying about leakage! Reduced by 50% + ... very grateful!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SW | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this as-needed for a heavy period (not as heavy as some in the other reviews, but heavy enough for my Gyn to recommend it). I have never noticed a single side-effect. I only use it when my pd is really heavy. I found it surprising to read ibuprofen among the list of potential drug interactions,as I was specifically recommended by both my Gyn and my pharmacists to take it together with ibuprofen because they interact positively. *shrug*. I do notice a decrease in my bleeding and some in my cramps. It is not a huge dramatic difference but it is a noticeable difference that makes my heavy days much more manageable. I had originally been recommended birth control to help with my period, but decided against it because I didn't like what I had learned about risks and side effects, and if I were to find a man and become active with him I'd have to stop taking it anyway. But the tranexamic acid is not hormonal at all and doesn't impact fertility and I LOVE that. I was so surprised and relieved to learn from my Gyn there was a non-BC option to help with this. I wish I knew why every other doctor I had asked about my period jumped straight to recommending BC to me and no one ever mentioned this until I was in my late 30s. My sister also has heavy periods (way worse than mine) and was never recommended tranexamic acid until she asked about it at my suggestion. Once she did, they agreed it might help, it wasn't like they thought she had particular risk factors or something. With her too, they just pushed BC (which she couldn't take) and she's planning a hysterectomy. Do family doctors just not get taught about this stuff??? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

44 yr old black female w/ severe anemia and recent development of a fibroid. For the first 3 days of my peri0d, I can easily bleed through a heavy flow tampon AND pad every 2 hrs. I was prescribed this drug in conjunction with iron transfusions. My peri0d went from torrential downpour to light trickle after 2 days (5pills). My only side effect was a slight headache, which alleviated with Gatorade. This was my first time taking them, and I will continue to use these VERY EXPENSIVE pills ($100 for 30, which is NOT covered by ODSP) until they cease to work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had very heavy period bleeding since May 2020 and my gynecologist prescribed me this as a last resort, trying other options first, and I have had no issues taking this drug. It works very quickly, about 4 hours after first taking it, and I’ve had no issues with side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PJ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a great use for melasma. while very few derms in the US prescribe this for melasma it is used in Europe and other countries to tackle this pesky skin condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cel | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed to use the pill for heavy periods however for the first time I took it,I felt bad waking up in the middle of the night with excruciating sharp pain in my abdomen.Thought I will call 911 emergency if the pain did not subside.It made me feel worse and I found out the many side effects of this pill.The pill can help slow down the bleeding but it is very dangerous because of its serious harmful side effects.I stop taking it.I rather have heavy periods than suffering from harmful effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TR | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/4/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A complete GAME CHANGER!!!! I am 52 and have had heavy cycles my whole life but the last couple of years have been horrendous. Became anemic and sleep with pads on my bed as heavy duty pads couldn't always contain the sudden gush. I have had no issues at all and my period time frame has lessened as well as the flow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/28/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This helped lessen my flow by at least 50%, however, the side effects were not worth it. I felt very dizzy and "out of it".

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carol | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill does help minimize heavy bleeding. I use to have severe clotting during my cycles and when I take the pills it has lessened some. This is just my second menstrual cycle taking the pill (I am 49). However, this time, I did notice the chest pains others have mentioned. It is not severe, but I have never had it before taking this pill. Also, both months, I did not take the pill as directed. I took maybe once or twice a day, not 3 xs and I didnt take for 5 days straight. The meds cost me $100 for 30 tablets that you take 3. xs a day, 5 days a week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More