Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

A lot of other websites talk about how "dangerous" this drug is, due to the possibility of blood clots. If any of them actually asked their doctors about it, they would have been told, ANY BIRTH CONTROL, has the potential of giving blood clots, not one is more dangerous than another. I absolutley loved Ortho Evra. My breast grew a cup size, i was eating less, beautiful skin, shorter period, I cant...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I was taking the pacth for 5 weeks... It was a nightmare.... I healthy young female.. thr problemes of the patch did not occure until the 4th and 5th week of placing this transdemal highly hormone pathc on my skin.. I exprenice nausae which toleabrea with home remides to help errdicate such sickness to the stomach.. Then of the sudden within the time frame noted above both of my ankles severly swo...

Shared reviews and ratings

Shans | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put onto the patch to regulate my period. After a year, I was still exceptionally happy. Now over 2 years my skin is reacting so blady to the plaster. It's practically bruising me. I'm thinking if perhaps something was changed as I never experienced this before. I have decided to stop using it and see what happens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
6/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Protected me from pregnancy with no effects near as bad as the pill. Only side effect is dramatic changes in my sec drive: extremely high for a month or so to extremely low. I also got bigger breasts. Half a cup size To a cup size bigger. For first three months I was slightly more sensitive emotionally than I was without it - however it was very mild and I got used to it very quickly. Overall much better for my mental health, and my bad stomach than the pill was

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Des089 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/31/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the patch for 3 years and I loved it! It was easy for me to use and the only side effect I had was breast soreness. Well on my third year being on the patch id have 2 month long periods. Cramping in my lower back and legs before I started. Horrible cramps that not even Ibuprofen helped. But I never gained weight or anything. If this patch did keep me on my period for 2 months and cause horrible cramping/abdominal pain I would most definitely still be on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sara joness | 25-34 | Female |
1/5/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

How does the birth control patch paintings?. The patch incorporates a mixture of progesterone and estrogen, which are hormones with a function in controlling ovulation. This pregnancy control technique virtually prevents the discharge of an egg from the ovary, and without ovulation, there's no opportunity to get pregnant.https://youtu.be/iKgZn6ZBEPE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simone | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pill made me so nauseas. The patch is fine. I spot end of week two for two or three days. Period is somewhat lighter. Alcohol swabbing the area (upper thigh for me) letting it dry and applying straight after helps keep the patch on. My skin does react so I change thighs and areas each week. Skin has always gone back to normal after a few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nita | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/22/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi.Since using Evra patch I could not be happier. Firstly, I always had an irregular period and my flow was very bad to a point where I wore 9 pads per day, meaning 3 pads at a time. The menstrual pain was to a point I could not walk and I have a ful 7 day cycle. I never knew when my next cycle would be. Sometimes id skip 5 months or so. After going to my gynae she put me on my first ever contraceptive called Minese. It made me so sick I had migraine everyday and was nausea all the time. I then went to my GP and he recommended Evra patch which works through the skin. I have never been so happy to get my period. I now only use one pad everytime i change, No migrain, no nausea, no mood swings, no weight gain and my skin looks better than ever. I have very light cramps when its time for my period and my flow is 10 times less than it was. Call me crazy but its a pleasure to have my menstrual cycle and knowing when it will arrive. I could have not asked for a better contraceptive to regulate my period. Also, its such a pleasure even when it comes to being intimate with my partner. We have no worries seeing that we dont want kids yet, I trust evra. following the instructions are simple from when its safe to when we should wait to be intimate when first applying the patch. I am a Happy Evra user. Good-bye irregular cycle,cramps,pain, heavy flow and miserable period.. Hellow to a happy me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shay | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/4/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this patch because I was having trouble remembering my pill. I have been on many different types of birth control for my issues with mild acne. When I was on the BC my acne stayed gone like it had with the pill and it was actually clearer (I actually had a glow like I never got on pills), my breast increased in size quite a bit, I never got pregnant on this BC, and I was overall very happy with the physical appearance I got from this patch, however, I experienced extreme mood swings. I'm not talking slight outburst and bits of anger, I was angry or sad all the time. The smallest of things would set me off in a big way and I would dwell on it for days. This BC seriously affected the relationship I was in at the time. This was around the time the domestic violence started when I have NEVER been so violent in my life, not prior to this BC nor after getting off it. This patch does what it's supposed to do, but the mood swings were just not worth the high self-esteem and childless lifestyle. It's one thing to hate the way you look, it's another to hate yourself. I would not recommend this to anyone, ever. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
af456 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone is different, important to keep in mind! But i had severe nausea with the patch. Cystic acne after 4 months, my face just blew up! However--dramatic increase in breast size-like almost 2 cups and I am normally an A

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anni | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 17 years old, I have been on the patch since fall 2013 and I love it! I decided to get on birth control because my periods were really irregular. I originally tried the pill but I would wake up in the middle of the night dry-heaving so I tried the patch. It's easy to use and the side effects have mostly been positive! My breasts have gotten bigger, my periods are 5 days when they used to be at least a week. I only got nausea once because I changed my patch a day late and it messed up my cycle. I have also been a lot moodier. I can't say how effective it is for birth control because I'm not using it for that. My doctor also told me that, if I have sex, I should still use a condom since it's hard to tell if the patch is effective or not. And, of course, there is the increased risk of blood clots compared to other birth control. I would recommend talking with your doctor about it before trying it. But so far this has worked great for me! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Miserable first two months, nausea, bloated,and swollen breasts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chukerie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Headache, Nausea, Diarrhea w/bad cramps, Chills, sweats, light headedness, and crying about everything. I thought I had something very seriously wrong medically with me but turned out this patch made me crazy and feel like I was dying at times. Most miserable 6 weeks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katreyn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Endometriosis, and no normal pill works for me in stopping my period entirely. So my doctor opted to try this instead, higher dose, etc. But not even two days in and was violenty ill (vomiting & diarrhea) and chronic nausea. Took it off, week later and still stomach issues remain. Pretty much I always took BC pills after dinner, so I had food in my stomach. The patch doesn't allow that so you can't protect your stomach. I already have IBS and a very sensitive stomach. So this was definitely not for me. D:Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on ortho evera for 2weeks, and I'm 17 so I know some of you may not bother with reading this. Okay so, I was first on the shot I hated it because of the needle and the reviews, and mood swings and lets not forget extra low sex drive. I know it hasn't been long but since I've been on the patch my sex drive is through the roof and I have no mood swings. Only thing I've delt with is sore and enlarging Breast, and sore legs. Other than it's amazing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anneboy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was completely new to birth control and did not want to be on a pill due to stories I've heard. The patch is amazing! I have had no side effects, easy to use, get to keep regular period, and convenient. I wear my patch on my shoulder blade seems to be best spot where it doesn't rub clothes and people don't notice it which is nice. Only have to worry about it once a week. Have been taking it for about 8 months now and no baby and very happy. It is on the more expensive side compared to some pills but I feel it's worth it. Highly recommend. Especially if you're new to birth control like I was because it's so easy to follow.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
devastated | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
10/31/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please DO NO USE THIS DRUG. I lost my 21-year-old niece on 8/28/13 from a blood clot because of this drug. Please, please, please research extensively before using any birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PreggarsWhileOnOrtho | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/13/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on the Orth Evra Patch for 3 years and I became pregnant TWICE in one year. The patch does not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amillion | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking the pacth for 5 weeks... It was a nightmare.... I healthy young female.. thr problemes of the patch did not occure until the 4th and 5th week of placing this transdemal highly hormone pathc on my skin.. I exprenice nausae which toleabrea with home remides to help errdicate such sickness to the stomach.. Then of the sudden within the time frame noted above both of my ankles severly swollem I had cramps my left wrist, aching in my left arm, and aches in ankles exspecailly at night time.. I dont have arthitis but with pain that I was ecperincing I thought I did.. I had been on the pacth before ( age 22).. no eeftct of swollen then.. The doctor taken my blood pressure which was actually a liitle low, but nothing conccering.. I was presribe a Diuretic for 2 wks only to tkae the fluid from around both ankles.. I haad a vasular scan 7-3-2013 and the read was no blood clots.. That was a reliver but my ankle stile was swollen.. I nevere expreniced this even when bearing my child.. My blodd pressure has been normal.. I have removed patch and will never take again.. Hopefully all the hormones from my patch will beome non existence soo.. I am highly upset that mankles beenn swollen for almost 1 month..... Doctor said that Duirectic pill was for short term usuage since I don o have high blood pressure..She has since then suggested ted hose stocking/socks and continue to prop my feet.. This side eefct has scared me, costed me hospitals bills, and has emotional left me unfocused... I DID NOT SUGGEST THE PATCH.. 605 HORMONES CAN CAUSE SWOLLEN ANKLES AND FEET, JOINT PAIN BLOOD CLOTS, STROKES AND EVEN DEATH.. LESSON LEARNED FOR ME.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
highschoolkid | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've been on the patch for 5 weeks and so far my symptoms have been : tender breasts, mood swings, and vomiting, and decrease in appetite. most of these things went away after just a few days so they weren't too annoying. i havent had any sex since being on it so i dont know how effective it really is, but my symptoms say that it must be working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/30/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on many types of birth control and the patch has by far been the best for me! I started with the pill to lessen cramps, forgot too often, tried nuva ring could not get the thing in properly, and would end up coming out, was on depo for a year bleeding the entire time and weighing barely a hundred pounds, then I switched to the patch and have never had an issue! Once i found a spot where to place it flat so that it wouldn't bend too much, it has never fallen off! I rotate from two sides of my back every week. Now I maintain a healthy weight, no acne ever, periods very consistent to the point I know exactly when it will start and when it will stop. Yes, the patch can itch but I find it only itches a few hours after I put it on and then it subsides, the only downside is the sticky residue left from rotating sides, but I can ignore this being on my back and slowly washes away in the shower. Only mood swings i have is when i'm on my period. Overall, my cramps have lessened, my period is consistent, and it protects me from being pregnant! I only have to change it once a week, does not cause horrible side effects, or irregular bleeding, it does its job! I am very thankful for finding the patch, wish I could opt for something longer lasting but without the combined hormones im not sure i would react well to the implant, or iud. the patch is just perfect for me, although everyone is different!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/29/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to use the patch because OK do not suit anymore my body (between bleedings:( ) Its a horrible thing! Not comfortable at all! Leaves sticky signs around the patch and therefore sticks to the clothes! If you put it on your ass, you cant put a skinny dress, it will be visible. if you wear panties or skinny jeans it sticks to it! Under belly skin is too sensitive to paste it, my skin was red and itching. And on the back it sticks to pygama or even to the bra:( and its visible when you wear sport clothes in the gym. Also, if you love taking a warm bath, take care, because the patch will come off in 5 min without even touching - so forget bathing:( How horrible should it then be then at the beach? Also i got some pimples on my face, however, this depends from person to person. I wouldn't recommend to use the patch. Anyway, patch didn't solve my problem either. Therefore my next try is the Ring:SRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More