Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

67 People found this comment helpful

I started taking Lipitor about 5 years ago. It lowered my cholesterol from 260 to 156. I don't eat any red meat or pork, occasionally have chicken. This is primarily a genetic issue not diet/nutrition. I usually eat mediterranean-type food (veggies & pasta) and am 5' 9", weigh 162lbs. Both my father & grandfather had high cholesterol. I was not aware of any side effects but started experiencin...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ltb31057 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never felt as awful as any drug as I did with this medication. Within a week, I was having leg cramps that kept me up at night, diarrhea, nausea without vomiting, loss of appetite, chills, sweating and just a general feeling of malaise. I read that it takes 3 whole days to get out of your system, this is going on day two and I still feel like crap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NO-LIPITOR | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THEY NEED TO HAVE AFEW MORE QUESTIONS ABOVE TO EFFECTIVELY ANSWER. I HAVE THE SAME MUSCLE CRAMPING AND SORENESS AND HAND FEET ISSUES AS MOST OF YOU! *** PEOPLE NEED TO REALIZE DOCTORS AND PHARMACIES GET LOTS OF SPIFFS AND BONUSES TO PUSH MEDICATIONS/BRANDS ON THEIR CLIENTS! IT'S NOT ABOUT CURING ANYONE, IT'S ABOUT DRAGGING YOUR ISSUES OUT AND CREATE MORE ISSUES SO THEY SELL YOU MORE OF THESE CRAP MEDICATIONS!! MY LATE WIFE SHOWED ME BOXES AND BOXES OF GIFTS FOR HOSPITAL EMPLOYEES TO WEAR THE PINS OF THE BRANDS OF MEDICATIONS WE ARE TAKING! AND THOSE WERE THE TINY GIFTS! EVER NOTICE YOUR DOCTOR KINDA IGNORE YOUR COMPLAINTS AND HINT AT UPPING YOUR MEDICATION OR MAYBE LETS TRY ADDING ANOTHER FOR THE PAIN? HOW ABOUT WE GET ANOTHER XRAY TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE OK? WARM COMPRESSES, LOTION OR OINTMENT RUBS.....? WELL I'M QUITTING TAKING THIS MEDICATION AND HAVE BEEN WORKING ON STUDYING HEALTHIER AND NATURAL ALTERNATIVES AND INCORPORATING FITNESS AND PRAY I CAN TURN THIS INSANE CYCLE AROUND!! FOLKS PLEASE STUDY KETO OR OTHER HEALTHY ALTERNATIVES DARK GREEN VEGGIES, FISH (SMALLER THE BETTER FOR LESS MERCURY), GET 2ND OPINIONS ON EVERYTHING YOU DO, RESEARCH ON UTUBE OR THE WEB! REMEMBER PHARMACIES SPONSOR THIS SITE!! "IN GOD WE TRUST, NOT MAN, NOT GOVERNMENT"Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
llb | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my total cholesterol from 278 to 160 in a couple of months, with virtually no side effects. Only 20mg dose, lowered LDL from 203 to 93.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wheels | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just starting taking this drug at bedtime three nights ago and I cannot sleep, and my asthma gets worse and my muscles feel weird, uncomfortable. I'm tired and normally go to bed around 11 pm after the news. I take my pills and a few minutes later I'm wide awake when I finally fall asleep around 5 or six am then have weird dreams. I have fibromyalgia so my muscles normally hurt but this is different. My husband is very active, he has been taking this medication for some time and he has foot numbness and we weren't sure why he is suddenly 'awake' after going to bed. I would not recommend this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/30/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Increased muscle aches, headaches, weakness in my limbs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickey | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/6/2020
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every muscle hurts and bones hurt. Keep telling Doctors about side effects but to no avail. Had to stop taking it myself.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GaGa Nana | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug just about killed my husband 15 yrs ago. First he got week, sore muscles, like he was getting the flu. Within 3 days, he could barely walk. He had been taking this for awhile. We went to various docs and hospitals, but no one could figure out what was wrong with him. Quit taking this drug and much of his problems cleared up. Recently, Dr wanted me to try it. I've given it about 3 months now. Suddenly my hair is falling out, I have no strength and am tired, and my muscles hurt like I'm getting the flu. Stopping immediately. I highly recommend you do not take this drug. You usually don't experience the side effects initially, they come in later, after you are no longer thinking about this being a possible cause.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rj | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/22/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lipitor for almost a year now and it has made me to where it hurts to walk or stand i have no grip left in my hands no muscle strength left i can touch my skin to something and it just rips open i can not raise my arm up past my chest and all of my bones hurt me at all times

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hickory | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/4/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here i thought i was getting dementia, loss of memory has been driving me nuts,now i see it's this damn drug doing it..sham on you doctor's....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gastroparesis girl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug gave me some serious welps. They didn't itch or hurt but they just kept spreading over my body. If you take it would be very aware of any side effects if you are put on/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JP Digger | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/24/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have inherited high blood Cholesterol-don't know if it's Homozygus or Heterozygus, but in 2007 it caused an ischemic event with the SA node (the "ticker")in the heart.Had a stent implant and was put on 40 mg of Lipitor.In the beginning it caused some side effects,like diarrhea,but also constipation.Some muscle pain and muscle weakness and lethargy.Over the next 10 months I lost all body hair and had breaking nails.I also had a marked reduction in collagen in the skin and any little bump into something caused the skin to break and come off in flaps - dollar coin size or larger, leaving a chafing wound-like patch that oozed little drops of blood, that wouldn't stop bleeding.Dr. didn't take notice and said that it would heal.Yeah, only if I covered it with "liquid bandage". From that time I decided to reduce the dosage gradually - cholesterol level permitting.. With the "help" of Co Q10 and the reduction to 10 mg of Lipitor, it took me a year and a half to recover.Body hair came back,but not to previous levels.Skin is a lot better now. Other "leftovers" are peripheral neuropathy. especially in my feet. I'm aware that because of natural high cholesterol,I really can't quit altogether,risking another heart attack. I eat a healthy diet - low salt,sugar and fat - lots of veg and fruit, but can't do without some form of cholesterol lowering medication.I'm now on 5 mg of Lipitor. Yes, Lipitor is- or can be- effective, but at what cost?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
True1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/30/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DELAYED side effects. Took years to realize statins (incl lipitor??) give me MEMORY LOSS BIG TIME and muscle pain and mood issues. And now Im discovering risk from high LDL is massively exaggerated. Having sufficient HDL and low triglycerides are what matter. IF YOU KNOW SOMEONE LOSING MEMORY ASK THEM TO THINK BACK IF IT STARTED GETTING WORSE WITHIN A YEAR OF STARTING STATINS. Why? Because someone once did that for me. ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen W. | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2019
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lipitor for 120 days and have never had the amount of pain I have since starting the drug. My feet, knees, hips all hurt so bad I can hardly walk now. Some of my finger tips have developed a neuropothy, my memory has deteriorated, and I have a lot of sleep issues. My doctor has stopped it, my labs showed an extremely elevated SED Rate which explains the inflammation and pain. He wants to wait a few weeks and try Crestor.....just not sure about this...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/21/2019
Condition: Stroke Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was placed on lipitor because high LDL numbers at 20mg. Then reduced to 10 mg. I was having muscle spasms and the lipitor helped when taken to 40mg due to stroke prevention about 3 months after taking it. A month ago or less, my Dr. put me on 80 mg after I experienced chest pains while on treadmill. I exercise 4-6 times a week 30 min -1 hour. A day or two after being on the 80 mg, I started experiencing IRREGULAR HEARTBEATS, dizziness. I told my dr. I reduced myself back to the 40 mg because I didn't experience the heart palpitations on the 40 mg. I am small frame woman generally. I have read the reviews here and know it isn't in my head or other issue but probably the lipitor. I too experience some memory issues but not severe. I am planning to ask for other options other than statins. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

muscle soreness in shoulder and hips, keeps me awake at night ...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Painpainpain | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/31/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on for about 6 months,and stopped 1 day ago. As I type this I am laying in bed with severe leg cramps random stabbing pains and tingling in my face and extremities. I went to urgent care and emergency two weeks ago because of the deep glute muscle pain and the tingling. Lots of test were done, and a bone density is scheduled for 4/3. The symptoms related to taking this medicine are vast and can be severe...but doctors don't seem to be noticing. Also, I most websites do not mention all the possible side effects. I had a statin specific blood test yesterday, but the damn doctor didnt put a stat on it. After reading all these comments, I know I'm not alone in the severity and array of symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickey | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/22/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Keep on going on and off. Bone and muscle pain just gets too much for me. It does bring your numbers down but the side effects are not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
travel104 | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/2/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THEY KNEW THIS DRUGS IS HURTING PEOPLES BUT IT IS STILL ON THE MARKETS.IT DESTROY YOUR MUSCLES.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Take It For Cholesterol and My Doctor Says It Is Working Great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AFCz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2018
Condition: Stroke Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After ONE month I have experienced fatigue and aching muscles that limit me to an hour or two of moderate work or exercise a day....which has resulted in a substantial impairment with respect to my quality of life. I have told my primary care physician that I am going off the drug as with continued use I expect to be non-functional.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More