Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

137 People found this comment helpful

Just because I did read so many 'bad' reviews when I started Sertraline.. I feel I owe the world my positive experience : ) My day to day life has changed from a constant battle to a breeze. Now I finally feel my normal self again, I realise how anxious and depressed I was. I am a intelligent high functioning person that still got by on shear will power. I have been taking it 2 months and only ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Helliott | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sertraline hit. the. nail. on. the. head. Had ptsd symptoms, could hardly function from high anxiety. My Dr started me on 25mg for one month. I experienced loose stools and lack of appetite for about 1week. Then, WOW! Life was brought down a few notches, not so intense, I had time to respond/not react. Went back to Dr after one month on Sertraline, we talked, and raised dosage to 50mg. I had loose stools and lack of appetite for another week. MY OUTLOOK AND RESPONSE TO LIFE HAS IMPROVED!! It’s pretty cool now. Give this med a chance, it was/is so worth it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
??? | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely terrible medicine. When I was 12 into 13, I was forced to take this medicine against my will by my parents and it made me so hungry I would eat everything. I would eat inordinate amounts of food, take giant dumps in the toilet and drop asleep in my bed. It made my depression a lot worse and eventually it even numbed my feelings so I couldn't feel any emotions anymore. It took six weeks of begging my parents to let me stop and I felt like they didn't care.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoZoloftThanks | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/10/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Where do I start. Zoloft worked for anxiety and depression sure. What it also did was cause me to have diarrhoea every day. Every. Day. The whole time I was in it. I dealt with that but my doctor told me I had to come off them when I got night sweats nightly, insomnia and the worst bit - it made me break out in a hive like rash and I thought I had lymphoma. Terrible. Everyone is different and every drug reacts differently. This in was not for me. It was awful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evan | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My general anxiety got pretty bad when I made the transition from High school to college, and I didn't quite understand what it was at the time. I talked to my doctor and parents about it, and apparently I have a family history of anxiety. The first medication I was prescribed was Venlafaxine which had terrible side effects and made everything worse. That's when my doctor switched me to generic Zoloft. For the first couple weeks I did have minor side effects while my body got used to the medication. Mainly they were minor loss of appetite (skipping meals because I didn't feel hungry) and occasionally I would feel twitchy. But after about 4 weeks, on my way home from college, it was like a light switch flipped in my head. My mood was much better in general, and it really helped reduce the frequency of intrusive thoughts and general anxiety flare ups. It's not completely gone, but I feel like I can live like normal again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lelead |
9/2/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I saw a lot of people mentioning how they changed to Wellbutrin and it was amazing, but please keep in mind wellbutrin is mainly for your dopamine, not serotonin. So your doctor probably figured you had issues with dopamine levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lora1966 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have depression due to a chemical imbalance. The reason that I know it is a chemical imbalance is because I have a very stressfree and happy life otherwise. When I went into my depression I was crying everyday and I could not get up and do anything, everthing I tried to do like loading the dishwasher or blowdrying my hair felt like I was trying climbMt.Everst The night I started taking 50 mg of zoloft the crying stopped immediatly the next day, had flat feelings for a couple of weeks, then slowly but surely everyday I could tell a difference and today 1 month later I feel great now! Back to normal. I will never stop taking zoloft. I love it! Hope this helps someone. I know that it is difficult to find an online store, so I will advise where I bought https://tlabc.link/520aa77b78 Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Naty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zoloft has now saved me from severe anxiety (due to PTSD) four times. The first time, I was pregnant with my first child. At about 25 weeks, I suddenly developed severe anxiety. I was miserable. I couldn't eat, couldn't think, wouldn't let my husband leave the room. I was in a pit of despair and I didn't know why. Now, 7 years later, I suspect (through therapy and a lot of soul searching) that it was due to untreated PTSD from losing my only brother in a car accident 1 years ago. I was hesitant to take any drug while drug and I resisted it for about a month, but at that point I was feeling suicidal and my doctor agreed that I had to try something other than exercise, meditation, etc. She put me on 25mg of Zoloft and I waited to (hopefully) feel better. Zoloft did eventually work - beautifully in fact - and I gave birth to a happy, healthy baby girl at 41 weeks. She is now almost 7 and is perfect in every way, with no health issues. I weaned myself off about 6 months after giving birth and was doing great for several years. Then with my next pregnancy, the feelings started up again, but that time I was prepared and knew how to treat it. Again, I weaned off and was good for several years until I got Covid in March of last year and the fear from that diagnosis sent me into a tailspin again. Again, the 25mg of Zoloft worked like a charm. Now, I am hoping to wean off it soon, but also not in a hurry to face another episode again, so focusing on how to avoid these episodes in the future (naturally). Now to explain what "works like a charm" means to me: Let me be clear, Zoloft takes a long time to work. In fact, in all three instances of taking it, the first few weeks are rough. The first week is the worst - increased anxiety, no appetite, digestion issues. The second week is not much better, but my appetite very slowly picks up (or maybe I just learn how to baby myself with lots of small, protein-rich snacks by week 2). By Week 3, I start seeing improvement - mainly in my appetite, plus less anxiety in the afternoon/evenings. By Week 4, I see real improvement, with my appetite fully back and feeling a great weight lifted off my the afternoon/evening. Then by about Week 8, I feel almost entirely back to myself. So, yes, 2 months is a long time, but it's worth the wait. It takes a long time because it's not a quick-fix drug that instantly relaxes you or tricks your mind. It gently gives your brain the ability to process a bit more serotonin, which in turn calms your mind a bit more and helps you feel better about everything. Never once on Zoloft have I felt anything other 100% MYSELF. That is really important to me and it has always been true for me with Zoloft. I can't recommend it enough... my advice would be to stick through the first two months and keep your dose low until then. 25mg has always worked great for me, but it takes TIME to work properly. So, be patient and keep the faith! You WILL be yourself again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toenail | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had OCD, depersonalization and awful anxiety (panic attacks and horrible symptoms in general) but Zoloft literally changed my life and saved my mental stability. I promised myself to come back after a couple months of being on Sertraline to share my experience so listen up... 9 months ago I started taking 75mg, gradually increasing my dose from 25mg. I really wasn't hopeful at first to be honest. -> I used to take my pills in the morning and now I take them before bed. I MUCH rather prefer my current method (the morning one would make me feel a bit drowsy during the day sometimes) The first couple of weeks (2-3) were pretty rough: - increased anxiety - sleepiness, which lasted a bit longer than the other side effects - enlarged pupils (not a common occurrence for most though) - slightly increased sweating BUT after about a month I finally, slowly but surely started having more and more good days. It felt like a veil was slowly lifting from my existence. I'm super thankful I never had any robot-ey feelings which a lot of people describe too. The only moments my mental health gets kind of weird is before my period (I still get anxious, but it is not comparable how I used to feel everyday). Now i'm able to actually enjoy life without being crippled by mental health issues: I can focus in school, spend time with people I love and pretty much be myself a bit better: I haven't had a panic attack since I began taking the medication I am actually functional I've had a lot of success in keeping a healthy sleeping schedule (no insomnia whatsoever) and my irrational fear of the dark disappeared too, which is pretty pleasant. One little side note: NEVER EVER swallow your Zoloft pill drinking without any water and eating a bit of food after, you might just get really bad heartburn, which happened to me:// Except for that, I say, Zoloft is DEFINITELY WORTH IT. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
d | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 25mg of sertraline for a little over a month now, in combination with 25mg of vistaril for my anxiety and depression. So far this has worked for me and made things more manageable. My only side effects were the first few days being extremely fatigued, and little to no emotions/ thoughts? until day 6-7. I now feel more myself, I just have less of an appetite than before. I was very scared to take any medications after reading things online, but now I wish I had started sooner.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keesl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine for depression and instead of helping it made me extremely suicidal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 22 year old male who is currently on 150mg. I was prescribed Zoloft for SAD. My main cause of anxiety was going out to eat. I had always enjoyed going out before, but suddenly it was a cause of great anxiety. I would avoid going out if possible and going out was a crippling experience. I started taking 50mg of Zoloft, I did not feel it working so I upped it to 100mg 6 weeks later than eventually up to 150mg after 2 1/2 after starting. At 150mg and about 3 months after I started taking it my anxiety melted away. It really did give me my life back. I’m back to my old self. The first two-three weeks I took it I did feel more anxious and sick but just keep with it. Don’t be afraid to up the dosage of it isn’t work well enough for you. I suggest upping it by 25mg so that you don’t get sick when you start taking more.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Failure2Launch | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/30/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It definitely smooths out the highs and the lows, and that's important. However, now I cannot have an orgasm, even with masturbation. That's depressing, and counter-intuitive for the reason taking the med in the first place!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Panic disorder, generalized anxiety and hypersensitivity to noise as I got older. Tried most of the SSI's without luck. Small dosage of Zoloft decreased my hypersensitivity to noise so that I was able to do my job without earphones. Amazing really, never thought it would happen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/2/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication saved my life. I was experiencing severe side effects with my previous SSRI as it worsened my anxiety. Zoloft manages to improve my mood without aggravating me. Within a month of taking it I became significantly less suicidal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
troyer | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is horrible medication! I have PMDD and OCD after about 6 months after my son was born I noticed my ocd was coming back pretty strongly I was on lexapro for five years before so my doctor thought a change would help. I was on Zoloft for a month and it has made me feel like I was going crazy. I would get paranoid, horrible intrusive thoughts, horrible anxiety, felt like I was in a dream as if I wasn’t here. I went back to my family doctor she told me I have Postpartum psychosis and put me on abilify as well. I went to a psychologist who immediately stopped all the medication she gave me because the ZOLOFT was causing my issues not me myself. DO NOT TAKE THIS HORRIBLE MEDICATION!!! I’m one day off of it and I feel so sick. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tofurkey | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/2/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have continuously taken Zoloft for the last 4/5 years in different dosages depending on my seasonal/situational depression without issue. The last 1.5 years my anxiety has gone up and down. Assuming due to covid-19 I thought it was just a symptom of the pandemic -it was not. My thoughts became very detached, it was like watching my life through the Truman Show. I started to dissociate as well. Then BAM woke up one morning everything normal went to walk my dog and this medication triggered a detached episode where I felt like nothing was real. I tried all of my coping cues and nothing. I ended up going to the ER and was treated for a severe panic attack with detachment. I had to take heavy Xanax for three days till I was able to see my primary dr where I was promptly switched to Effexor. The episode was so profound it triggers me till this day. Never since I was first diagnosed have I ever been so afraid of my own mind. That day haunts me. Praying what Iâ??m currently doesnâ??t lead me to the same scare. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Goth.squidward | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OK so I need to start off with the main complaint I have with this drug Self-love if you get what Iâ??m saying is the one thing that never fails to make me happy and Zoloft has taken that away for me so Iâ??m more depressed than ever because of that when I take it I take it before I go to bed it makes me feel restless and if I think too much into it I begin to have a panic attack and canâ??t sleep at night Iâ??ve lost interest to eat so Iâ??m losing weight and my psychiatrist is an asshole so she yells at me when I lose weight. I really want to stop taking thisRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medication two days ago and the side effects I’ve been feeling are absolutely horrible. Taking this has increased my anxiety levels ten fold and I had extremely bad panic attacks and shakiness. Also experienced insomnia and had vivid dreams. Would not recommend for everyone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZoloftTinnitus | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just don't take zoloft if you don't want to risk tinnitus. I have no hearing loss so I can't get hearing aids to help. What a horrible drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zoloft induces | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zoloft induces tinnitus. Don't risk it. Then you get gas lighting by psych blaming it on age.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More