Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have taken it for three months now and have now taken half pill because I also take topamax with it and I was feeling druged in a.m. I have no side effects with this pill as I did with ambian. and it is cheap. It does take awile to work tho. The first week it worked fast, after that it slowed way down., but it does put me to sleep in a few hours.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I've had insomnia since I was a teen...I've tried Ambien, Lunesta, Trazadone, Ativan, Serax and now the Prosom...with this drug, I take it a 30 mins. before I lie down and then hours pass by until I believe exhaustion takes over and I fall asleep. I don't stay asleep, I wake frequently during the night, have a lot of dreams which wake me and then when I finally sleep, usually in the a.m., it feels...

Shared reviews and ratings

denver80202 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

horrible benzo - hard to get off of; never use not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anthdew | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2014
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 4mg at night. It isn't very fast acting...it relaxes you and helps you sleep longer but is has a pretty slow onset like Valume but if you take it with an antihistamine (Vistral or Diphenhydramine) it will make it come hit faster and harder. Just run it by your doctor first as these medications are OTC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bull | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/19/2013
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a shift worker. Work nights and switch to days back and forth. Worked great for probably 10 years. Have to take 4 mg when working nights and sleeping in the day time now. No drugged feelings. Feel great when you get up. No side effects...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MOE10134 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2013
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication seems to get to me sleep but does not keep me asleep. i am up at least once or twice in the middle of the night. There is one benefit, that when I try to go back to sleep ProSom assists me in falling back to sleep. Other sleep aids would keep me up once I was up. It still takes a while before kicking in to fall sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2012
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i used this over 10 years ago and I want to try it again as I now have more severe insomnia. I can't shut ddown my thoughts to get me to sleep. but take it even i hour before sleep and make sure you don't have to leave home for about 10 AM , It does makeme feel sluggish. It did worl and I want my new Doctor to let me try it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miinsane? | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/14/2011
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 3mg for quite some time and it worked pretty well but now I am starting to feel that half asleep feeling during the day I read some other peoples' reviews and they seem similar. No other sleep med. works for me I may just have to lower my dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2010
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an effective sleep medication 2 mgs for me...no side effects. workes within 30 min or so. This is more of a medication if you have anxity and your mind cannot relax or turn off. It relaxes you so you fall into a gentle sleep. I have had jobs where I worked 8-4, 4-12....and the 12-8 shift. And I suffered from insomnia besides the shift chages. This was years ago. I was prescribed Seconal, Nembutal and they worked, but had a hangover effect the next day. And when you tale barbituates, they supress REM sleep...you do not dream. What worked best for me was Placidyl. Put you out like a light in 15 to 20 min. Abbott no longer manufactures it. High potential for abuse. Not for everyday use. But if you had some nights where you needed to sleep on time, not toss and turn for hours.......This was most effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/23/2009
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken it for three months now and have now taken half pill because I also take topamax with it and I was feeling druged in a.m. I have no side effects with this pill as I did with ambian. and it is cheap. It does take awile to work tho. The first week it worked fast, after that it slowed way down., but it does put me to sleep in a few hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
max | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/10/2009
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works only if I use it for short periods. I start on 2mgs per night, but soon I have to double the amount, and after about 8-10 days the effect wears off completely. I've also noticed my mood tends to improve the following day. I've tried many medicines for insomnia. In the end I always return to diazepam for long-term effectiness and fewer unwanted side-effects (almost none).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/6/2009
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

some memory loss, very little

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yogi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/27/2007
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am a seizure patient and have severe sleeplessness and have not started taking anything yet. would really like to know is it safe for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NayNay | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2007
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had insomnia since I was a teen...I've tried Ambien, Lunesta, Trazadone, Ativan, Serax and now the Prosom...with this drug, I take it a 30 mins. before I lie down and then hours pass by until I believe exhaustion takes over and I fall asleep. I don't stay asleep, I wake frequently during the night, have a lot of dreams which wake me and then when I finally sleep, usually in the a.m., it feels as if I'm in a 1/2 asleep 1/2 awake state...I originally felt like I was the only person these sleep aids didn't work on, but then I read the reviews for Rozerem, etc...I'm not alone! I suffer from chronic pain, so the less sleep, the more pain...I'm disappointed in this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More