Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

This product is effective. Take only one at a time (i took two once and was crying in pain). You should also plan to take it only when you can afford to have some quality bathroom time. You may need a few trips to the bathroom as it works through your system. Don't take it the day that you have something really imortant to do. I took it at 9 p.m. and it worked its way through at about 10 a.m. ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I had received free samples of Dulcolax laxative tablets and took one two nights ago around 10PM. I woke up in the morning with moderate cramping, and while on my commute was feeling uncomfortable. I had jury duty that morning and as soon as the case began, I started feeling incredibly nauseous and hot, as well as crampy, and hobbled embarrassingly to the bathroom. There I stayed for 30 minutes hu...

Shared reviews and ratings

pm | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was having an issue due to surgery last week and stool softener, water, exercise and Metamucil did not do the trick. I was desperate and bought Dolcolax. Directions say you can take up to three and it will take effect 6-12 hours. I decided to take two yesterday at 3pm. Big mistake. By 4pm I began to get tolerable cramping but still nothing. Had a very light dinner at 6 and about 7pm my nightmare began. Started with unbearable abdominal pain. I couldn't stand up. Was also feeling massive nausea. Long story short, did it do the trick? Yes and it is still doing the trick almost 24 hours later. I don't recall ever feeling this sick from an over the counter medication. I wish I read this board before trying it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No! Two days in my stomach won’t stop hurting ! Sure I sh*t like crazy but not worth the intense stomach pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ducolax | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put it in and within 10 minutes it released some hard stool but then it started to give me severe anal burning over the next 6 hours. I then had urgency about twice and my bowel released the melted med mixed with some liquid stool that burned terribly in my anus and then burning started in my vaginal area. It was excruciating and I have to stay home until the liquid clears my system as it gives urgency to liquid anal release. This the most stressing situation I have had ever in my life. God bless when it wears off. Do not use.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Austin | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As others have said I wish I read the reviews before taking this medicine. I have taken 1 before with no problems but I was blocked up and really needed to go so I took to. Had minor cramps before going to bed passed out woke up in extreme pain stomach cramps that put me on the floor crying to the point I was taken to the hospital. This medicine is not worth what it puts you through to clear you out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a rhinoplasty and didn’t pass stool 4 days ...Took 4 capsules……twice ……3 days apart..... I got absolutely nothing ... just a Little Gas

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simon | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/1/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this maybe once every 6 months. I have found the best way to take this product is to not wait to long. If you haven had a stool in 2 days and are feeling backed up take one tablet. Do not wait for 5 days!!! At day 5 of constipation you will have to take 3 pills... perhaps more than once and experience the awful side effects many people have listed here. Regardless allow the next day free to frequently use the toilet and likely lay down. I have experienced a difference between a drug store generic ( not working) and the brand name always working. Just an fyi, it's not a bargain if it doesn't work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
badmf | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication made my stomach hurt more than it already did before i took the pills. i am in excruciating pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wish I would have read the reviews prior to taking this stuff. Within a few hours, I started getting horrible stomach cramps and then had a small BM. Took again the next day as I didn't feel like I was cleared out and that made it worse. Four days later and I am still suffering with nausea, diarrhea, stomach cramps. Overall feeling like crud. Will never take again. I am disappointed as I spent a lot of money on these.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one tablet three days prior, and since i was afraid of pooping hard stools. No bm, so on the night on the third day I took another tab. Woke up the ff morning with my stomach grumbling and in pain. Had to run to the bathroom and i felt like fainting. Worst feeling ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle H. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I saw my doctor recently and had an X-ray of my back (unrelated issue). She asked if I go to the bathroom regularly because I was all backed up. I decided to try a laxative and got Ducolax. Dose says 1-3 tablets. I figured I needed 3 since I was all backed up. 6-12 hours…try 1.5! Gentle…I literally thought I was going to die. I sat on the toilet with severe cramping to the point that it made me vomit (luckily I had a wastebasket nearby). I got incredibly hot and was sweating profusely. I ended up taking my shirt off to wipe my sweaty hands and forehead. I kept telling myself not to faint, to breath through it. This went on for a good 30 minutes until it made its way further down my intestines (I guess) because then the pain lessened. Then I had diarrhea and had a stomach ache which was more tolerable than the cramping. I had no idea that is how it would go. I can’t say I recommend it. But if you do take it only take 1! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee Fink | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m not sure why, but I have never had a bad experience with biscodyl except a couple times 5mg did nothing. Once I took 15 mg at once and later almost had an accident. Just take the lowest dose possible, starting at ONLY 5mg. I have probably taken it two dozen times over the last 15 years and never had any kind of adverse reaction except occasional loose stools.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zimbo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had constipation for about 4 days and this was a lot because I am a regular. I took 2 pills around 6pm, and started reading the reviews whilst waiting and this terrified me. If i had read the reviews first i would have never taken them. I straight up started drinking a lot of water, as i had read somewhere that it helps, 30-45 mins later, and 4 litres of water later i hear rumbling. I fell asleep as i anticipated to be up most of the night. At around 3 am, I woke up with need to empty my bowels, i then took pain meds in preparation for the pain.... i had no cramps, but had very lose stool for about an hour and I was done. Guess the water helped Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keesl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The literal devil. I had to take this for my colonoscopy and it had me in extreme pain with stomach cramps and caused vomiting, cold sweat, and fever as well. However, it did its job of clearing my bowels

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only took 3 days by day 3 I had such nausea and burning and cramping. Do not take this stuff!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CHORV | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience is very similar to many of you. I took one tablet of the pink pill, the Dulcolax ''safe'' for breastfeeding women, altough I wasn't recently pregnant nor breastfeeding, I just wanted to make sure the dose was gentle. Big mistake. Nothing gentle in this pill. I took 1 pill at 3 different occasions within 2 months, and everytime I had a near death experience, no joke. Excruciating cramps, excessive sudden sweating, rapid heartbeat, can barely breathe, almost fainting, extreme weakness in my arms and legs, tremors, tears from muscle cramping. Anyways, I need to find another medication. I have hypothyroidism and constipation is a chronic problem for me. I will read all your comments and maybe I'll find suggestions for a better pill. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was really backed up so my mother gave me 1 pill to help. After 8 hours I also felt like I was having contractions absolutely horrible it even caused me to have a anxiety attack with tremors! I thought it was over but then 3 days later same pain and lasted almost 3 weeks no joke. I was so weak and nauseous my insides were so sore. I had stool labs and blood work done all came back normal so this is the only thing I can blame. Stick with Miralax or whatever else just not this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication as I have been struggling to open my bowels and now feel bloated, sick and generally uncomfortable. After 7 hours I have been experiencing the most horrendous cramps, feels like I'm in labour again. I've been sat on the toilet for 2 hours as I feel like I need to go but nothing. Can't wait for this to be out of my system!! Back to the pharmacist tomorrow to ask for some help on what is best to do next.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mg22002 | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

bought the over night relief tablets at walgreens because of not being able to have a bowel movement in over a week after reading the reviews and being completely afraid to take this pill i decided to just stop being so nervous and take just one tablet, i took one around 6 pm and had a bowel movement the next day around 8-9 unlike other reviews i had no cramping just the normal feeling of having to go to the bathroom and i have a very sensitive stomache so i was surprised. this definitely works ive only had one bowel movement so far nor have any side effects i recommend just taking one tablet before going to bed and drinking a lot of water definitely helps with cramping Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJTurner | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2021
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I used 2 tablets one last thing at night and another frost thing in the morning the next day! By midday I was beginning to clear my bowels which was a relief! BUT..it’s now 2 days later and I am experiencing tummy cramps and aching in my back and sides! The cramping is very painful and the only thing that helps is buscopan and a hot water bottle! I don’t think I’ll take this again due to the after effect this has had on me! The cramps are just awful!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabethjan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I must be allergic to some ingredient. My throat and hands started tingling and my face swelled. I had terrible stomach cramps before it worked. I had to start taking Benadryl until it got better. Frightening experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More