Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed this diflucan to take 1 a day for 3 days. Today is day 2 and itching has begun to clear up. Also- advice for those with recurring yeast infections or those who get them every time an antibiotic is taken: TAKE A PROBIOTIC DAILY This will help prevent yeast infections & can safely be taken daily without any drug interactions. The one I've used that works best for me is "Dr Ohhira'...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Had to take amoxycilin after surgery, and I got a horrible yeast infection. Went to my gyno afterwards, and she said that particular antibiotic is known to cause yeast infections. So she prescribed 2 doses of Diflucan. First dose made me nauseous, but I thought, "hey, what's a little nausea if it clears this up." Gave me a little relief. Took the second dose 4 days later, and while there was no n...

Shared reviews and ratings

Joy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2021
Condition: Candida Fungus Infection of Mouth, Skin, Nails or Vagina
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Diflucan successfully multiple times over several years. Then,when I was in my young 30s,I used a dose a friend had that had expired, and got large maroon skin hives(rash) on my face and neck. I didn't attribute the spots to the diflucan until abut the 3rd time I got rash, which was worse each time. The 2nd time I'd used unexpired generic fluconozole, the 3rd time unexpired Diflucan. I don't know if the reaction had anything to do with that one dose being expired, or if my body's tolerance just changed, but I can't use it anymore. So don't take a chance on an expired dose!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephanie | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/10/2019
Condition: Candida Fungus Infection of Mouth, Skin, Nails or Vagina
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve had with yeast infection since 18 years old the past 3years my yeast infection is gone but now I get thrush with painful sores so bad I canâ??t even drink water and loose weight I have been taking 200 mg 2 times a day as I was in the hospital for 7 days is it safe to take 200 mg Twice a day when you out was the risk as I get pain full sores and painful white thrus all on my tough and down my throat does anyone have experience this and what to do as I get this once a month around my period and sometimes stays 3-4 weeks at a time Please HelpRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HisQueen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2019
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OTC treatments have never worked for me. I am extremely susceptible to vaginal yeast infections. Anytime I take an antibiotic I�m sure to get one. Plus I am diabetic and high blood sugars also cause them for me. And when I get one it�s 100% awful and really bad. 1 pill and I�m cleared up in a few days. The day after taking it I usually already feel the difference. I usually take a second one a week after the first one is taken for the just in case factor. I would recommend this medication to anyone. Women who are allergic to it, I feel so sorry for. This medication works miracles for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2019
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bacterial infection so the doctor prescribed me Metronadizole. It gave me a terrible yeast infection , the kind that is real dry & irritating. The doctor called in Diflucan & I took it about 3 days ago. It just start clearing up today. My discharge isn’t white anymore it’s becomibg more clear. I haven’t had discomfort all day today. The medication is working but i’m going to wait a couple more days a couple more days before having any sex with my boyfriend. Overall this medication really works. I’m so relieved.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kyo | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2018
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Augmentin (antibiotics) and got a yeast infection, so the dr prescribed this. It has made me miserable. I have had the worse diarrhea for the past two days. Last night I had major chills and couldnâ??t get warm. I still have a bit of a yeast infection- Iâ??m hoping it clears up soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MotherOfChihuahuas | Female | Patient
8/6/2018
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medication that has help with my yeast infections. Those over the counter ones actually cause irritation and make it worse. I have no side effects from this pill

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2018
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day 3 and hasn't gotten any better, if anything has gotten worse. Got it from being on Augmentin for sinus infection. Have been eating yogurt twice a day also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rootiebear | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2018
Condition: Candida Fungus Infection of Mouth, Skin, Nails or Vagina
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this med for a yeast infection I got due to taking hormone meds. I was prescribed 100mg once a day for a week. A week after taking it my hair is falling out in clumps. My hairline is sore, the same feeling as if you've had your hair in a ponytail for too long. I'm not sure I would ever retake this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2018
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took amoxicillin and got a yeast infection because of it so my doctor prescribe this and worked extremely well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am baffled but in the best possible way. Since last October my entire left side has been burning. From the top of my scalp to my left knee. On a guess that I had a yeast infection which I don't believe I really had an urgent care doc prescribed this and for the first time in almost a year - inexplicably I felt insanely much better - I don't know why. I imagine the source of that issue is fungal but its my WHOLE LEFT SIDE. Its sort of concerning that this IS what helps but it so much does - I would love to understand more about why. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TheLadyMallet | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2016
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think Diflucan is giving me a slight headache, but other than that it seems to work great. Cleared up my itching and most of my discharge within a day of taking the first dose. I took the second dose five days later (today) and am hoping it'll knock out the rest of the discharge. This is my second yeast infection ever and I definitely prefer the pill to the messy creams. Advil takes care of the headache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deniseg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/29/2016
Condition: Candida Species Yeast Infection of Abdominal Cavity Lining
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst side effects ever. Sever cramping in the stomach. Dizzy, nausea, sweating and chills. I do not recommend!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kec | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/6/2016
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For some reason I am prone to yeast infections and get them about 4 times per year. Diflucan consistently works for me in just one dose, I am completely better within 24 hours. So much easier to use than those messy OTC creams. I have no side effects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2016
Condition: Candida Species Yeast Infection of Abdominal Cavity Lining
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cleared things up but for some reason I'm completely swollen down there. Second time this happens and the heartburn at night, ugh. I'm miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allergic to everything! But it worked | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2016
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Slight constant headache first 36 hours of the 72 hours on the medications. 1pill per day for 3 days. Dizziness first time I took it. Had read about this so planned to take it at bedtime each night to avoid dealing with dizziness and headache. Plan worked. Still slight itching at start of day 3 hoping it'll be gone by end of day. I took amoxicillin for a bacterial infection and then got a yeast infection because of it. I was on my period so had to do the pill vs cream. I prefer the cream vs the headache. But in the end it seems to have worked. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nuclearjen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2015
Condition: Candidiasis Yeast Infection that Spreads Throughout Body
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took and got huge swellings on lower lip and upper right eyelid. the lip swellings turned black and have scarred me. They do not go away!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2015
Condition: Treatment for Prevention of Vulvovaginal Yeast Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I discovered this drug years ago after my first pregnancy. I won't do it any other way. Nothing over the counter works for me. I have NEVER had any side effects from taking it. My Dr. often hesitates to give it to me so I looked up side effects. Maybe some of those things are from prolonged use. I only need it periodically.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yehtac | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/19/2015
Condition: Yeast Infection of Vagina and Vulva
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diabetic and develop yeast infections more frequently than most. Diflucan which is used for treatment has caused a very dark (black) circle around my lower lip and chin. The reaction involves my skin first looking like it has been burned then blisters form. The blisters break the tissue weeps and the skin slough off leaving very raw tissue susceptible to infection (which I get most often). It has taken four of five treatments for me to realize that it is the medication that is causing the problem. Each outbreak is worse than the one before. I am getting over a dose now and it looks horrible. This medication is now on my list of many that I cannot take.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/18/2015
Condition: Presence of Candida Species Yeast in the Blood
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my son has been on this oral med. for candidiasis tropicalis in his blood. he is on 800 mg a day for 3 mo after a month of iV of the same med in hospital. he is unable to eat and if he does he vomits, lost 25lb since march. also his skin on face peeling and genital peeling skin, sun sensitive and eyelashes and eyebrows are thinning all side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmf | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2015
Condition: Candida Fungus Infection of Mouth, Skin, Nails or Vagina
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this for a vaginal yeast infection, I was in the middle of morning class and seriously felt drunk. Than I felt like I was going to vomit so I get up and start heading out the class to the hallway and couldn't even stand up straight. I told a classmate I felt drunk and needed to go to the bathroom so she rushed to get me there. All I did was dry heave. Than I told her I was going to pass out and the faculty had to call campus EMS. My heart rate got up to 130. This medication almost sent me to the hospital.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More