Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

It's taken about 6 months to get my dosage right. I now take 80mg. 3 times a day and the swelling in my ankles and legs is gone. I lost a total of 50 pounds. My B.P. is down to 170/95 from 200/105 and now the doc is starting me on other BP meds for that.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

All this medication does is make me go to the bathroom constantly, I still have alot of fluid retention.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2019
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for water build up on my legs and feet doctor started me on 20 mg it worked fine for about a month then I started having a reaction to the med I had the jitters itchy feeling felt like things crawling on me hard time breathing and the swelling didn't go down. So the doctor had me to take 10 mg half pill I did that no prob with side effects but the swelling isn't going down. I had my husband buy me water pills from Walmart there called sundown naturals haven't tried them yet he just got them yesterday so I'm going to talk with the pharmacy to see if there safe to take with other medications.Will post again in a month i wanted to note that there are bad side effects to laid look it up on web Ms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/15/2018
Condition: Accumulation of Fluid Resulting from Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 78 yo father has been taking 20 mg of Lasix close to two weeks & is now getting side effects such as: Increased Thirst, Have trouble sleeping, can not stand up, can not hear at times, is loosing weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in atrial fib 24/7--in summer, even with air conditioning, get swollen feet. Have turned down Lasix bec of the many side efxs but was persuaded to take it by my 10th cardiologist. I hate it! No one mentioned potassium. Anyhow--be aware that this drug is somehow linked to sulfa--so if you have a sulfa allergy, you could be hatin' life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr. Paul | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2017
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Swelled feet and ankles are a problem. I have hypertension and adding the Lasix and Hydrochlorthidide (HCT). On the plus side my swelling went down and my fet look normal and I have lost 27 pounds to dat. On the side effect side, I experienced leg and foot cramps. To counteract the cramps, due to potassium loss, I started drinking Gator Aide. I mix it myself from the powder at a rate of about half strength. I drink about a gallon a day along with at least a gallon of water. No cramps in 2 months, weight loss continues and I feel better than I have had in many years. I can't eat banas and Gator Aide replaces the potassium well. ContinueRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sweetipi1958 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2016
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for about three months and now I have extreme dry mouth and bleeding gums and pain in my upper thigh. I have also lost weight on it. I really hate the dry mouth and bleeding gums though and wish it would stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elf | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2016
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug because my ankles and feet were swollen. I took one dose and was shocked by the time I awoke the next day my feet had gone down half way. I will continue to take it as I have Hypertension. Only drawback is the obvious frequent bathroom trips, but well worth being able to walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2016
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alvassar | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/24/2016
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on it when I got cellulitis. It worked good. Was told I could stop the drug by my doctor. I stopped it for about a month and I started back again because my ankle was getting swollen and I could not walk around very well. Started again and I can walk better now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nana | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2016
Condition: Accumulation of Fluid Resulting from Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have diastolic dysfunction (stiff heart) and started to have edema in my legs that gradually worsened along with shortness of breath. My doctor started me off with 20mg, then 40mg and now I'm on 80mg Lasix once daily. I finally have ankles, can wear my rings and some shoes. the only serious concerning side effects were my blood glucose shot up to 120mg/dl fron 90mg/dl and elevated my BUN (kidney function). I have noticed I have less SOB.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lulaowens | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2016
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works slow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Slowed pulse to 29, increased depression, experienced attack-cardia and major headache lasting several weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roshimajahmilla | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2015
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this medicine a few years ago for water retention. I am a little surprised that I again have started retaining fluid around my ankles and a new area of swollen with my hands. I honestly can't be 100 percent sure because I am taking other medicine as well that may be actually canceling out this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
minpinmom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2015
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Lasix for over a year, my ankles and legs stopped swelling but I developed several muscle spasms all over my body. Stopped taking the medication and after about 4 days, the swelling started again but the cramping has gone away. Going to ask my dr. if I could take the Lasix every other day, or every third day, etc. instead of every day. Has anyone else tried this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimber | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/22/2014
Condition: Accumulation of Fluid Resulting from Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Super sweating, excessive thirsts, shortness of breath, light headed ness, faint feeling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
able one | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/2/2014
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's taken about 6 months to get my dosage right. I now take 80mg. 3 times a day and the swelling in my ankles and legs is gone. I lost a total of 50 pounds. My B.P. is down to 170/95 from 200/105 and now the doc is starting me on other BP meds for that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yoopergram | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/23/2014
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get upset to my stomach when taking Lasix. Also feel tired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
6vfohr | 55-64 | Male | Patient
1/31/2014
Condition: Fluid in the Lungs due to Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience has been VERY positive with the exception of the frequent restroom visits, which can be easily dealt with by taking the drug early in the day. The frequent trips to the restroom are FAR OUT WEIGHED by what this drug can do for you! You can always wear a Depends (or similar product (which I have)) if you are worried about the possibility of an "accident" while out and about, although this is much more of an insurance policy than anything else. I have been taking this drug for about a year and will continue to do so until I hear otherwise from my doctor. The weight loss is an added side benefit :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peggy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2014
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diminished urine output colorless urine,back pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pmac | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it was replacing 37.5-25 maxide. Still seems like more fluid retention in hands and feet,ankle and up calf. does not work the same nor as effective. the Dr covering for my Dr changed it after 24 hr urine sample and blood tests. still want to see my physician for reccommendations..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More