Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

77 People found this comment helpful

I started out a month ago with 50mg of Chorthaladone and after a week of taking it, I was having headaches and constipation. I am now taking 25mg by cutting in half and see the same BP readings that I was getting with the higher dosage. I do have to make sure that I am eating more fruits and vegetables and lately making smoothies with Kale. This keeps the constipation under control. I am losing th...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dana | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this drug! I switched from 25mg of HCTZ because I got a positive ANA test and was having joint pain and swelling but this drug has side effects that are way worse and I only took it for 5 days. I almost went to the ER...dehydration, muscle aches and pains, dizziness that I almost fell over, no muscle strength, heart palpitations and BP readings of 150/110 down to 120/83 (makes no sense at all). I chugged half a gallon of OJ, drank Pickle juice, ate 3 bananas and drank 2 Gatorades. I still don't feel right! Thankfully I am going to my Dr tomorrow which is what kept me out of the ER. Don't try this drug! Try to lower your BP yourself. Once you start, it's almost impossible to get off them. Look into a Whole Foods Plant Based Diet! Stop eating all animal meat and dairy. You will save yourself from this hell of constant meds and their side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 43 year old, overweight woman. I have been on Losartan 100mg for 4 years, with dietary adjustments, but my BP still averages 130/90. My NP and I discussed complimenting Losartan with a daily 25mg dose of Chlorthalidone. I was prepared with potassium water, supplements, and Propel. This would be added to my already daily gallon of water intake. I took six doses of this medication. Four days in I began getting what I initially thought was a sinus headache, i.e. pressure on my face. Over the next two days, this progressed to: -Intense pressure pushing into and around my eyes. -Trouble focusing my left eye -Loss of appetite. -Mild vertigo. -Anxiety and flushes of dread. -Numbness and tingling sensation over my face. -Fatigue -Muscle pain and cramping along the back of my neck. I contacted my NP, and was told to stop the medication. After being off the medication for 3 days I was still dealing with the headache and episodes of mild vertigo mixed with anxiety. After 5 days off the medication I was having mild headaches and mild face pressure. I have read the full expulsion of the drug can take up to 120 hours. This is grueling. I found out that over a week off the medication my potassium was at a 2.8 (low end of range is 3.5). It took me over 10 calendar days to get my body back in line after taking this medication. Everyone experiences medication side effects differently. Please be cautious with this medication, and be prepared to get off it - with your doctor's guidance - at the first sign of issues. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justemme1 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Amlodipine for several years . And finally thank god I questioned my doctor about swelling in my feet and ankles. She suggested I try this I have been taking the 50mg for about a month. I Read all the reviews and almost didnâ??t take it . But I had also had abdominal surgery and was retaining fluid so my surgeon also thought it might help with that issue. I Started by setting my alarm for an hour before I normally get up and kept it by my bed so I could take it and lay there for another hour just Incase . I have not any issue with dizziness or being lightheaded. After the second day I started seeing my legs , ankles and feet shrink and even my hands . As an added benefit I have had less fluid building up at my surgery site also. I did add a potassium supplement to my daily vitamins . And while I donâ??t drink a lot of extra fluid I make sure to get my 64 ounces a day in. I also did not have any issues with having to go to the bathroom a lot . My blood pressure has been in 118/74 to 126/78 range roughly which is good. So if your having fluid issues with your blood pressure medicine but nervous to try this one . I would give it a shot . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MyaMia | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been on this medication long and at my 2 month checkup saw my BP decrease from 160/81 to 122/71. Both myself and my physician are pleased with these results. With God's help and additional weight loss, I pray to end this medication before year's end. Side effects experienced are dizziness, dry mouth and excessive sweating. I drank alot of water before taking this medication and have increased my water intake since. Although I take it after breakfast, I wake 2-3 times per night to urinate.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna P | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/7/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Chlorthalidone about 10 years ago. I had bad reactions to many high blood pressure meds. After PCP's trying one drug to counteract another one and they were ready to give me a third med to counteract one that made me swell, I went to a cardiologist and asked for help with treating my meds even though I had no heart problems. I decided that if I didn't want racing heart beats, low beats or swelling from taking meds, that a cardiologist would be the only one with the best knowledge on what to prescribe. That was the turning point in getting a one pill treatment that works. I take a 25mg. tablet once a day. This and a statin are the only meds that I need to take. I am 76 yrs. old and am thankful for this med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 55-64 | Female | Patient
2/28/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had some dizziness for a few weeks but now all is well. I have been on this for almost 4 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnInNJ | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My BP shot up to 160/170 over 90/100 after being on Tekturna for over 10 years. My GP switched me to chlorthaidone, 25mg. After 3 days I was VERY light headed, dizzy, could not drive, could barely walk. I stopped for a few weeks and tried cutting the pill in half. This time I lasted 4 days. Dizziness is awful and ow I am nauseous. Plus BP is all over the place from normal to very high. I want to stop all drugs and try exercising. I've already changed my diet a lot - salt is way under 1000mg/day. I see my MD tomorrow with the messasge that I will not be using this drug again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glenn | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a couple of weeks of 25 mg a day, developed lightheadedness, muscle cramps and jitters and very low BP. Consulted cardio doc and cut daily dose in half. Some improvement in side effects but not enough. Quit taking and my BP has remained in good range for over a week (also take losartan and verapamil - seem to be more effective now!). I think this med also exacerbated my IBS w/ diarrhea, and caused stomach discomfort.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dizzylizzy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seemed fine for the first couple of weeks then the Diarrhea started, after three weeks of not being able to eat or leave the house I stopped taking it,the upset stomach cleared up after a couple of days of stopping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue4 | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sent me to hospital after 3 days of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue4 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sent me to hospital after 3 days of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue4 | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sent me to hospital after 3 days of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken this medication twice and I dont like it at all. It Causes light-headedness and rapid heart beat and makes you feel like I just ran up stairs even though I had not done anything. Stopping immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Misstully | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chlorthalidone sent me to the hospital after 3 days with extreme rapid heart rate upon just walking normally. It worked a bit to lower my blood pressure but anything that messes with the rhythm of my heart is a no go. If you take it, please look out for an elevated heart rate. I got blood work done and everything was in range but for some reason this medication messes with my heart rate which sucks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive only been on it for like a week but my BP has never been better... But the frequent urination might drive me to my breaking point! Otherwise, im fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carmela7 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/15/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medicine was great for lowering my pressure; however the chest pain I get from it sent me to the hospital several times. I had to stop using the medicine. My chest was tight and heavy. The feeling is a very uncomfortable one. I also have face numbness on my left second whenever I take this medicine. I�m sure it works for others, but for me, the side effects are enough to say no.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took for 30 days. blood pressure is perfect but side effects getting worse and had to stop taking it. i would run out of breath and have pain in whole upper chest area like asmha but the worst was the first half of the day i could not kneel down and stand up , i would almost pass out.also slight diariaha / would not rec this drug ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lab Lover Lady | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr.switched me onto Chlorthalidone 25Mg after having trouble with metabolism and and loosing weight being on Metoprlol 50MG,which is Known to interfere with that as well as raise A1C. I was hesitant after reading some of the reviews.Right away my blood pressure went up and my heartrate increased with it pounding in my chest contantly. after the 4th day I woke up with a terrible headache, the cold sweats, was shacky and felt as though I was going to pass out. I switched back to the other medication but am going to start on Atenelol which doesn't have as many adverse side effects as Metoprlol.This was one of the worst medications I have ever taken. Heed the reviews! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vahan A | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In conjunction with Atenolol, this medication definitely made a huge difference. After just two days my whole body seemed to just shrink. The swelling in my feet and ankles disappeared so much to the extent that my shoes are a little loose!The pressure I felt in my chest is gone...It's now been maybe 3 months and am very happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only taken 2 pills in 2 days 25mg and my calves are tightening and stiff. I've had s previous knee injury and my knees hurt..keep getting spasms.not sure I want to stay on it. I go back to docs in 3 weeks. I'll keep taking til appt unless legs worsen..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More