Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

Upgraded from urinary trickle at night , to goodly stream ( total bladder emptying) within a week of starting on Flomax generic , using one pill about 9pm daily. Wonderful . I am 80 yrs old male

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

Yes this helps with urine flow, that is about it. Here is the amazing part. At the generic price of $204./30 days, the cost of the ingredient is.... $17.50 /mg $17500.00/gram $7,936,250.00/lb, yes folks almost 8 million dollars for a pound. For that you could get 413.35 lbs of gold Illicit drug dealers are selling the wrong stuff on the street, a kilo of this goes for $17,500,000., yes 17...

Shared reviews and ratings

Planetcat | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/29/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here are my observations from taking Flomax for 6 months or so and then going off it for a week to see the difference. I am a 56 year old male with moderately enlarged prostate and no history of prostate diseases. The good: reduced my frequency of urinating at night from 4-5 to 1-2 times. Also eliminated the feeling of always having to go. The bad: little to no libido, little to no semen production during ejaculation during sex, and as others have stated, a chronic stuffy nose that doesn't go away no matter how much nasonex or afrin you use. I ended up going back on it, so I could get some sleep. I guess it's worth it if you're up all night peeing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Concerned | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Flomax almost killed me. It caused rapid heartbeat and sudden syncope twice in my case. This happened when I suddenly fainted and dropped hard on hard tiles on kitchen floor hurting my head and nick few hours after taking the medication, and another time in the shower causing body bruises. Just imagine experiencing sudden syncope while driving to work on a major highways, I would have lost my life. I was admitted to hospital for checkups to see if my syncope was related to something else and stayed for 34 hrs costing me close to $43,500!!!. I was told my syncope was caused by Flomax and nothing else as heart, lungs, and brain were just fine. I would never have taken this medication had I known it causes these side effects. NEVER AGAIN. Please don't take it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2022
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 18 and was given this junk (Tamosulin (generic of Flomax)) to relax my urinary muscles to make future stones easier to pass. This medication has destroyed my quality of life, I have always had dizziness and cluster headaches from being anemic, this medicine just makes everything worse. I’m constantly dizzy and clammy. And as soon as I started taking it I’ve had a constant tingling feeling in my left leg, my kidney stones were in the right side, so I’m very confused on how my left side is messed up. The tingling is all in my groin and leg and is causing me to be so uncomfortable at school, work, and night trying to sleep. I can’t sleep on this. I also have to pee WAY more after taking this. Every 30-60 minutes. Very annoying at school. I also have zero sex drive. I would rather just pass another kidney stone than take this junk. At least kidney stone pains and problems aren’t going to last as long or be as hellish as this medication. As of this morning, it’s evening now, I stopped taking it, I feel less tingly in my leg but the damn headache and dizziness is still there. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donald | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to work for frequent urination. Side effects stuffy nose, poor orgasm, no ejaculate. Stop taking after 2 weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TopCop931 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff does nothing except cause negative side effects. I was recently prescribed it for bladder retention, weak urine stream, dribbling, excessive urination. I noticed someone else posted they were having success with it until their pharmacy started giving them a generic version marked D 53. Mine are marked D 53. There was no improvement in my urine stream at all. Symptoms remained unchanged. After day 3 on it I started having problems staying asleep. I also have Sleep Apnea and use a CPAP. Dry mouth, dry crusted sinuses, not good because I also have asthma. Headaches, muscle twitching, and chills on day 5. Going to try Saw Palmetto Extract until I can get back to the Urologist. This doctor spent 5 minutes with me and made a diagnosis of BPH solely on my not being able to completely empty my bladder before an ultrasound. He did no other tests nor did he even do a physical examination. Just prescribed this poison and out the door you go!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#nogood | 0-2 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started using flomax it was okay I started urinating normal I didn't have the drip drip after urinating I had a complete stream. After taking the medication for 2 months I have found that I have been experiencing headaches, very little to no semen when ejaculation occurs, poor orgasms my blood pressure dropped to an all-time low where I was about to pass out, and experiencing nausea loss of weight severely loss of appetite unable to concentrate putting me on edge where I just feel very irritated most of the time and severe itchiness. Wake up several times throughout the night fully awake and unable to go back to sleep severe runny and stuffy nose like I have allergies and I have never had allergies in my life. This is terrible I am 51 years old and I feel like I can deal with the drip drip drip instead of all these side effects. I guess I'll just need to have to stand there a little longer and shake it a little more. I decided to stop taking the medication and I will update my review, today is the 14th of June 2022 and I will let you all know how I feel in the next few days. Thank youRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Theman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking the .4mg capsule. The results were great the first month, now the drug does nothing. Still have to use catheter to empty bladder. No Kidney stones were passed even though 9 showed up on my CT scan.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cuckoo bird | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Flomax for about 2 weeks and it works good for me. I drink and urinate more. Worried about side effects and reluctant to use the product but I tried it after having stones and it has been fantastic. Sexual side effects and dizziness not there at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J.G. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 7 years now and I am 62. My doctor increased it to 2 a day and it worked for a while until Rite Aid started using a different 0.4mg generic capsule with a D 53 on it and ever since I have had problems urinating again and wake up 4 to 5 times a night with very low amounts of urine. I also noticed like many other men that no semen comes out when having sex with my girlfriend and I experience almost no orgasm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/14/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken this for several years and it didn't do the job so my doctor told me I could take Finasteride along with the Flomax, neither one is doing the job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edsel6 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I started taking this and immediately (an hour later) I started to get a severe back pain which rolled to my chest with heaviness. I guess you could say it was like having a heart attack but I don't know how that feels since I never had one. The next day my joints hurt and my muscle's felt weak. I tried to continue over the next 4 days taking my dose at the same time each day figuring it would take some time for my body to adjust. After 5 days of the constant back pain with chest pain, muscle fatigue and joint pain I had to stop. Immediately on the 6th day with no more doses I had none of those symptoms. I have to say though peeing provided a more steady flow but I'll live with the periodic dribble as opposed to those side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was started on this medication to ease frequent urination. It did relax the bladder to be all to fully empty. But after about 3 days I noticed an extremely stuffey nose like a sinus infection. At first, I just thought it was fall allergies. Then I began waking up at 1:15 am or 3:15 am and would be wide awake and totally unable to go back to sleep. I also have sleep apnea and use a CPAP. I went through this for about a week and a half. I stopped Flomax at night and slept all night since stopping it 4 days ago and my stuffy nose went away also. When I first started taking the medicine at night, the next morning I would be extremely light headed for about a week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pronoflo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for 2 years and it did relieve my urination frequency however I will gladly take that than the horrific side effects. sexual desire is gone, ejaculation I would orgasm but NO semen, partner thought I was faking orgasm? lol No not funny. I'm on other meds as well so didn't realize these issues were from Flomax. Oh, ya gained 60 extra lbs since taking. I have been off for 3 weeks and the weight is falling off down 25 already. I still have not ejaculated and hope that will return at some point. Ejaculation with no evidence is ridiculous. Do not trust this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John W. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For ME, it works great! If I miss 1 or even 2 doses, I have a huge issue trying to urinate. Personally I'd rather find a solution to my issue then be stuck taking pills for the rest of my life. But until that happens, this is a great solution. Again...this is for ME. I've read some of the other comments and I don't notice any side-effects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ace88 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia, interstitial cystitis, and sleep apnea. The medication was used to try to calm my pelvic floor muscles regarding frequent urination. The first day or two it was OK, but as I got more into my body, my sleep apnea got far, far worse. Trouble getting to sleep, would wake up in 1 or 2 hours sweating. Bottom line is I can't sleep with it at all. Got worse each day of the 8 days I took it so I had to quit. Also some sexual side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TBD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrific side effects for "meh" results. As I approach 60, one issue that bothers me regularly is frequent urination due to an enlarged prostate. My GP suggested I try Flomax to alleviate the symptoms, and the medication does help with the "emergency sensation" of needing to go, and reduced the sleep cycle frequency, however the litany of side effects leaves me with a preferable desire of urinating in my pants versus this crap. What side effects? Inability to focus Decreased sexual feedback Headaches Itching High high rates Decreased endurance Apathy Dizziness Spacing out moments I can manage my urination cycles, even if that means 'Depends'; what I cannot manage are all the "wonders" this drug invokes. I am 24 hours off, as I write this, and I still have a damn headache.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked immediately but the side effects could not be tolerated. The first night I experienced some pain in my jaw but didnt associate it with the meds. The second night it felt like every tooth in my mouth was aching. This went on until the morning. Got very little sleep. Never taking this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2021
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this drug for 14 days when I had a kidney stone. I took it once and it gave me major congestion. Never took it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/23/2020
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have kidney stones. Helps me urinate more regularly. Side effects have been a stuffy nose multiple times throughout the day. Barely any ejaculate. My energy levels are normal throughout the day but by 9pm I feel worn out and ready to knock out. I think its giving me dark bags under my eyes as well. Overall its helping though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More