Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

Mysterious inflammation in right eye for several days, cleared up in 24 hours with these drops although I used them for several more days! Inflammation did not seem like regular "pink eye" infection, just very red and semi-painful right eye. Did not spread to left eye. Great product!

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I had adult strabismus surgery on one eye and was prescribed tobradex post operatively. I used it three times a day for five days. I noticed my eyelid was red, hot and swollen and my eye was extremely itchy. An assistant in my dr.s office !

Shared reviews and ratings

EKV | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Inflammation of Eyelid Edges and the Lining of the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second time in three years that I have used these drops for a stye. Each time I find it is very effective in relieving symptoms at the onset of the stye, and I think that I am done, but as soon as I have finished the 5 day course, the symptoms of swelling, redness and the sensation that I have something in my eye, all return. Maybe the bacteria is not being knocked totally out, and/or the dropper is touching my eyelid when I am administering them?? Or maybe these are "withdrawal" symptoms. I have found washing my eyelids, then applying warm soaks, plus eyelid massage, ending with the application of HyporClor (by Occusoft, recommended by my eye doctor) sprayed on a cotton ball to cleanse the eyelid after the massage, are all a good regimen to the "withdrawal" symptoms that occur after stopping the drops. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mn38521 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2020
Condition: Infection Confined to the Surface of the Eye
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for an infection in my eye, I could taste the drops after I put them in. It helped with the itchiness but gave me a horrible stomach ache and diarrhea. Tried using it on an empty stomach and after eating, didn't matter. Not sure if that has happened for anyone else, but I was not a fan

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SallyB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/22/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm sure Tobradex helps some but it was a nightmare for me. I was stuck on Tobradex and a host of many other steroid eye drops (SEDs) for years: each time I tried to wean off of them, doing so caused terrible damage to my eyes. Yet the more I took them, the worse I got, with increasingly horrific redness, pain and aches from higher ocular pressure, stinging and extreme light-sensitivity. Any sort of light made the redness worse, but LED and fluorescent light caused extreme inflammation and sensitivity. None of my doctors ever explained any of these side effects to me, let alone the issue of addiction to steroid eye drops or the damage caused by weaning off of them. They blamed my eyes (blepharitis, episcleritis), never the "medicine" which was supposedly going to manage the redness. Yet, it was clear that things were on average getting worse while using SEDs. I kept coming back to Tobradex which was the most effective at temporarily reducing some of the redness, only to flare up 1-2 days later. I finally discovered the way out of this decade-long horrific nightmare was to both wean very slowly AND, most importantly, to do so while minimizing all exposure to light. It took almost 2 months of weaning AND living mostly in the dark (no store trips, no phone usage, no computer work, no TV or movies) to finally break free from the vicious cycle of taking SEDs for the redness, which caused the light sensitivity, which caused more redness, which required more SEDs. It's been over a year since my last dose, and my eyes are finally, nearly back to normal. My nightmare all started with a week-long Tobradex prescription to prevent the risk of infection after eyelid surgery. The rebound/withdrawal redness started 2 weeks later and the doctor put me back on Tobradex to treat the redness which caused the multi-year vicious SEDs dependency cycle. I saw over a dozen doctors over this decade and they all said SEDs would help me. DON'T BE THE NEXT VICTIM!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bella | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had about 3-4 STYES on my lower lids which were not healing up (they usually heal within about 1-2 weeks). I had had them for about 2-3 months. So, the doctor prescribed Tobradex ointment. I went through the vial, and my eyes cleared up. But, 2 months later, the issue returned. I was again prescribed Tobradex, but two of the styes did not heal 100%. Another 2 months later, there were additional issues, as well as severe redness/inflammation inside the lid. Again, I was prescribed Tobradex. During that third vial, I began to see dramatic changes in my vision, so I immediately stopped the treatment. Visual changes: 1. Sometimes I could see my face in the mirror. Other times, my face was blurry. 2. A couple of times, it looked as if my vision had ripples....like a pond. That was scary. These issues cleared up, but I was concerned if the drug had done long-term damage to my eyes. Later, an eye doctor said I was forming cataracts. (I'm 55. My parents didn't have cataracts.) This is a possible side effect of this drug, if used LONG TERM. However, there is absolutely NOTHING online that indicates what "long-term" means. And the doctors and the pharmacists don't know. Why did Alcon and the FDA list such ambiguous terms, if this drug can cause long-term damage to the eyes? Looking back, if I had known the risks, I would NOT have used this drug. And I'd urge doctors and patients to use alternatives, such as non-steroidal medications that have been tried and tested for a decade or more. For me, the only thing that completely healed my eyes was tea tree oil mixed with equal parts of olive oil, and rubbed over my eyelids each a.m. and p.m. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just had an eye biopsy done on two parts of my eye. I have stitches inside my eye and on part of my eyelid. I was given this ointment to put on it, twice a day. I have to say - ease of use hasn't been great. I'm supposed to drip this into my eye but half the time it just ends up on my face and eyelashes instead. My eye is sore and feels weird from the biopsy, and I guess this stuff kind of helps. I've noticed my eye twitching a LOT more because of this stuff. It's practically immediately after I put this in. Not sure why, maybe the steroid or something is irritating part of my eye. I plan to ask my eye doctor next week. I kind of wish I had eye drops instead or something...this stuff makes my eyes very blurry at first.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SPG | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for A.S related iritis. The main ingredient is white petrolium jelly. I am allergic to that, and this just gave me a red puffy painful rash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On a few occasions my Doctor has prescribed this for use in my ears when a oral antibiotic is not effective. It will penetrate into your inner ear and kill bacteria that are anaerobic. I live in an area with very bad air and am susceptible to allergies and ear infections a few times a year, especially if I get a cold. This always clears it up within 2-3 days. If I feel even a hint of my ears starting to act up I put a drop in each ear a couple of times for a day or two and it seems to clear up before getting infected. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pete | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2014
Condition: Infection Confined to the Surface of the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had corneal infection in my eye and my optometrist suggest this ..it cures the Redness in 3 hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aspenlight | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2013
Condition: Scratch Wound on Cornea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dog accidently scratch wounded my conea. I was in so much pain. I had this medicine left over from my opthamologist, when I had used it for pink eye(cured completely!) I put in the trobaDex ointment before bed, woke up the next day and the pain is gone! NO allergic reactions and I have sensitive eyes! This is a lifesaver!I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ama | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2012
Condition: Infection Confined to the Surface of the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Due to blepharitis I have recurring ulcers on my cornea which often results in infections. If the ulcers/infection are severe my dr gives Vigamox but if it's caught early this drug is very effective. Usually $150 but dr. gave me coupon for pharmacy, only cost $25. Much cheaper than Vigamox. A little harder to use because it's slightly thicker than a typical drop. A little blurriness, a slight metallic taste in the mouth, also diarrhea but I get that with any antibiotic - my body does not handle antibiotics well at all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cdamato | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2012
Condition: Scratch Wound on Cornea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Tobradex to help with the swelling of my eyelids and scratch on my cornea. The eye drops worked great and helped reduce the swelling within 24 hours. The only problems I had was that when putting in the drops, it burned for a couple seconds and blurred my vision. I also developed swelling in my mouth, my gums, and teeth hurt so bad I couldn't eat. This started happening 3 days after taking the drops. I took Benedril and that inflamation was gone overnight. I believe I had an allergic reaction to the medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flemming | 25-34 | Male | Caregiver
7/7/2011
Condition: Bacterial Infection of the Eyelid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is blind and has been taking this perscription since July 4, 2011, first starting with 1 drop in right eye every 3 hours for 2 weeks, then 1 drip 4 times daily for 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pondoman2 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2011
Condition: Inflammation of Eyelid Edges and the Lining of the Eye
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused blurred vision, but it worked well reducing the inflamation and irritation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
markincr | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2011
Condition: Bacterial Infection of the Eyelid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for an eye infection and then later to treat blepharitis...which is like an inflammation of the eyelids. It works so well that I have taken to using it for five days or so whenever the blepharitis starts coming back. But today I mentioned that to a doctor of internal medicine and he said it's not a good idea to use it frequently because one of the two ingredients is a steroid. He is going to explain other ways to control the blepharitis. It is true that it is cheaper in Latin America... I live in Costa Rica and can walk into any drugstore and buy it for about $15.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asdfasdf1 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Can someone please comment on the effectiveness of this for severe cases of otitis externa (swimmer's ear)? It's been prescribed to me - off label of course since it's not approved for use in the ears - and I'm a little concerned. Has anyone experienced hearing loss? As with everything else there is conflicting information online. I do not want to cause any further damage to my hearing if I can avoid it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jem | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/2/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this med for iritis flare ups. It helps with the extreme pain and light sensitivity very quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2010
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sleeping in contacts overnight and bacteria got into the eyes which made it hard for me to be in sunlight or any other light

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sore eyes | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2010
Condition: Inflammation of Eyelid Edges and the Lining of the Eye
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A little confusing as to how to administer the cream. found iout the cream should be administered directly to the affected eyelid, but nobody told me that. Once I started that, the pain andswelling started to go away and was fully gone within three days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ydna | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/9/2010
Condition: Bacterial Infection of the Eyelid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Miraculous improvement to a condition suffered for months with great discomfort

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
comgeek26 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this after I'd had an iodine plaque put in and removed from my left eye. Up until I was prescribed the ointment I'd been taking the Tobradex drops, but a stitch was starting to come out of the scar and make it very sore, so they prescribed the ointment as a way (I guess) of speeding up the healing. It hasn't been sore since. I can move my eye around in all directions without any pain. It does tend to make the vision in that eye kind of blurry, though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More