Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

The doctor told me I have burrs and haven't ANY cartilage left in my right knee - he said I need knee replacement surgery. In the meantime - I have received 2 injections for my knee - the first one in 4/13 lasted 2 weeks then pain came back like gangbusters! I suffered through the summer but was going on vacation at the end of August so I went for another one. From what I was told - the first inj...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

HOW LONG HAS IT TAKEN FOR THIS MEDICATION TAKEN TO WORK FOR YOU ALL PLEASE RESPOND

Shared reviews and ratings

T | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Lining of a Joint
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor used it to treat bursitis in my shoulder, which has been severely limiting my mobility and causing intense pain. The positive is that the pain was reduced and much of mobility is back. The drawback is that the injection itself was very discomforting. I was hoping this would be a permanent fix for my shoulders, but having read the comments on here about this being temporary I'm not encouraged.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe RA with hip degeneration. Swelling in all my joints. I was so bad I was freezing up at night. I had to use a cane periodically. I got this injection in my hip 3 months ago and it was the greatest thing I have ever had done. The next morning all my swelling was gone. I cried when I could literally move and bend my fingers. I loved it. I gained 8 lbs. I didnt realize this could be a side effect. My 3 months is up and I was told I could get it every three months. I actually just got Shingles. My doctor told me to wait on another injection. It was well worth it. The pain still isnt very bad after 3 months. I am going to try to go as long as I can until another one. If I get as bad as I was before that shot I wont thing twice about getting another one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lotusone2000 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/28/2015
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment for severe pain in left hip joint following 2 surgeries 4 years ago. Injection worked within 1 hour and lasted 4-5 weeks. Greatly improved quality of life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Val | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2015
Condition: Inflammation of Skin and Muscles All Over the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JDubya | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/30/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Tendon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from pain in my knees and gout in my feet which were both successfully treated, but the pain in my heels persisted. The doctor claimed the pain in my feet was due to plantar faciitis and told me to get some thick foot pads for my shoes (I am not terribly overweight 185 lbs). After almost a year of putting up with the pain, another doctor suggested injections. She claimed that it would hurt a lot at first but that it would take the pain away. Well, it didn't hurt (I am on Gabapentin 2400 mg/day) and what a difference - within three days the pain was completely gone in both feet. I continue to wear the orthotics (foot pads) that the other doctor recommended and I still have pain in my feet especially in the mornings and after walking too much - like while shopping or site-seeing. I sure wish that they had done it sooner. First it was my knees, then my heels, now it is my hip joints and lower back mixed in with RLS.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unable to breathe due to severe allergic reaction and overuse of over-the-counter sinus sprays, this intramuscular injection provided immediate reduction of the swelling in my sinuses and nasal passages and enabled me to breathe normally for the first time in weeks. Follow up with (generic) Flonase and Claritin D has continued the relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jaysmama | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor told me I have burrs and haven't ANY cartilage left in my right knee - he said I need knee replacement surgery. In the meantime - I have received 2 injections for my knee - the first one in 4/13 lasted 2 weeks then pain came back like gangbusters! I suffered through the summer but was going on vacation at the end of August so I went for another one. From what I was told - the first injection lasts the longest so my expectations for this one was hopefully this one would at least get me through my week's vacation. Contrary to what I was told -this 2nd one has lasted - so far -2 1/2 months! I'm starting to get 'twinges' so I guess it's wearing off. Before I go for surgery - I'm going to explore other solutions for injection because the doctor told me he wouldn't give me anymore shots of methyprenisolone. Hopefully - I'll find something that lasts longer. I read about a doctor who is working on re-growing cartilage in a lab for injection to replace the cartilage lost. I can always have the replacement but before I do I'm going to investigate all alternative remedies. Medical science is discovering new things every day! Meanwhile - I'll suffer through-wear a brace - and pray a lot!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Injected into vaginal wall to alleviate constant pelvic pain due to insertion and removal of vaginal mesh. This was horrible and I have after a month bad side effects. Have been to other doctors and ER as feet have gone numb and tingly. I had this injection Oct. 3, 2013 and am still hurting and feeling sick. I would never have this stuff again. It causes trouble. Especially injected intra-vaginally. Awful ongoing experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jeannie67 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it never made it feel better and I have still pain when walking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tangi | Caregiver
3/11/2013
Condition: Muscle Pain and Stiffness in Shoulder, Neck and Pelvis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Watching 60-minutes gives me the idea that this medication from NECC is deadly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sant paxton | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Med is Pretty Good!! But My Last Injection took Effect in 2 Days; I Was Pain Free!! Then On the 5thDay The PAIN Came Back for 20 Day or More in July2012. I Felt like it Crippled Me for the Month of July. But thats was Very Rare; Maybe it was the Way it was Injected on my Hip Bone. Not to Scare AnyOne; So I'll Definitely Beg For Another Injection. After I Ask the Doctor what type of Med Was That his Nurse Gave Me?? Other than that;PREDNISYLONE :-)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruby | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/8/2012
Condition: Muscle Pain and Stiffness in Shoulder, Neck and Pelvis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fibromylgia Takes a couple days after injections for swelling to disapate after. Lasts about six weeks but was able to do my normal household chores Enjoyed not having to take so much pain medications just to get through the day. Even though I've had 42 injections in my upper back, shoulders, and lower back so far. I would continue as long as it limits the overall nerve and muscle pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robert | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/18/2011
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JR | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/6/2011
Condition: Inflammation of Several Cartilages of the Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe Inflammatory Osteo Arthritis, though I take voltaren and plaquenil they do not control the inflammation and pain and difficulty in moving all the time. Early spring being the worst (dampest) time of the year. These injections which I am allowed only 4 times a year and which I use only when absolutely needed usually two or three times a year. They work exceptionally well and during the time immediately after become more mobile and build up condition and strength. don't know what I would do without it. I read that it also helps with T-cell lymphoma from which I am in remission.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silver-wolf | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
11/25/2009
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

within two days I was pain free and able to do anything that I want. Haven,t been able to do things I like for a long time. I have received two injections in the last 6 months. Three months apart. Wish they would last longer as the effectiveness wears off too soon. Lasts only about two months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
methylprednisolone | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/29/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Lining of a Joint
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

fracture in the ankle, not healed in 2 1/2 yrs, no surgery to date

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PLEASE_HELP | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/10/2009
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HOW LONG HAS IT TAKEN FOR THIS MEDICATION TAKEN TO WORK FOR YOU ALL PLEASE RESPOND

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More