Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

This cleared up my sinus infection, but with terrible side effects. I experienced anxiety, depression, vivid nightmares, and one auditory hallucination. I also experienced extreme irritability. I was unable to finish the whole course due to the side effects, but my infection was cleared by then. I will not take this medication again.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Side effects made this a terrible choice despite what appears to be an improvement in sinus infection. I echo others who have noted severe impact to psychological well being. I too thought I was losing my mind. Sleepless nights in a recliner, restless. Was already traumatized from a severe nose bleed and trip to ER prior to an ENT referral then this RX prescribed. I don't normally experience ...

Shared reviews and ratings

campycarrier | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2023
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When reading reviews it’s probably good to remember that everyone is different. People saying ‘avoid’ and ‘will never take again’. Don’t avoid as you don’t know, it may be effective for you. Weirdly I like the smell/taste of this antibiotic. I’m taking it for Campylobacter, it was a bout of food poisoning which should have cleared in 3-5 days but i still had it 12 days later. My main symptom is dizziness/lightheaded resulting in nausea however I’ve had this since my food poising started so unable to say if it’s the antibiotics or the campylobacter Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tiffany | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2023
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everything was going great till day 6! Major exhaustion set in a few days which wasn't to much of a bother but then the night terrors hit. Night terrors so bad I woke up crying ?? 2 nights of night terrors is all I can take. They seemed to real and ruined both days for me! This morning when the alarm went off I thought it was the fire alarm and thought there was a fire ?? this did it for me I can't handle another pill. I managed the diarrhea with probiotics and nausea with zopran everything was good and I thought I would be able to finish but then the unthinkable happened. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deedee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2022
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no side effects with this antibiotic, unlike amoxicillin , which has recently started to make me feel sick . I don’t care if I get any other side effects , but nausea is the pits . I’m am cured of my lung infection and skin problems to boot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abs21955 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WOW!! I read all the reviews so I could understand what I might expect when taking this medicine, but I had a great experience with this. I was so scared after reading reviews but extremely glad I took this antibiotic. I took it with amoxicillin and pantoprazole for 2 weeks and had almost no side effects. I had some nausea but I don't know if that was from the gastritis so I can say for sure. I had the AWFUL taste in my mouth but sucked on mints throughout the day to help it, but the worst was definitely waking up. I found it difficult to sleep as every time I woke up I experienced the horrible taste and had to run to the bathroom to brush my teeth. Other than that no other side effects, and I highly recommend taking this pill especially if you have H. Pylori like I did.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2022
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from sinus infections for months. It started with prolonged bouts of seasonal rhinitis. I had been feeling fatigued, depressed, lethargic and frustrated, painful sinuses, constant discharge from nose, etc. My allergist prescribed a course of an antibiotic (name of which I can’t remember) that seemed to clear up symptoms for awhile but after a couple of months I was back to where I started so I I was prescribed a twice a day ten day course of clarithromyicin. The second day I had a nasty, bitter, tinny taste in my mouth that has persisted for the five days I have been taking the medication and I’ve felt discomfort in my upper abdomen BUT my sinuses cleared completely after the fourth day for the first time in ages. I have experienced this medication as harsh verging in brutal. I plan to try to withstand the side effects for the rest of the course in the hope that the initial relief of the infection will be sustained Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ros | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only taken 2 doses got a nasty taste and feeling depressed, seems to have a lot of nasty side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anoniem | 25-34 | Female | Patient
10/11/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1000mg 1 x per day. This drug definitely disagrees with my system. On day 1 I had restless legs, Itchiness and insomnia. Day 2 was far worse. The back, joint and muscle pain was excruciating, I had what I can only describe as mild psychosis, I was terribly nauseous and felt like I was going to die. Definitely check with your doctor if you've ever had a reaction to antibiotics and rather avoid if in doubt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
petunia | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on Clarithromycin (Klacid) 250 mg as a 7 day course. (14 tablets) So after the 8th tablet (day 4) i had similar to what someone else said below. I would try and go to sleep and whenever i reached that point of just falling off to sleep, my chest would get a slight burning pain and wake me up again. It was either that or my throat would close over right as i would go to sleep, waking me up. This went on for two full nights. No sleep at all. I thought I was dying. I stopped the tablets after asking the doctor The 7th night I actually slept ok probably out of sheer exhaustion. But the 8th night it all happened again and by the 9th night I was telling my partner i didn't want to be alive anymore, I felt completely mental. But then that night I slept ok again out of sheer exhaustion and a very big cry. . Its now the 12th night and I have slept fine since, with just a tickle in my throat as i go to sleep. I can't put my symptoms down to anything else, I will never take this antibiotic again, it is so so bad!!!!!! Don't take it!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2022
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second time I've taken Clarithromycin and I can confirm the side effects are from this drug. Please AVOID at all costs. After the 3rd pill, I've started having hot flushed, rapid heartbeat (>150 bpm), heart palpitations and panic attack. After the 4th dose I lost my apetite, started developing stomach cramps, muscles pains, extreme fatigue and dizziness. I felt like my body isn't mine and kept experiencing nightmares. Please be careful with this medicine, it is dangerous and hasnt even helped my original symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mohammed | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reading the reviews on here made me chuckle after suffering 2 weeks with a untreated bacterial infection severe red inflamed throat and tummy pain and a fever these tablets were worth more there weight in gold for me who cares about the side affects they made me better im alive. If your bothered about the side affects then you must not have been in pain like i was get a life thank good your alive and these tablets made you better instead of complaining about the side affects lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got tonsillitis, then Doctor recommend this Clarithromycine Antibiotic on 1st day the pain of my tonsils was lessen, but I dont like its side effect, When I eat and take the medicine, every after 2 hours, I feel stomach pain and vomiting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only 3 days of taking this antibiotic I am experiencing awful side effects. I’m jittery, have watery diarrhea, nausea, fatigue, headache, brain fog. Can’t remember ever feeling this bad. Have stopped taking it and will never take this again. Can’t believe it’s on the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed for this medication because of ear infection after a flu( cold). First day i had severe stomach pain for maybe 20 min. From second day the thing that it bothered me alot was the bitter taste in my mouth which didnt go away for more than 8 hrs after my medication. today is my third day and bitter saliva still bothering me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noni | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Klarithran 500mg, to take for 7 days. Day 1 and 2, I had bad insomnia, I was up till 03h00 in the morning. On day 3 I was exhausted and so slept at 19h00. After that my throat felt tight, I would get a metallic taste in my mouth during the day and a bad taste in my mouth when I woke up in the morning. I also felt out of balance and kind of drowsy during the day as if I was going to just fall down. I had terrible dreams at night, I would be fighting people, fighting the police, people dragging me on the floor etc, geez. I was constipated, and still am 2 days after I finished my antibiotic course. On the 6th day, it felt like I was high, I was just laughing one way at stupid comments. This antibiotic is really bad and I will never take it again, unless it's a matter of life and death. Funny enough, I did not get any better until I finished the course, to go through such trauma and still suffer till day 7 does not make sense to me. Maybe if I allowed my body to fight Bronchitis itself, it would have been much better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Casondra Lujan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was given to me by my dr for sore throat. I took this medication for 1 day and I knew it was ineffective. I was actually getting more sick I began vomiting I couldn’t eat & as sick as I was I couldn’t sleep. My anxiety was through the roof . And it made me weak like I was going to faint. My husband insisted I keep taking it. But I know my body and I knew this medication was NOT for me . Please don’t continue if you are experiencing more issues or don’t feel comfortable. I refuse to use this ever again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
n/a | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just felt pretty horrible throughout. Constant nausea to a point where I couldn't concentrate, stomach upset, constipation, very lethargic during the day, no motivation whatsoever, terrible continuous migraine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sshaik | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Klacid for a severe sinus infection, but could not complete the course beyond 2.5 days. The side effects are awful, I had trouble sleeping, restlessness, and the worst abdominal cramps and constant nausea. I will not use it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hayley | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will never take again knocked my anxiety side ways I would rather be in pain than take them again nerves have hit an all time low and low mood

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was in the middle of the night when I tried to sleep and I felt my chest very heavy not knowing exactly why, since I started feeling like this after the 3th dose. On my 4th dose I have experieced very intense anxiety and it was followed by insomnia and a burning sensation in chest that wouldn't let me sleep. 5th dose now, I am awake at 4am and whenever I fell asleep, not even 2 minutes after I would wake up because I felt out of my breath, happened 3 to 4 times in a row. A burning sensation in chest that I was really concerned since I have never felt such thing before. The sensation in chest wouldn't let me sleep. I am now on my second day without sleep. I wouldn't recomend...took it for throat infectionRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began taking this after developing a slight infection from the flu. I think it was tonsillitis. I was worried about the side effects after reading so many bad reviews but I can honestly say it was fine! Please don’t worry. The first two days I felt tired and a little queasy after taking them but this passed after an hour or so. I felt absolutely fine from day three onwards. The only side effect that was a bit unpleasant was a metallic taste in my mouth about an hour after taking them. It would last most of the day- this got better throughout the week though. Overall- cleared my infection so quick, would definitely have again!??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More