Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I started taking Serevent about a year and a half ago after I had a really terrible cold that basically shut my lungs down entirely, after which my Flovent stopped working for me (I had been on Flovent for 11.5 years at this point). As far as asthma symptoms go, the Serevent manages my symptoms (and the causes) better than anything else I've ever taken for asthma. Lately, however, I've noticed sor...

Shared reviews and ratings

natashaxe | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/21/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I am on several different medications, it is difficult to tell which symptoms I experience are attributed to my use of Dulera. As with all drugs, the side effects are listed with the drug information and my additional symptoms could be caused by the Dulera. Perhaps in an effort to ensure I continue taking it even when asymptomatic, doctors typically dismiss my concerns when I report possible side effects. More than one doctor has made the claim that these inhaled steroid inhalers rarely cause side effects. The doctor's explanation is that the inhaled medication does not primarily work in the blood stream therefore has reduced access to other parts of the body. Though relative to Prednisone, the drug will have less impact in the blood stream, it will still be present. Identifying possible side effects is not the priority it should be in medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/2/2014
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emmejm | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/30/2011
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Serevent about a year and a half ago after I had a really terrible cold that basically shut my lungs down entirely, after which my Flovent stopped working for me (I had been on Flovent for 11.5 years at this point). As far as asthma symptoms go, the Serevent manages my symptoms (and the causes) better than anything else I've ever taken for asthma. Lately, however, I've noticed sores on my tongue, near the back of my mouth. I know many asthma medications can cause oral infections, but has anyone else noticed this with Serevent in particular? I know I frequently fail to remember to rinse my mouth after taking it, which could be contributing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Patient
6/27/2010
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/14/2010
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lumberjilltx | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/8/2010
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
metro 92242 @yahoo.com | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/13/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is for copd and works i use twice a day and i don't need to use me combivent more then twice a day 14.7/200

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tigger | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/2/2009
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After two years of use I started with "severe" muscle cramping all over the body. I have since changed to foradil which in the listing shows the same side effects. Does anyone else have these problems?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1grandmad | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2009
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The aerobid which I use with this says to rinse mouth after use and not swallow but spit out the water--am wondering if the same is true for serevent but have not been able to find anything regarding this. Any advice? Thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2009
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been on the Serevent for very long, but I've already noticed the side effects. I was put on quite a few meds all at once after a recent doctors visit. Since then, I had been having uncontrollable mood swings which led to anxiety problems. After accidently leaving my Serevent at school and having to skip a dose, I woke up more refreshed than I had since I began taking it, and was in a wonderful mood all day. I've been having a little trouble breathing correctly, but I've had to outbursts (and my appetite is fully back!). I don't know if it's the Serevent only that had the bad effect on me, or the drug overall, but I would suggest at least trying it. It's job is to help breathing, and it suceeded in that. The side effects may be costly, however!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lopi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/19/2008
Condition: Exercise-Induced Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug nearly killed me. It made my asthma quite severe and dangerous- and the doc kept telling me I needed to take oral steroids with this med. I was began having severe night sweats and incredible fatigue, and smelled like chemicals. I took myself off this med & fired my doc, and lo-and-behold I no longer smelled like chemicals and I started getting better. It has been 4 years and I am still regaining my health from the devistation that I believe that this medication did to my body. As a result, I have adrenal problems etc... Being off of this med, my asthma got better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sara | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2007
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dramatically improved my exercise-induced asthma as well as nighttime stuffy nose. I did get a mild rash for about a week - hydrcortisone did not help but I was able to allieviate it with Fluocinolone Acetonide cream. As I said to my doctor, Physical exercise and planty of sleep make for a cheerful person and a happy patient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/6/2007
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this medication, for the most part, only once a day. I have gone weeks without using the medication with no asthma symptoms occuring. I forgot I even had the drup.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have "Reactive Airway Disease", that has bothered me for years. This Rx fixed the hacking cough & labored breathing. Just a pain to take 2x a day & would like to see Pulimcort publish the PEF online calculator as it's different from most peak flow meters

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Narat | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/27/2007
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used Sevevent for about 9 years now. I think it is a good medication, however sometimes I experience some short term wheezing and tightness in the chest after taking it, which usually goes away. I find that the medication's main benefit is that it keeps my lungs dialated enough to sleep soundly through the night without having to reach for my inhaler every few hours, so I only take it before going to bed. During my active hours, I rely on my albuterol, because it just seems to keep my lungs more loose, especially when working out. The more active I am, the less effective Serevent seems to be. I wonder if anyone reading this has had the same experience with this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Earl | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/8/2007
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Serevent for almost 10 years. Before, I had to use Provental or similar with maximum dosage. Even then I would have to use a steroid every couple of months. Since using Serevent no more steroids or even Provental or other brochodilators. For me it is the greatest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More