Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

After 4 miscarriages I was referred to a fertility clinic. My RE put me on this medication for the first 10 weeks of pregnancy. For the first time I have heard a heartbeat. I realize that this website claims that progesterone cannot prevent miscarriage and that's probably true in general but for women like me who are carrying healthy embryos but don't make enough progesterone, it can make a differ...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

This is my second IVF cycle and the first resulted in a very healthy little girl. This medicine worked better for me than the suppositories. They were messy and made me extremely nauseated. The injection site is sore and does swell but i have found that an ice pack after injection helps some.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jasmin | 35-44 | Female | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm starting my progesterone in oil in the upcoming weeks. I'm a little concerned though because my "oil" doesnt look like oil at all. It's clear and thin, looks just like sterile water. Please let me know if anyone had their oil look like this as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
little_peanut | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it everyday for 12 weeks of my pregnancy (entire first trimester) and had a successful pregnancy even though I bled 3 times during the pregnancy. I had no redness or soreness and no pain during poking (thanks to synera). This was my first IVF. My doctor prescribed Synera patch that I would put about 40 mins before poking at the injection site. I would also warm the progesterone in sesame oil a little (put in in warm water for 10 mins) and my husband would give me a good massage rubbing the injection site so the oil would dissipate after each shot. He rubbed the injection site after poking me for at least 5 minutes. That helped a lot. Now I am going for my second and my progesterone starts in about 8 days. I dont know if we will have all the time luxury we had during the first time specially since my kiddo will create a ruckus in the meantime but fingers crossed~!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I get my injection I use a numbing cream 30 min prior and I use an ice pack to elevate the possibility of pain. I use my heating pad to warm the oil in the syringe. I lay down and my husband injects me. We make an invisible line with my bum crack to my hip and inject in the middle of that line at the crack level. These shots don’t hurt at all for me. There next day it feels like I’ve done a good butt workout. From videos and comments I thought it would be painful. I look forward to my shots (if that’s a thing) I definitely don’t dread them. I’ve taken like 15 of them now? It’s not bad. I haven’t tried them without my above method though so maybe take note. Of course clean off the numbing cream and sanitize before injecting. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sailtheocean | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Progesterone in oil shots were extremely painful even after warming up the oil and using heating pad afterwards. We triple checked the area of injection as well. Administration doesn't hurt, but the pain the night of and the next day is so excruciating that I couldn't move, walk and sit. Pure torture. No known allergies, but just extremely painful injection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The itching from the injection is like my main issue I have a lot of junk I’m the trunk so the swelling doesn’t bother me that much but I’ve been getting a lot of lower back pain. One failed Transferred and second transfer took I’m 3weeks and still going I gotta take my every night. I give myself the shot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lolla | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's my first Ivf cycle and I'm pregnancy but my progestron was alittle but low so they put me on progestron ethyl inj I can't say how I feel , I'm sore and swollen I can't even walk my hole butt is Swalling , I'm having a hard time sleeping gettin up , walking and I have to us it for 4 more weeks I don't know how I'm gonna deal with it but my progestron level is perfect now so I have to keep doin it . Good luck guys

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started getting this shot on 8/11/15. This shot is once a week. The first time I took it did give me a little red spot. The second time it was a different nurse and she did really well. I didn't feel a thing. Last week, 9/7/15, I started to get swollen and itchiness. It was so uncomfortable!! It was so itchy that I can't stopped scratching it. Some reason from the spot where I got the shot it spread to my spine and almost to my belly button. It was really weird. And that night I couldn't breath. I literally has sleep sitting up. I called my nurse the next day and she said to put some hydrocortisone to help the itchiness. And it did for couple minutes and back to itchiness again. The swollen felt HOT!! And created a stretch mark for me it was really painful feel like you got an ant bite or a bee sting that doesn't go away. She also mentioned to get Benadryl cream I didn't have Benadryl cream but I did have the pill. I drank it and it did help my breathing I was able sleep well that night. The next night I did not have anymore breathing. Yesterday, 9/14/15 was my 6th shots and it was not comfortable at all. I got still got swollen when I got the shot. It did gave me another stretch mark this time longer. The place where it is swollen very HOT!!! ICE PACK did help a lot. The itchiness is indescribable. Can't stop scratching. The swollen and itchiness does go away slowly. By the time your itchiness go away the other side shot it's due. (Each shot is giving above your hip and alternate from left to right.) Going to get the Benadryl cream today. This is worse than giving birth because at least giving birth is just 1 time thing. This is every week. When you think you are done you are not. I have another 9 shots to go can't wait to be done with. :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yy15 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my first cycle of IVF. The physician prescribed progesterone injection and suppositories. My husband or I would give the daily injections. I used the progesterone in sesame oil for about 10 days until I had an allergic reaction to it and developed rash on and near the injection sites. My doctor switched me to oleate ethyl based progesterone afterward and I haven't had any adverse skin reaction yet. The injection is painful but it's worth it because I do not make enough progesterone (contributed by the IVF procedure), without the injection the chance of a miscarriage is much higher. I am only 4 weeks pregnant so I still have a long way to go. My doctor said depends on my progesterone level, I may have to do the injections/suppository for another 2-12 weeks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lovingmyivfbabies | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second IVF cycle and the first resulted in a very healthy little girl. This medicine worked better for me than the suppositories. They were messy and made me extremely nauseated. The injection site is sore and does swell but i have found that an ice pack after injection helps some.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
progesteroneuser | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 4 miscarriages I was referred to a fertility clinic. My RE put me on this medication for the first 10 weeks of pregnancy. For the first time I have heard a heartbeat. I realize that this website claims that progesterone cannot prevent miscarriage and that's probably true in general but for women like me who are carrying healthy embryos but don't make enough progesterone, it can make a difference. The injections themselves are unpleasant and if I don't rub it in well enough it will leave a lump. After injecting it I rub it in for a few minutes and then sit with my injection site on a heating pad. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ciera1love | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taken progesterone 1cc IM every day for 8 days straight as part of an IVF regimen to sustain the uterine lining in hopes of implantation. my injection is not sesame oil. it is 50 mg/ml and made with ethyl oleate. if you can get this instead of the sesame oil..do so. it is much thinner. after 8 days straight my behind is getting a bit sore, but it is tolerable for now. the side effects include boob soreness and i feel somewhat bloated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gone through several ivf treatments and have taken progesterone in oil. Last time I started getting extremely itchy bumps in a few areas so my doctor took me off the injections and put me on suppositories. I lost the pregnancy. They can't monitor the progesterone levels in your blood from just taking the suppositories. This time around the itchiness and bumps is much worse. It appears all over my body including my fingers and even between my toes. My doctor told me to keep taking the progesterone but it is so extremely uncomfortable that I can't function properly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mommy2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took these shots to prevent postpardom depression after having my second child, as I had this problem after my first. The treatment worked great and I had no symptoms of postpardom, however the side effects are awful. I have never had acne and I had acne that would not go away. I have extremely thick hair and it is falling out in handfuls. When I wash my hair the bath tub is full of hair. When I wake up in the morning there is a lot of hair on my pillow. If I run my hands through my hair it comes out in hand fulls. I have also had more headaches and nausea too. It works if you are willing to accept the possibility of these side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babyblue | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on progesterone oil for 10 days , i used like 2 years ago also.im using it for ivf treatment, the whole injection process dose not bother me but the site of the injection is painfull , red and swollen.but my doctor says is the only way to do this treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More