Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I have used Psyllium Fiber for more than 25 years every day first,to keep my cholesterol in check then to cleanse my colon and many other healthy surprises I found by reading medical reports about this wonderful fiber.I can truly say that I am about 99% healthy and I owe it mostly to Psyllium, my diet and exercise 30 minutes monday thru saturday.

Shared reviews and ratings

alb7039 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/26/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this in capsule form; 4 caps a day. I am prone to constipation, so taking 4 caps in the morning ensures that I clear out my colon daily. I wouldn't even try to take a powder - capsules are so easy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady from Australia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/28/2019
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to have bowel motions wothout a shape. I suffer from IBD. The P.Husks have helped me by having less runny bowel motions. I was taking 1 tablespoon a day at night, but i started to develop fluid retention, weight gain and dizziness due to taking P.Husks. I believe it is taking all the water from my body so i have to either reduce the amount i take per day or not take it everyday. I am writing this to inform others that although it has a lot of benefits, it needs to be taken with precaution as it can be dangerous as well. I didn't take it last night just to test it and this morning, i weighed myself and i lost 1 kg in weight and my body felt less swollen. I could not find any information in relation to my symptoms but i believe that i have to increase my water intake( i am unsure to the amount) to counteract my water retention. My blood tests are all within the normal limits except for my proteins which lower than average. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 35-44 | Female | Patient
2/11/2019
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am I the only for for who this doesn’t work? I toook a big tb spoon of this and plenty of water. I justa feel vloated and nothing coming out waited a whole day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rintoron | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2018
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've dealt with IBS for years. My doctors have offered very little to help with this. My sister switched to Metamucil and gave me her psyllium husk capsules just to try. I've been taking two, sometimes four capsules a day for only one month but am shocked at the effects. My IBS was 4 days on, 3 days off; with this new treatment I am having a perfect seven! Only side effect seems to be bloating, which my husband and I agree is better than what we had been putting up with--urgent runs every other day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Soliddump | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had runny dumps now they solid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yumyum | 55-64 | Male | Patient
7/28/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used because I reduced carbs in my diet and increased protein. Without psyllium bowl movement is hard and infrequent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jsmith501 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/3/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for a strange bowel issue (we'll call it incomplete / urgency), diagnosed as IBD-D. I've found that the higher concentration to teaspoon ratio is best, and take it twice a day (before breakfast and dinner). I prefer the pure stuff mixed with 8oz of water, seems to work better than the pills or stuff they try to mix with chemicals to taste better. Pure form is a rough drink mix (not pleasant), but you need to drink quickly so it's done and over fast, worth the benefits for me anyway. After over a year of treatment, I'm consistently at one wipe and clean 90% of the time I have a BM. The other 10% is 3 - 4 wipes (which I assume is normal; something I've never been). I would recommend trying the pure stuff; after taking the clear powder and pills of fiber, they did nothing, and I almost wrote the fiber therapy off as worthless. Wish I would have found this sooner. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elron | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/22/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mix it with yogurt and chase with a cup of tea. Stools are perfect shape and consistency. Toilet time and paper are reduced to a fraction of previous. No more skid marks on the underwear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kayte | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Use of psyllium husks has helped my BMs, BUT I experienced extreme itching all over my body, so I had to stop using it. I wish I weren't allergic to it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Icyurn2me | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/29/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 26 yo male.I have been taking psyllium just over the course of 12 years. I always found that the husk seeds work so much better than taking the capsules. I don't recommened the capsules at all. I always had real bad bowls movement of not going to the bathroom for a week or so if I'm not on psyllium husk. My doctor always tell me that there's nothing wrong with me I just need more water, I drink tons of water couple gallons a day and still no movements without the psyllium. I talked to a few friends who have bowel movements issues too, little we knew that the most common people with bowel months are people who has the zodiac sign Virgo. We are all virgos and and decided to google intestint problems and our zodiac and ip from reading the articles it says for virgos to drink less liquids during meals, that's true as I cut drink anything during meals I do have better movements and of course I the psyllium is helpful. I make a smoothie shake every other night with 2 teaspoons of husk works wonderful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
juicy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This in the powder form works great but the pills don't seem to work. What do I do when traveling and don't have juice to mix the powder into. Taking a two week trip soon!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/5/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why are you referring to Psyllium Husk as a drug? It is not a drug or medication! Next you will call Apple a drug. Don't lump this with your MD allopathic drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BriNStl | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 31 male and have had bowel issues for the last 13 years. Thin stools, ribbon stools, loose stools, constipation, diarrhea... You name it no consistent bowl movement ever i would get into spurts where everything was fine for a few months then crazy bowl movements. Wether it be stress, anxiety, diet to much of this or that no clue I have a bad diet, and live a stressful life both can contribute to digestive issues. I tested negative for celiac disease, I've had stool samples taken nothing. Recently my biggest fear ever I went in for persistent loose stools and dr brought up possibility of chrones, colitus, or worse polyps or cancer. I had the big test a few small intestinal hemmoroids and a couple small diverticula which they said rare for someone in there 30's but reguardless I have them. I also had a CT scan of my lower abdomen nothing was found. The solution was a high fiber diet it does help, but it's hard to hit the 25+ grams of fiber mark per day. I will say I now use ground chia and flax seed in everything I eat it is a easy way to boost your fiber intake with little change to food taste. So I was still having loose stools I got a few meds to stop my gut from spasming they make me really dizzy. I started to take probiotics do they help not sure but then I remembered from the past 10 years ago my dr reccomending citrucel for my bowel issues. Researched it said was synthetic but medamucil was a natural fiber. I started small 1/4 a teaspoon per day at night everything changed overnight. I upped to 1/2 a teaspoon once a day before bed. I returned to my GI to ask if this was ok because the medicine which isn't realy a medicine just a fiber supplement was ok to take. His answer was yes take it for the rest if my life it is 100% natural I may have to play with it to get the right amount for me. Otherwise we may have to try meds and fiber was easier option. Not all days are perfect but 95% of them are ok I no longer suffer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/17/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great product, love the benefits. Just hope you never end up having to vomit it out. I briefly woke up in the middle of the night to see my wife vomiting Metamucil into the toilet. Needless to say, this was a traumatic experience for both of us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PsylliumLover | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using psyllium husks as a stool bulking agent during detox cleanses in my early 20s. I've always loved how easy it makes passing stools. More recently I've been dealing with hemorrhoids or something along those lines, and so have been taking it daily, along with a proper diet, and it has helped immensely. Suggestions for taking psyllium husk: You can buy it in bulk at most health food stores. Get a straw while you are out. Put a heaping tablespoon in a glass of 12-16 ounces of water. Stir it up real well and drink it with your straw. Follow with more water. The more water you drink with it, the better your bowel movements will be! 64oz a day!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mikelbgfl | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/30/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To the person that wanted to know how to use Metamucil when travelling: I used the generic equivalent of Metamucil for 3 weeks while travelling. Its not difficult to use the powder even when travelling. Just take a serving spoon with you and use the cups provided in every motel. I use my own bottled water. You will probably have to use the cup twice for a dose because they are pretty small. The pills are much more expensive and you have to take a lot of them for a serving. I don't like taking that many pills.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
9/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TREHAN | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cookie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is obvious that I am allergic to Psyllium husk fiber. I had taken it some time ago and had no problems. I recently took Metamucil and was nauseated for several hours. Then had some gluten free bread, became nauseated, and discovered psyllium husk was an ingredient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finally something that has helped me. Only been using for about 10 days starting out slow with 1/2 teaspoon of P. Husk powder twice a day. am/p.m I was having incomplete bm and loose watery bowel leakage later. So far that has stopped!!!! I have one bm or two bm in the a.m but no more wiping, wiping loose stool later. I guess it bulks it up and gets it out. Hope it continues to work I'm taking a small amount to start per my sisters advice , that's what she takes and has had no side effects. Hope this helps someone who may be having same problem I've been experiencing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More