Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I first took tetracycline when I was 14 and it worked perfectly but my parents made me cease taking it due to a significant loss of weight (have to take it on an empty stomach plus it made me lose my appetite). I gained my weight back really slowly and the acne came back within 6 months. So now I'm 19 and have decided to take it again. In the beginning I took it on an empty stomach and my acne...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Though this pill helped clear my acne effectively it caused me to have severe and terrifying panic attacks.

Shared reviews and ratings

HT | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from hormonal and stress induced acne and it was extremely bad. After two weeks of taking this I saw a vast improvement in the quality of my skin. It reduced the frequency in my spots and erased many of the blemishes I had from previous acne scars.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mal | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/14/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It broke out my skin but ended up getting super clear. The last week I was on my medicine I had a reaction to the drug and it caused me to not be able to drive, numbness in my body, neck aches, low blood sugar, and SEVERE anxiety from all of it. I have been off it for 1 week now and i’m still having anxiety attacks and a sore neck. I do not recommend this drug being so strong just to have my acne cleared. I wish I would have never considered this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jonesuie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2019
Condition: Bacterial Stomach or Intestine Infection caused by Anthrax
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I write this while holding an ice pack on my stomach. This medication gave me severe nausea and stomach cramping along with extreme fatigue and diarrhea. I am taking it for an h pylori infection and I am praying it works because after two weeks of throwing up and barely being able to eat or drink anything I really feel like I’m dying. My stomach is so upset still a day after finishing the meds. No one warned me how bad it would be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aceman123 | 55-64 | Male | Patient
6/27/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe tooth discoloration, do not use!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/18/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medicine a few months ago. For the first few weeks, it worked great- after a few days, my acne disappeared and I felt great. However, I started getting joint pain and headaches- like what some others reported. I still use this medicine and still get headaches. Whenever I stop taking it, the pain goes away. If the sacrifice of comfort and the easy schedule to take the drug on an empty stomach with a ton of water is worth it, I recommend it. Otherwise, try another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunflower | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/16/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading the comments, I felt I had to respond. I have taken Tetracycline for many, many years. I never had an outbreak until my 40s and it wasn't too bad. My doctor first gave me Tetracycline and I took it maybe two weeks and my face cleared up. Then I went off of it for maybe a month, and my face started breaking out again. Repeat with Tetracycline... This has been going on for years. Then it went off the market. Years went by and my face got just horrible. Finally I saw Tetracycline was back, but what a price.. a thousand dollars for 90 pills. I was desperate, paid my $100 deductible, and am clear again. Reason for this post... people, you don't need to take so many pills a day, every day. Take one pill a day, (mine is 500mg) for maybe a week and things will clear up. Maybe a month or two of clear skin, when it starts up again, start with the pills again. I was lucky enough to have a whole year of clear skin and no pills before it started up again. Let your body rest from the medication. I have no idea why, just know how to make it work. Hope this helps. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GeekMonkey | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/21/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though this pill helped clear my acne effectively it caused me to have severe and terrifying panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dallas F | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for Epididymitis (most likely a urinary tract infection and definitely not STI related as I have never had sex let alone masturbated). I was prescribed 100 mg doses two times a day for 10 days and it has been about 2 days. So far the pain I have experienced was worse then the combined pain of having it for 5 weeks, but the medication is definitely working and I have not noticed any side effects other than mild nausea and an occasional headache (this could be unrelated, and is barely noticeable). The symptoms are starting to go away and I will continue the dosage to ensure everything goes away. My pharmacist told me I could take the medication while eating as long as I don't have diary products, maybe it is different with higher dosages but it barely affects my eating schedule and I drink lots of water normally.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/4/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for about 1year to clear up my acne before my wedding and it worked great. Then, about 14 years later, I decided to go on it again and I had a severe reaction to it. I had horrible joint pain that I did not at first associate with the medication. But after I stopped taking it, the paint began to go away. I took one more pill and had such horrible pain, I was in agony. That is when I realized it was the tetracycline. I have never used it again and consider it my only allergen. A few of my joints still have residual pain. I continue to have cystic acne, but I wish I had never used Tetracycline. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Super Pooper | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
1/22/2014
Condition: Acute Gonorrhea of the Cervix
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it just taste good in my cereal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While this drug did help clear my acne it also caused benign intracranial hypertension (pseudotumor cerebri). Basically the drug caused me to have symptoms like having a brain tumor, but in fact I did not have a brain tumor. After about 3 months on this drug I started getting severe headaches and my vision started to become blurry. I went to see my eye doctor who told me my optic nerves were very swollen. He said that if I would have continued on this drug I could have had serious visual defects. This drug has a lot of negative side effets, and while it did clear up my acne it could have caused me to have permanent eye damage...it's up to you to outweight the risks with the reward but knowing what I know now I would have never taken the drug. It also cost me a lot of money, I had to see my eye doctor for about a total of 8 visits over a year period. Luckily I had insurance at that time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/27/2013
Condition: Chronic and Contagious form of Conjunctivitis - Trachoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel the side effects are worse than the condition. I prefer herbs like st johns wort which clears up any rash immediately like poison oak.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katherine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2012
Condition: Peptic Ulcer due to Bacteria Helicobacter Pylori
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was given this drug along with tripotassium dicitratobismuthate. caused a severe immune problem or bismuthate poisining can any one help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RICHARD HANSON | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2011
Condition: Bacterial Infection due to Deer Fly, Flea & Tick Bites
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tutnus for approximately 6 weeks. I am currently on Tetracycline. I do not seem to get any better. MY DR. IS GOING TO SEND ME TO A SPECIALIST BUT NEGLECTED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FRIDAY SO NOW I WILL WAIT UNTIL MONDAY. i AM DISABLED IN A WHEELCHAIR AND HAVE A PAIN LEVEL THAT NEVER GETS BELOW 5. iF I STANDUP IT GOES TO 9-10 VERY QUICKLY. HAVING TETNUS ONLY ADDS TO MY DISCOMFORT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
5/25/2011
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine made me feel extremely depressed. I can't explain it very well, but I just felt lethargic and apathetic when I was taking this. If I could go back in time and never have taken this drug/medicine I would. It wasn't very helpful at all and actually created some other problems in the future.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2011
Condition: Bacterial Stomach or Intestine Infection caused by Anthrax
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this medication for a few days to treat a mrsa infection then it attacked my pancreas severly and put me in the hospital for 2 weeks with chronic pancreatitis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2011
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on this med for 3 days now and am already seeing a difference. I'm 32 and my acne is worse now than when I was a teenager. I'm hopeing that this med will clear my acne up and I'll look like a normal person again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brave with Black Tongue | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2010
Condition: Peptic Ulcer due to Bacteria Helicobacter Pylori
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

61 yr. old male. Treated for peptic ulcer. 500 mg. 4 x day. After 5 days on the drug, experienced sore, scratchy throat, sore mouth and discolored (black) tongue. Sense of taste was distorted (everything tastes strong, exxagerated). Had to discontinue the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unknown | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the doctor prescribed this to me and sed take two 500mg pills at 7 am and 6 pm a total of 2000mg a day. A month later i am in a hospital with pancreatitus for tw weeks and i couldnt eat for a whole month. i also had a feeding tube by the way im only 15 my body cant handle that amount of medication the doctor almost killed me. The dosage that i listed was my starting dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/19/2010
Condition: Bacterial Skin Infection - Yaws
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More