Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

Divalproex is the third bipolar med I've tried, and it's the first that doesn't feel like a complete waste of money. I do get some slight tremors after my morning dose, but that's the only side effect I've experienced (my liver function's actually improved since I switched from lithium). There's a definite difference in my mood, too -- I'm far less irritable and edgy on divalproex than I felt on l...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

i have been experiencing changes in this medication

Shared reviews and ratings

sarahb | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication when I was finally diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I was having major manic episodes. Not only has this medication basically taken away my mania but I have none of the adverse reactions or symptoms that are described. This medication has truly changed my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dival proex sodium er | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Seizures with Breaks in Consciousness & Other Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since taking this drug my seizures have stopped but I now have hand tremors needing to be addressed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MarieC05 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2020
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for only two days and was told to take it in the morning....... i had blurry\double vision had trouble driving to work and i was scared.... i had SEVERE tremors at work, jaw was killing me, fast irregular heartbeat, rapid breathing..... my side effects were so bad that i had to leave my job and go to the nearest emergency room.....they took my vitals and my heart rate was 120 and my tremors were so bad that they had to immediately give me a medication to cancel out the medication and get it out of my system Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bones | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2020
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for over 30 years for seizure prevention. LOTS of side effects until it levels out in the system approximately 50 days. Still have extreme fatigue, dizziness if dose is too high, dries fluids out in my body, no alcohol ever - these never end. BUT I can drive now. Mood swings are unpreventable. Choices are extremely limited.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cdajane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Neurologist placed me on this indicating it might 2 mos. to determine if it works. It has not whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saif | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/14/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using this last 8 month.its work but it cause ED.so who are sexualy active not use this.when i quit it my erection is normal.i am 33 years old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2018
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VickiG | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a severe tremor, insomnia, severe dizziness, felt bad all over.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ameenfisher | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2017
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not bad except for little bit weight gain. if that keeps going up, I will stop no matter what any Dr says

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2016
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was ok the first month but got worse as time has gone I am going to see the Dr about going down on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tomar54 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/7/2016
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused constant tremors. The worst side effect was the rapid weight gain. I was used to some weight gain from other meds I had used, but on divalproex I gained 40 lbs. in 2 months, then herniated a disc while exercising to take off the weight. Spent two years with back doctors, meanwhile my weight ballooned. I went from 200 (already overweight) to 275. At 275 I developed hight blood pressure, heart disease, rashes, lung problems, and my back pain was excruciating and constant. I stopped taking Divalproex, started a number of heart meds, and my cardiologist supervised a diet, and now I am down to 170. I will always have a bad back now, but it is better than it was. I still have the heart issues, but blood pressure is under control with medication. I am struggling to control my Bi-Polar II without medication, but this was definitely a case of the cure being worse than the disease. I wish I had never been on Divalproex. It nearly killed me, didn't help all that much anyway, and I will suffer the residual health problems the rest of my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does this medicine cause loss of sexual drive?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anish1979 | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/25/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was misdiagnosed for over 15 years with docs always saying it was just depression. I have bipolar with depression, anxiety, ADHD, agoraphobia, and on top of all that Fibromyalgia. When I was finally diagnosed with bipolar disorder my doc tried many different meds, but I had severe reactions to all of them. The first med that worked was Lithium. I got my labs done and never had too much in my blood, but ended up losing over half my hair and gaining over 100 pounds! I weaned myself off of the Lithium and doc put me on Depakote/Divalprox ER. I lost 140 pounds in 6 months and got all my hair back. I take Cymbals, Valium, Ritalin, and Gabapentin as well. I felt like a new person, mild depression, mood swings much better, and rage/psycho feeling episodes were better. I have had to teach myself to avoid confrontations and other situations though. Grogginess in morning has always been there, could be meds for Fibromyalgia. Overall this mixture of meds has been a lifesaver! I am so glad to not feel like a lab rat anymore!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WebMD | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm feeling like i"m in a much more even mood but I seem to be having side effects. I'm tired all of the time, dizzy, ringing in the ears, blurred vision, and jittery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
6/1/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had diarrhea for a month, just found out number one side effect of this drug is DIARRHEA!!!! Think the drys could tell you this!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tommy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/29/2016
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to have over 100 Petimal seizures a day, and 1 grandmal a month on average. When i was about 20 i started taking Depakote. My Petimals dissapeared, and i have had only 2 grandmals in the past 35 years!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dfwman | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2016
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for what my neurologist deemed "migraine syndrom". I was having dizzy spells and unbalanced walking, felt like passing out at times. He prescribed this for those symptoms. After taking this, I had major headaches, blurred vision, panic attacks not to mention it did nothing for my original symptoms. I think this doctor is a quack!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Urban Cowboy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first drug I took. It did nothing for me. Lithium was next added, plus Cipralex, and Latuda. Now I'd like to get rid of the Divalproex, since it had no effect from the beginning. Makes sense, right?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2015
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DownSyndrome21/AD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
8/19/2015
Condition: Seizures with Breaks in Consciousness & Other Symptoms
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has lessened the seizures, but user is lethargic, confused and unsteady on her feet. *I am caregiver*. Dr. lowered the dosage to 1/3 of capsule sprinkled in food. No change in side effects. She sleeps for days and doesn't even wake for bowel movements. Her cognitive function seems much lower/ almost that of a toddler- she can't even feed herself with this in her system. She is 59. This 'medicine' is poison!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More