Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

have been on for about 3-4 yrs now has lowered by pressure greatly now 117/75, used to be 130-90, it makes me very tired still, and lately last couple of months, frequent urination and muscels in thighs ache and muscels in both forearms ache, has anyone else had muscel achiness

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

have not tried drug yet hasbeen prescribe by dr.

Shared reviews and ratings

semloh | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/23/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this med for over 15 years. It's not not great but added with another high BP med and I have my BP controlled WITHOUT the horrible side-effects I have had with other meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sorry I took it | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was unable to sleep due to severe heart throbbing, like it was coming out of my chest. It resulted in asthma and breathing problems. Also it did little to relieve blood pressure. Instead I take NATURAL B vitamins and regular exercise resulting in normal blood. However I still suffer from persistant asthma; thanks doc!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bstnh1 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/24/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Enalapril for more than 10 years. I started out on 10 mg. once per day and found that by evening my BP had gone up. Changed dosage to 10mg. twice a day. Later changed to 15 mg twice a day and have been there for years with very good results. It works for me and I have not experienced any side affects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jason | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2018
Condition: Dysfunction of Left Ventricle of Heart Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med. for two months.Bad cough, dizzy when I stood up, headache, couldn't sleep,and dry mouth like know other were side effects I had! BP was low and consistently low! Side effects were bad for me, but it did its job on lowering BP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this medication for about 3 months now. I had a bit of coughing at first, but just a bit. My biggest concern is that my mid-section seems to be puffing out. I've not gained weight but have gained inches. Anyone else having this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No ACE | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took 5 mg. for less than two week. I was extremely spaced out mentally, very fatigued and felt like I was intoxicated. It did keep my blood pressure very low but I stopped taking it on my own because I did not feel like myself and didn't trust my judgement on this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this medication 1 week change from hydrochlorothiazide to enalapril 2.5 mg because it cause hives and numbness both arms and hands and knee pain, severe headaches. So far its doing really good went from 150/96 to 106/76

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kingdomsaint | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started using enalapril because of my horrible experience with amlodipine. For the first few weeks this drug was awesome. Low to normal bp, no side effects. After two weeks I was not able to sleep because of the dry cough. Kept getting worse until I just couldn't stand losing nay more sleep. Went off it after about 5 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ydbooker51 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works well to lower my blood pressure. Prior to this I was taking labetalol and amlodipine, it was difficult to maintain a normal blood pressure with those too, the best I was able to accomplish was a low-high blood (159-160/89-90)pressure. This medication helps me achieve a more normal pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
belch4me | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

also have a kidney dis.been taking 20mg a day for 3yrs bp is great but lots of s/e starting to pop up sweating,tired,coughin like a smoker,low sex drive,low energy,shortness of breath im 42 and fitness wise feel 80

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itull | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug in combo with Atenolol, does not seem to lower my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/23/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UCN | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/18/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Controls my bp

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/26/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was used in conjunction with Pharmapress, and I ended up in bed coughing and discontinued both. Now I think that I might need to use the enalapril 5 mg tablet as prescribed halve tab twice daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/12/2014
Condition: Kidney Disease from Diabetes
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Occasionally I get horrible dizzy spells when standing up after taking it. It does go away within seconds, however.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/21/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe coughing.I was taking this in 2011 and was coughing so bad chest and stomach hurt. one day my mother-in-law asked meds that i was taking and suggested i look up side effects, and i did check out the enalapril and saw coughing as a side effect. I did a stop and start experiment and found that enalapril was the culprit.Mentioned it at my next Doc visit and took me off and i have cough free since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timbuck2 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/15/2014
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this med is for my dog "TED" he is lasa with enlarged heart he is a senior dog he also takes lasix and theophylline for a collasped throat so he can breath easy these have made his life and mine much nicer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2014
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More