Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

86 People found this comment helpful

When my husband passed away, I was okay for 3 months. Then I lost all control of my emotions-weepy all the time over dropping a spoon etc. My doctor prescribed this medicine at 10mgs and side effects were not worth it. He said cut the pill in half and that was exactly the dose I needed! Thank you God for this pill. Doc says I can get off any time I feel like it, but I can also stay on it for ...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

This medication is awful! It caused personality changes, aggression, and antisocial behaviors. The tension level this drug caused was unbearable! Please stay away from this terrible medication. There are better meds out there.

Shared reviews and ratings

kim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/19/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has helped with depression and anxiety ,do not miss doses as it made me very emotional. Someone on here Anon 19-24 said they were on Lexapro before and had a bad experience, this is the generic name for Lexapro . aka same medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s been almost 3 weeks since I’m taking this medicine. I am experiencing breakdowns, worst headaches and panic attacks nearly everyday. Firstly i found hard to sleep but after a week I’m feeling sleepy all day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leyla Mendoza | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im just obsessed and very proud how this medicament is working with me.Thank you Science and doctors.I was suffering from anxiety and high depression.im taking 10mg.When you start better begin slowly and less.It doesnt show directly result.wait at least 2-3 week please!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ang | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just wanted to update a previous post about my awful experience on this drug as I did say I had switched to mirtazapine . I just want to update it as after 4 days I have come off this too ! I just don’t want anyone reading this that mirtazapine was ok . Again I know it works super for some people & I can’t really say as I wasn’t on it for very long but it just wasn’t for me & my sleep was not much improved . So I’ve decided to go medication free , I’m nearly 60 & I just don’t seem to be great on them . My sleep is still what would be described as insomnia but I’m getting help from a sleep specialist to get it slowly back into a rhythm & accepting that I may wake at night & some days may be tired but will remain positive , active , dig deep & push through them . I read till I feel very sleepy & then play a sleep meditation video from you tube quietly near the pillow without looking at phone . I’ve realised that it’s played all through but I’ve often fallen asleep . Ok it may not be for hours or ideal but I am more in control of my own health & that has done wonders for my state of mental health . Clearly this doesn’t work for everyone but for me it’s my way forward plus I want to drink on my 60th soon & this has also been my motivation as me drinking on any medication made me even more depressed & sad . It’s not like I drink much but I just want to feel free to if I fancy the off drink. Sorry just don’t want to mislead anyone & good luck one & all . Have the music on & try & sing & dance , it helps ! ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faisal | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc prescribed 10 mg for anxiety. Worked outstanding for me. One in morning. Only side affects I notice that memory loss and got anti social. Results are outstandingly best. That's why overlooked the side afdects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ang | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/1/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know this drug works for some people but not for me . I took it for nearly 6 weeks & towards the end was in an awful state crying , breaking down every day with my head feeling like it was exploding with stress and anxiety I never want to experience again . Luckily after phoning the doctors a GP said taper it off , half tablet 2 days running and no tablet then switch to mirtazapine 15 mg . I knew on the day of not taking any tablet that I felt less anxious and a lot more calm even before starting the other drug ! Also I had started to get a lot of sleep anxiety as I had insomnia on it too . I had ptsd after a spinal op which went well but nearly 60 and for some reason it floored me . Am so much more my old self on mirtazapine , it helps calm sleep & hardly any anxiety , just go about my day as normal & no more panic attacks . All I would say is if you don’t feel right and your instinct is it’s not working and worse , making you feel incredibly jittery , unable to talk , settle , sleep , be sociable and feel like your head is exploding with stress go back to doctors it may not be the medication for you . No side effects with mertazapine , just eat healthy , have good appetite but makes me eat healthier as I’m so hungry I try to eat lots of fruit or healthy bowl of healthy cereal before bed . Good luck one and all xRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laney | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Swapped over to these about 2 years ago, for panic attacks went down from 20mg to 10mg Then 5mg then nothing for last 4-5 days. Had horrendous panic attack today and sweats vomiting , had get ambulance, this is withdrawal symptoms, can’t sleep feel on edge so nautious can’t eat, il have go back on 10 mg then get advise from my gp about getting weaned off, do not stop altogether like me, just awful , feel weird out of it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leslie Partin | 19-24 | Female | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this medication for three months and it makes me extremely aroused and wanting sex at all times and anywhere with anyone willing I don’t know if I should keep taking this medication or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brit | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please be careful when you stop taking this drug. I had to to switch doctors, and for 2 months inbetween doctors my first one would not prescribe me any more medication. I had terrible withdrawal symptoms because I just had to completely stop taking it. Make sure you talk to your doctor before stopping this drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Escitalopram | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Escitalopram 20mg for almost 6 years now. I absolutely love that it works for my anxiety. However the weight gain I have had is unbelievable. When I first started this medication I weighed 125 now after 6 years I weigh 162. This is the down side for me with this medication. Other than the weight gain, I have had minimal Anxiety attacks. I used to sit in bed at night and only be able to listen to my heart sound like it was going to thump out of my chest until 2 in the morning. Now it has helped me sleep at night. I feel like I could care less about certain things that before would completely just make me panic. I used to cry over anything that would happen, and now I just don't care. I would recommend however be cautious of the weight gain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon12 | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this on and off for at least 3 years for anxiety / depression. I love how effective it is, however it causes major memory issues, brain fog, and huge withdrawal symptoms when missed. mainly migraines and nausea for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Truth | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst medicine ever, I don't recommend anyone to use it. Drink 5mg for only 3 days now experiencing nausea, weakness bed ridden, inability to ejaculate, loss of appetite. This medication has made my condition worst. Doctor did not inform the side effects of it. Else would not take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abhay kumar | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a student , this medicine helped me to cope up with uncontrollable stress and anxiety ,... well sometimes overdosing has helped me a lot .... I'm very thankful to this Drug ..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bouts with bad panic attacks. I'm not the type of person to lay in bed. I been on this 3 days and I constantly feel bloated, it's affecting my asthma I have constant anxious feeling. If you tell your Dr it isn't working they say give it time. This is the second time I've tried it and hate it. I get really agitated on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Felicia Mclamb | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It help me to stay at a good level and space.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FCL | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took escitalopram for anxiety and depression on two separate occasions. I want to quickly disclaim that I'm not saying the medication is bad or that it doesn't work. To be honest, I didn't make the 3-month mark both times, so I don't actually know how well escitalopram could work for my anxiety/depression. However, the side effects to get on escitalopram were not worth the therapeutic effect for me. It felt like I had a bad flu, but without the vomiting and such. I was lightheaded to the point of being unable to hold a normally benign conversation and my body had a heavy, sick-like "ick" feeling. These symptoms did relatively subsided after about a week. But, after those symptoms lessened I noticed my libido was significantly dampened. I know you're supposed to "push through it" for a few months but I couldn't do it. I switched to a different medication (bupropion xl) that I've been taking for at least 6 months now and it's like night and day. TL;DR: Wasn't on it long enough to say if it worked. Side effects were too much to stay on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buzz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking the medication for four weeks and I have severe anxiety. Doctor suggested two more weeks to see if the medication kicks in differently. I sure hope something changes because this is unbearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After my husband died a year ago I was ok for the first 3 months or so but then became more depressed as events and dates came up. My Dr recommend Lexapro and started me on 5 mg daily. I have had absolutely no side effects and I am coping much better with daily living. I have gained about 10 pounds over the year but I attribute that to the fact that I feel like eating now. I had lost about 15 pounds the first two months after he died eating nothing hardly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/31/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced major mood swings while on this medication as well as digestive issues. For the effectiveness, it did not work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skeptical | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/16/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this med for over 2 years and considering stopping. I haven’t experienced many side noticeable side effects while taking it, but occasionally I would forget to refill and have to go a few days without it. This would cause dizziness and vertigo that went away immediately after going back on the drug. Plus, my doctor never told me I wasn’t supposed to drink alcohol or use marijuana while taking it. I told him that I vaped cannabis every day to so it was hard to determine if it was the drug or the pot that was improving my mood. I recently stopped using cannabis and alcohol, and now I’m experiencing shortness of breath and irregular/low heart beats while on this drug. I’m planning on weening myself off, because I suspect this drug is causing the symptoms. I’m just hoping the vertigo isn’t too severe and eventually goes away.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More