Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

Skin flared up, redness, dryness, scaling and pimples worse after 1 weeks use - then EVERYTHING settled right down and my skin improved drastically with ongoing regular use, new healthy skin appeared, irritation no longer a problem and far fewer if any pimples at all. Great product.

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

No idea, just started using it....

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acne gets worse before it gets better. Scaling , peeling and dryness are my side effects. I have "maskney" since I'm in the medical field, I have to wear a mask....and wearing it all day gives me pimples :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mou | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have primple prone face skin. It appears frequently on both side of face and leaves dark black spot. It's have been 5 years, I didn't go for skin specialist1st. I tried many home remedy, but nothing worked. Then this year i go to doctor. And he prescribed me this ointment with some oral medicines. After 1 month of continued this my acne and dark spot reduces slowly. Now 4th month , now i apply this ointment at night only when primple shows up, otherwise not . (Not all over face, only acne prone area)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kellsbells | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/30/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on adapalene for about 5 years and I love it. It starts by moving everything in your pores to the surface so acne will probably get worse before it gets better if you have years worth of congestion to deal with. In my experience, washing your face, letting it dry for about 20 minutes, applying the product, leaving it on for about 20 minutes, then washing it off and applying a moisturizer immediately after while your skin is still damp prevents any irritation and excessive dryness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
COM | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Those complaining about the peeling and redness are either using the product wrong or don't understand how it works. Adapalene is a retinoid. All retinoids will cause peeling. The peeling leads to new, refreshed skin, preventing acne and aging. If you're starting this product, use it once every three days, only at night (retinoids leave the skin susceptible to UV damage, so night use prevents the worst of it. You should still wear sunscreen every day). If your skin is too sensitive for that, move it to every four or five days. Once your skin gets used to it, do it more frequently until you can use it once a day (never more than that). The first time I used this, I used it three days in a row. Nightmare! I peeled everywhere I have fine lines and it BURNED, but that was my fault for misuse. Over the next few days, after deep hydration (overnight masks) and reapplying moisturizer through the day, my skin was already glowing and clear. Pimples I'd had had lost redness and were shrinking. I was astounded. It's worth the peeling. If you're still concerned, search up "retinoid uglies." They will subside!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I could give this a 0 in everything I would. This product gave me a chemical burn and now my face is red, swelled up, burning and stinging. Used it only 2 times now I can put anything on my face besides cold cold washcloths. I am very disappointed in this product. Would not ever reccomend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/26/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

EXTREMELY DRY SKIN AS A RESULT. used for over a year and everytime I used it, my face would become unbearably dry for at least 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I thought acne was just for teenagers, until I became 40. I have been using this product for 2 weeks. The first week my acne became horrible. Now over the second week I have new and clearer skin developing. My acne is almost gone and I am just waiting for my acne scars to heal. The medication continues to dry my skin and I have started to use just a little lotion on the dry spots. Consistency is key!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adapolene | 13-18 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/14/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fabulous medication! It has helped both my daughter

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Libby Baker | 13-18 | Female | Patient
6/27/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My acne isn't terrible, but it is described as "moderate". I was prescribed this, and have been using it for probably over a year now. I have recently stopped using it, because my face became incredibly irritated while using this. My face was constantly a vibrate shade of red, something that was hard to hide even with makeup. To add to it, this product was not overly effective for me. I can say my face seemed better, but the cons outweighed the pros

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Skin flared up, redness, dryness, scaling and pimples worse after 1 weeks use - then EVERYTHING settled right down and my skin improved drastically with ongoing regular use, new healthy skin appeared, irritation no longer a problem and far fewer if any pimples at all. Great product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashleynd92 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have on Adaplene for a few weeks now and I think my acne is worse than it already was. I have had acne for twelve years now and I am looking forward to having clearer skin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication seems to be inconsistent. Sometimes ill have a good month, other times I don't even want to go out in public. Seemed to get the same side effects in the beginning, where the acne gets worse during the start of use. I definitely think that this acne makes pimples redden.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KB | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow. I don't know what to think. My GP gave me this to try for some, what I thought, was just lingering acne. I figured I'm too old to still have it. I also had eczema as a kid. I've used this product 4 times. I was told to only keep it on for 15 - 20 minutes to get used to it. All the spots of eczema I had as a kid you can now see clearly, my skin is flaking off, I got 2 new spots, and I see many raised bumps. I'm pale to begin with, now I look awful. My skin always feels really dry and tight. I don't know if I can wait the 30 days my Doc says it'll take to work. At what point does this cause serious damage?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chark | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had mild acne especially during puberty. However, for whatever reason I started getting cystic, more severe acne in the summer of 2014 when I was 20 yrs old. I thought it was a temporary flare up, but it stayed. I started birth control and it helped clear my skin for a little while. But then one day in the sun caused my skin to develop closed comedones on the forehead. I decided it was time to go to the derm and I was prescribed adapalene (differin) for night and Duac (clindamycin and benzoyl peroxide) for the mornings paired with cerave facial cleanser and a basic moisturizer like cetaphil. The first 2.5 months were hell and I wanted to give up but I knew that there wasn't anything better to go back to. My acne became severe and got pimples I never have before. It was absolutely horrible. I had all of the side effects (redness, feeling heat, burning, peeling, itching, etc) and my neck even became red sometimes if I accidentally touched it with medication. But after 2.5 months of struggle and frustration, I finally began to see results and now I am pretty much acne free. I am still on the same birth control and although my skin might be a shade lighter, it's not much of a difference. I have recently switched to a La roche posay cleanser and moisturizer and my skin took it very well. I do have some scarring left, but that will fade with time. Just give it time and be patient! It took me almost 3 months. Good luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using this for about 5 weeks now. Initially, I was breaking out more as everything was coming to the surface. Skin is finally clearing up and another benefit is that it's fading some of my sun spots!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dddd | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 15 years old and I have been using adapelene for around a month or so. My skin is now 5x worse from when I started. I am not sure if this is a "good thing" because it is clearing out my pores, or if this product just doesn't work for me. I even have acne scars which I didn't have before. Probably the third week I was using the product, I broke out the most and it has slightly cleared since then, but I still have pretty bad cystic bumps around my mouth and forehead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have occasional problematic cystic acne and was given this prescription medication. However, after reading many reviews about how it can take up to months for your skin to grow accustomed to the medication, and if you skip out on it, it will continue to break you out... I'm not bothering with it as it has caused nothing but more problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J3 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been getting acne on my face since my freshman year, and I am now a senior. I got this gel from the dermatologist and started using it a couple days before senior pictures, and it cleared up almost 100% of the pimples(just in time!). I've now been using it for a total of about a week and a half and it's been working wonderfully. I also used it on my back, where I've recently been breaking out, and it decreased the size of a couple of cystic acne pimples I had. The only slight con of this gel would be the dryness; it's nothing too crazy, but my skin is a bit dry and slightly flaky in certain areas. This is a common side effect in the first four weeks of using it, though. Overall, this treatment is amazing and is the only thing that has worked this well and consistently. I've tried glycolic acid peels, dozens of different face washes, and every single home remedy there is, from lemon juice to toothpaste. This gel is the best treatment yet! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 25 years old and have been battling cystic acne for the last 8 months. I used to get acne when I was younger but my skin had been clear for at least 4 years. I moved in October and started getting severe cystic acne. My doctor told me to wash my face with Clearasil for acne prone skin and to apply Adapalene at night. My skin has cleared up tremendously! Most of the acne is gone as well as scarring from previous acne breakouts. The skin can get a little dry at times so sometimes I apply ever other night. I would definitely recommend this product as well as the Clearasil face wash for acne prone skin ( purple top). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/9/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 15 year old son and my 12 year old daughter both use this product in conjunction with a topical antibiotic. Their skin cleared nicely when they used it as directed, however if they missed a couple of days, the breakouts were pretty bad. It has helped with the deeper cyst type acne on my daughter's back as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More