Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I spent 20 years looking for a drug to relieve my depression.. I tried several classes of antidepressants with no or minimal relief. I am currently taking bupropion and escitalopram with several other mood drugs. Once we added Abilify a great weight was lifted. I am able to function now, which I was not able to. I love it. I have little or no side effects.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I have just started taking it

Shared reviews and ratings

Nfisch | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was added to my lexapro, I just recently started taking it, Hoping it would help with anxiety attacks that my Dr. Feels are coming from stress. So far the attacks have been more bearable and my energy level is back up, crossing my fingers it continues to get better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stacy with an s | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have major depressive disorder that was untreatable with SSRIs and SNRIs. I recently came off Effexor and onto Lamictal, which gave me the dreaded rash. My doctor then put me on Abilify and things have been pretty good ever since. I have no lows, and I no longer think of suicide at all. I am able to accomplish tasks in my daily life with out it being a laborious chore. I am sleepy on this medicine, but I can tell it’s slowly fading away. I take it with dinner and it helps me fall asleep. If I take it in the morning, I can’t drive safely, as it makes me drowsy. Any flying off the handle simply doesn’t happen on this drug- I am able to remain calm in most situations. Sometimes I wonder if it’s muting my emotions too much, but I don’t miss feeling uncontrollable. I also don’t miss work due to feel “ill” anymore. Overall, my mind is back to where it was when I was 17- crisp, clean, and normal. My emotions are much steadier and I am able to lead a far more normal life on this medication than on any SSRI. Somehow this was able to lift a soul crushing depression and the stiff neck/light nausea is the trade off. Also, I may have lost weight on this drug because it makes me slightly nauseous- where the Effexor made me gain 30 lbs! So I like this one, give it a try. Nothing scary about it for me, just calming. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caoimhe | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced some side effects in the first few weeks, however im glad i stuck it out. This drug has changed my life. I have loads of energy, ive actually lost weight due to my being able to exercise as my motivation has returned, and im happy. For the first time in my life I dont feel grey, I feel happy. At the minute im experiencing slight anxiety on them, which I am on other medication for, so I am waiting to see will it pass. overall I love this drug, Its not for everyone, it highly depends on the individual, but for me I am very happy. It has stopped my extreme lows and suicidal thoughts.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tori B | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2021
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am type one bipolar with severe manic episodes and heavy on the psychotic features. I used to hear voices, see things, have delusions of grandeur, and be paranoid constantly. Aripiprazole has made me feel as if I’m cured. My manic episodes are very tame, I rarely have outbursts and do impulsive things. I rarely hallucinate or feel paranoid and I don’t have any delusions. In depressive episodes I feel as if I can actually function and I have the motivation to live finally. The only side effects I experienced were when I was first starting. It made me slightly nauseous on the first day, not even bad enough that taking anti-emetics would have been justified. It made me extremely tired but since I was taking it at night it helped so much with my insomnia. First anti-psychotic/mood stabilizer I have been on and it’s excellent. This medicine saved my life. 10000/10Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on this drug for 3-4 weeks, caused black out Dr. gave it to me for Anxiety. When i called Torrent the makers of it said it was NOT for Anxiety, black out caused me to have car accident, life wont be the same These pharmacuetical companies just want to push drugs NOT HELP YOU

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lhrocks | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/28/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Brain washing. Propaganda. Been taking ability for more then ten years. It starts off nice no more dreaming of nightmares less anxiety. Drooling in class. Less worries, failing grades less cares. Then the impulses start sneaking things. Gambling. Public nudity, J.k. but increased sexual desire. Then sleeping 16+ hours lack of motivation. Over eating. Still nicer then off the drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 weeks I hadn't any side effects but one day I was driving and I became so drowsy, I could hardly keep my eyes open and ended up in a fender bender. So I didn't like the side effects and what it caused in my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paula | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m just starting this in place of Prozac I was on for years. I also take cymbalta n I’ll continue with this new medicine. I’m a bit nervous so reviews are helpful. I hope this will work for my depression n suicidal thoughts ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/8/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

has controlled my depression quite well along with other meds. cleared my thinking. gave me lots of energy without feeling manic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Okayy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
3/7/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haveused it for so many years with no good result

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kanwal | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
3/7/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using it for so many years with end result of no good result. Its not a good product

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VD | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took aripiprazole (Abilify) for nearly six months. This was one of the worst medications I've ever taken so far. It didn't help out with my autism one bit and I gained a lot of weight. Wouldn't recommend this medication to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/24/2017
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great but the weight gain has been too much. Looking to get a new medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2017
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 5mg and I now have tremors in my hands and severe dizziness when my eyes are closed. I am looking for a replacement med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJvegas | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2015
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It caused me to have manic episodes that were so bad, that I could not control my self from spending money. I was only sleeping 3 to 4 hours a night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susanb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2015
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried withdrawning from Abilify. I now have Tardive Dyskinesia.My jaw aches my mouth is moving side to side. I want to get off the Abilify due to 50lb weight gain. Hepl

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tk | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/9/2015
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lexapro and lithium...added abilify 3 years ago...tuned everything right up...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Woody | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/19/2015
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I spent 20 years looking for a drug to relieve my depression.. I tried several classes of antidepressants with no or minimal relief. I am currently taking bupropion and escitalopram with several other mood drugs. Once we added Abilify a great weight was lifted. I am able to function now, which I was not able to. I love it. I have little or no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becareful | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/20/2014
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has left its mark. Not only do the problems it was to help with still exists now there is a myriad of side effects that are very serious and debilitating. I would be afraid for anyone who is entertaining it....not sure why FDA approved this Rx . I wouldn't suggest even for someone I didn't like.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
howdy mark | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/14/2013
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More