Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

92 People found this comment helpful

I have suffered with chronic depression for most of my life. I have tried almost every antidepressant out there with varying degrees of success. I currently take 90 mgs of Cymbalta every day. While it is somewhat effective for me I still suffered greatly from nagging depression. It wasn't until my psychiatrist added Abilify that I experienced almost complete relief of my depression. Within two wee...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

when my 19 yr old nephew took this med ,he died in his sleep apprx. 12 wks later.

Shared reviews and ratings

Charity Rosado | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed as a child at 15 years old. It caused me to have muscle spasms in my jaw. I could not open my mouth and was on the verge of breaking my jaw. All the psychiatrist did was lower my dosage, I was forced to take this for 2 years due to my adolescents. Now I have a long term side effect of chronic tmj and I have just recently broke my jaw while eating cereal as an adult, 18 years down the road.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Working quite well for me. I have depression due to ptsd and it has helped tremendously. I have a few side effects but weight gain, etc., are not a factor since I eat a healthy diet. I have continued to lose weight while taking. I have a slight tremor at times in my left lower leg but nothing that prohibits me from living.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gnitedeepend | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My kids think this is for szichsophrenia. This is dangerous to translate. Because they are from broken homes and safe to say I am not any longer. It has several uses. But, I use it for depression. Strong.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Abilify for many about ten years. I developed all the symptoms and was diagnosed with Parkinsons disease. After a few years, I switched neurologists because I was going down hill fast and was soon going to need a caretaker. This wonderful Dr. Saw that I was on Tasigna and immediately weaned me off. After 2 months, The symptoms all want away. If you read up about Abilify, it is know to cause what is called Parkinsism disease. It mimics and can turn into full blown Parkinsons. I had a close friend that was experiencing similar symptoms and she was on Abilfy also. She had her Dr wean her off and her symptoms went away also. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ME | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ABILIFY IS POISON. IT CAUSED ME TO BE A COMPULSIVE GAMBLER. IT DID NOT HELP. IT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL. THE COMPANY THAT MADE ABILIFY OR ARIPROPRAZOLE IS SCAMMING U.S. TAXPAYERS BY HAVING MEDICAL INSURANCE PAY OUTRAGEOUS AMOUNTS OF MONEY TO BUY THEIR DRUG THAT SHOULD NEVER BE TAKEN. IT'S A SCAM, AND SO ARE 99% OF THE GO TO DRUGS FOR PYSCHIATRISTS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ryan | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having severe aggression and anger towards family. I was put on this med and 2-3 weeks later I felt better. I had less aggression and anger. This med helped me for a while but I was then taken off of it due to its side effects. I had gained 15-20 pounds on it and I was extremely tired. On some nights I was going to bed around 730. It was taking me almost an hour to get up for school. it was great for me but its side effects was the one downside i had against this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/18/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn’t alleviate my symptoms at all (I was on this medication for a long time) and 5mg made me gain 35 pounds in under a month immediately after starting it (I was slightly underweight before for my height and now I am considered overweight.) Now that I’ve stopped this medication (as well as all others) it is difficult to lose any of the weight that resulted from this medication. My doctors told me this was normal, but only AFTER it happened. Also, this medication increased my Prolactin levels to the point where I was beginning to have hormone-related issues (infertility, increased breast tissue, etc)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zoe | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 2mg to treat my on going depression and anorexia. Doctors told me it would “ease the thoughts” and that’s exactly what it did. It was very helpful for me in that period of my life so that I could gain weight but once I reached my stable weight I started having side effects. I would have uncontrollable jitters and eye twitches. It would get very uncomfortable, to the point that I couldn’t focus in school anymore. I immediately went off the medication and haven’t gone on it since.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jill | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst drug on the market. It caused me to gain over 50 pounds and I developed a compulsive gambling problem. The drug company Bristol-Meyers claims they did nothing wrong. This drug ruined my life and left me far more depressed than before I took it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I'mnotcrazy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me gain a huge amount of weight. Too hard to move some days. Extreme soreness. Do not take more than 10mg if you need to move your body! Hate this drug and there's no way out without extreme symptoms? Don't mess with your brain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colleen |
6/30/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Abilify for 5 years and have had excellent results. It's important to remember that all medications work differently with people's body chemistry. What works for one may not work for another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Madison | 13-18 | Female | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been put on Abilify for Bipolar ||. I’ve only been on it for about a week, and I am already getting off of them. Every night for the past 6 nights i’ve woken up during the night and started vomiting. Then the next day, it feels like i’m hungover. I have not been on these long enough to talk about any mood improvements, but if you’re sensitive to medication- stay away from this one. & I should add they started me off with only 2mg, and i feel this way. Be careful friends

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Trintellix now for about 3 years and have been very depressed and suicidal lately until my psychiatrist recently put me on abilify, After 3 days i am virtually depression free, no anxiety! This is a miracle to me! I have not felt this good in years!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juju | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: adjunct therapy for obsessive compulsive disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Abilify just didn't work for me. I had taken Zyprexa but needed to get off it because my cholesterol shot up. So, I've been trying Abilify for a month. It hasn't helped my OCD at all, and in fact has made it a bit worse. It interferes with my sleep, and I feel nauseous and don't want to eat. The worst part is that it makes me very irritable and angry, which is not like me at all. Luckily, no serious side effects, but enough to make life miserable. So, I'm going to go off it and see if there's something else out there that can help.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RockyBlvd | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/28/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on the 10 mg equivalent Aristada injection four years ago. I am currently on 15 mg, and upping the dose to 20mg soon. I have not had a schizophrenia relapse this whole time. At first I thought the medication was causing anhedonia but the longer I take it I realize it was the illness not the abilify. I also take 300mg Buproprion and this past month started taking high doses of fish oil. I've been suffering since the age of 26 and just now I feel I can totally recover. Hang in there it takes years to recover. Also, be careful with fish oil. It is helping my concentration, sex drive, and focus but I am upping my dose of abilify just to avoid paranoia. I thought I'd never recover from anhedonia but my zest for life is finally coming back. Holy cow! Thanks science!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have treatment resistant depression. And in addition to my other antidepressants abilify has saved my life?? I was in a deep dark place and all I wanted to do was die. I was overwhelmed with sadness fear and despair. Although I still participated in life each and every day and did everything in my power to overcome I felt like I was just existing. No joy. No hope. Like a prison cell with no windows. Within a few days I felt like I went from darkness to light. Even though it was cloudy outside there was sunshine in my heart. I thank God for each and every day and want to live now. I hope and pray it does the same for you???? I take 2mgs twice a day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Victimofthepara | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to Kill myslef straight, going crazy was and tortured with more drugs. This "med" is hell. You lose Tour memeoy, Body oarts are shaking , you bis ans seit yourself. The worst thing is you do not realize how you super fand it bringst you close to DEATH. I d rather kill myself before taking Zyclon b , i mean abilify again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kendra | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I were a PARENT reading this whose child is under ten and does not have Tourette's, autism, Schizophrenia, or bipolar, I'd run away fast. My daughter has early childhood trauma from her birth family. She suffers from PTSD and ADHD. We began this medication to treat her aggression and restlessness. At 2mg and 5mg, it had mild benefits such as sleep regulation and some behavioral improvement. A few weeks after beginning a 10mg dose, she snapped. She literally threatened my life and tried to access a weapon. I have since learned that we are not alone. This medication can backfire and increase aggression. We wish we'd been more cautious.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on a high amount of Venlafaxine/Effexor and I would have a mood swing every month and I felt very aggressive at times . So my doctor and I discussed lowering the Effexor and I suggested Abilify. I had been on before years ago. The past two weeks being on Abilify as an adjunctive therapy, I have felt great! I feel more calm,happier, moods seem stable and I feel more focused.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently diagnosed with bipolar type two. My doctor added this medication on top of my other medication and has changed my life. I have suffered with deep depression, mood swings, loss of interest, and extreme exhaustion. This has made me feel like I have my life back. More energy, feeling happy and back to my normal self. I highly recommend this. Only downside is weight gain in the extreme form but it’s worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More