Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

69 People found this comment helpful

After years of being treated unsuccessfully for depression, my family doctor diagnosed me with ADD. I have only been on this medication for 1 month, but I want to know - is this what life is like for other people? Can life truly be this effortless? Gone are the constant extraneous thoughts. I can listen to people all the way through a whole sentence, and feel much more connected to the world....

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

I am a 45 year old female, recently diagnosed with ADHD, which I knew I had my whole life. I have often felt paralyzed and overwhelmed with so many things to do and can't stay on one task. I am opening a photography studio soon and am fearing failure due to my lack of organization. Strattera is the third med I have tried. Although it has calmed we way down, I feel I am too tired and not ambito...

Shared reviews and ratings

Katie B. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me moody, tired, and anxious. Did nothing for my ADHD. Noticed an immediate positive change in mood when I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine for my severe ADHD (late dx). First time ever taking a medication for ADHD. I took 40mg in the morning and thank god my partner was home from work today to care for our kids, because within an hour I was vomiting horribly, super nauseous and extremely tired and dizzy. I laid down at 11am and it’s currently 4am the next day and I’m just waking up now. I slept for 15 hours straight! I have two young kids to care for so I can’t continue with a drug that makes me this tired, dizzy and sick. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smoothlyez | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not provide any benefit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bea S. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Staterra put me into a 3 day blackout with hallucinations. I got locked up on a 72 hour hold & lost custody of my daughter.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It elevated my depression symptoms, worsened my anxiety, and made me so drowsy I was sleeping upwards of 12 hours a day. I was literally miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patel | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Misdiagnosed as a child with strictly ADHD and was giving Adderall which made me feel horrible for years. Finally at 32 was prescribed Straterra and it is life changing- I wish I would have been taking this since I was in 5th grade.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started at 40mg once a day. In the beginning it was kinda like taking an antidepressant for the first time, about 1.5hrs after I would take it my vision would change slightly. I also got a faint headache the first 2 weeks. I’m now on 80mg twice a day. I’ve always been a sweater, but I tell you what, I am SWEATY! other than this I feel like my sleep has got better and also being able to wake up on time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marty | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diagnosed with schizophrenia and bipolar with ADHD and anxiety. I am also a recovering drug addict. I experience cognitive impairment or “brain fog”. And needed something. It took 6 full weeks to see an improvement with cognition and was well worth the wait. I was skeptical of anything for ADHD that wasn’t a stimulant but give it a chance. There are minimal side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ADHDMike | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first few weeks I had the same side effects as most people seem to on this. Especially getting dizzy very easily. Certain things would make me super sleepy like watching videos while taking this. It was hard to pee and I would get hot flashes. I also had some sexual side effects like ejaculation before orgasm and painful orgasm. BUT!! each week the side eeffects decreased a little bit and the helpful effects have increased. I also realized that having caffeine while taking this made the side effects much much worse so I stopped having caffeine and now the side effects are just that I get dizzy if I go up spiral stairs and oddly enough orgasms are more intense which is actually a good thing. Being used to stimulants I didn't think it was working at first since I didn't "feel" anything really other than maybe some slight difference in cognition. Then I realized I wasn't mentally exhausted all the time and I could keep up with cleaning and work. It made it easier to just do the work and not keep forgetting what I was doing or getting distracted. It's also helping my ability to socialize tremendously since my thoughts don't jump around as much maybe. It's effects are subtle and hard to tell exactly what or how it's improving my ADHD but it has changed my life! I'm primarily ADHD inattentive type.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

CAUSED SEVERE, CHRONIC CONSTIPATION I was diagnosed with primarily inattentive adult ADD almost two years ago and was prescribed Strattera. I started at 25mg twice a day and increased to 40mg twice a day after 3 months. PROS:I was pleased that it is a non-stimulant medication for ADD and for the almost two years I have taken it, it has worked extremely well in treating my ADD. I liked the fact that it didn't have a "crash" though the half-life is very short and I could tell it would start wearing off after about 4 hours simply because it's effectiveness diminished. CONS: While Strattera handled my ADD symptoms effectively, I have recently discovered it has been the cause of the GI issues I have struggled with for well over a year now. Moderate constipation I began noticing about 4 months after beginning Stattera (1 month after dosage increase). The chronic constipation caused a an intestinal bacteria overgrowth (SIBO) which caused extreme bloating and distention on a daily basis. The SIBO symptoms were my primary concern when I started seeing a GI specialist and since they were not directly caused by the medication, a trial off of the medication did not seem to make a difference. Fast-forward a year and after dozens of tests the SIBO was diagnosed and resolved but the constipation had progressed to 14+ days between bowel movements without extreme measures being taken to prompt it. Went off the medication again and GI system returned to normal within a couple days. Stayed off the medication for several more weeks and things remained consistently normal. Began taking the medication again at the 25mg 2x/day for a week but constipation resumed. Reduced to 1x/day but GI not totally normal nor were ADD symptoms satisfied. My Dr is now having me try Concerta to see if it will effectively handle my ADD symptoms without causing GI issues or other side-effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/26/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped along with stimulants; unto itself, ineffective largely. Ejaculation was abormally painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PeterBert | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although I know it is mush to early to really give this a review. I want Express myself on my experience, I was is using concerta for about 6 months and it has gotten terrible for me. Constantly nervous inside, anxiety or depressive, nervous tics, jittery to the point that had trouble talking. I'm actually just started strattera 40mg only my 4th day, still in the crossover process with still taking concerta for 10 days and diminishing gradually dose to a stop. So far already feel much less nervous and anxiety, more focused. No side effects so far other than a bit hot and sweaty the first day about 1h30min after taking pill, but didn't last long. Just hope this keeps up because some side effects dont soind to fun by reading comments. Always possibility to reintroduce a stimulant in small dose to complete if needed I was told, but trying it alone at first. Stimulants like concerta dont seem to work with comorbid anxiety symptoms, they are amplified like crazy for me...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The results were noticeable but the side affects were too much to live with. Being unable to urinate and losing all of my sex drive was just too much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe_Smith | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug, Strattera with hopes that it would be good but it has not been for me either. It has substantially decreased my sex drive to non-existent with getting an erection. It has messed up my sleep at night and I can no longer sleep well through the night. I am more irritable and this isn't even a stimulant, just goes to show what some doctors know, it still irritates me though! I won't be taking it from this point forward and I even contacted the doctor's office, the nurse couldn't even leave a message for me, just hangs up when I was unable to get to the phone, what a crock!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/20/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

too expensive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Khashayar | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i start with 10 mg then taking 2X10mg now 1X25mg. i feel like im another person. i wish i knew this way before in my life. i could lived another life. i lost 5 schools in my life because of ADHD. i can never go back in time but i think with this i can live the rest of it. just its really expensive and because im an adult my insurance doesnt cover it. they prefer to poision us with cheap ritalin instead of cure us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/12/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adult ADHD- I've had trouble focusing, talking too much or thinking too fast and too much. This medication has helped me control these problems for the first time in my life without huge side effects. Ritalin and Adderall helped but caused me to clinch my jaws to the point of pain/soreness. This has been a good match for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
4/20/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had ADD all my life and was not diagnosed until about 10 years ago, I am 51. It is difficult to take at first, it affected my stomach, but that went away over time. I am able to function so much more effectively. My poor impulse control has improved, as well as able to focus and remain on task.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachelly | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Son and I were both diagnosed with Attention Deficit (without hyperactivity). WARNING: DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICATION! It gave us both psychotic thoughts. Neither of us would have ever thought these things without the drugs. We both had horrible violent thoughts. When I saw a blank stare on my Son's face and then he shook (no) all of a sudden, I asked my Son what he was thinking about and sure enough- I was having those horrible thoughts myself. We are very friendly people loving folk. I threw the pills in the trash!! A few weeks later, those thoughts went away. It was the pills :(. Now I am scared to take prescription meds for ADD. I am struggling at work. :(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johnboy | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/12/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works very well. It was a little tough getting started but I was able change to a lower dose which helped. This med needs to be started with a lower dose than the 40mg that is often recommended. Currently taking 80mg a day with no problems. I can actually sit in one place and do work assignments. Before I took this medication, I would work for 5-10 min and then stop to either take a quick walk or go talk to someone, or even go on to a different assignment. Now I can complete what I need to with little distractions. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More