Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

68 People found this comment helpful

Was started on Losinopril but it gave me a bad cough after just a short time, so switched to Losartan. It took a few weeks to kick in but my blood pressure is down in the 120s/70s range (was 140s/90s). I take 25 mg at night before bed. Initially the first week I would get a little dizzy after intense exercise like a spin class but that went away after a week or so. Now have had no side effects and...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I have not taken this medicine yet.

Shared reviews and ratings

No more drugs | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After I got used to the dizziness and fainting I thought I was going ok, then a month and a half in I got difficulty urinating. One week later no urine when I got out of the ER I had a catheter ouch! Told you wait two weeks see a urologist. After one week I removed the catheter. Stopped the losartan and flomax. Now I can pee again. Don't trust any doctors ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jlbflatx | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor upped my losartan to 50mg and experiencing severe low back pain on getting up from sitting position. I know it’s the losartan I just started a couple weeks ago. Trying to find something natural that will offset the pain like coq 10 100mg helps with my cholesterol meds pains. Anyone have ideas?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobbie willough | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost killed me two days in hospital passing out nausea headache cough neck shoulder pain zero sodium high potassium this medicine should be banned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mikebest17 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on Losartan ten days ago and I have been feeling very dizzy and lethargic today I was working and had to go To the emergency room because I felt like I was going to faint. Scared me literally to death. Just makes me feel tired and horrible. I do not recommend this to anyone. I’m 35 years old and feel 80 because of this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jean | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe Restless Leg Syndrome and certain medications can either exacerbate or even cause RLS. This is the second medication in this class that has caused the same problem. I stopped taking it and I'm waiting on directions from my doctor to see where we go from here.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was previously on amlodipine and it caused swelling in the legs and I felt terrible. I started on 75mg Losartan and feel great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abdulsalam | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am now 72 year old man, I have more than 30 year blood pressure first I used " lisinopril " , after 15 year this medicine is no action, then start losartan potassium 50mg 2 times morning and bed time + Hct 12.5mg morning also now my blood pressure is normally, no other problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking Losartan POTASSIUM 50mg for 2 month and started having a lot of chest pain, thinking it was heartburn, ended up in the ER this week when the pressure started getting stronger on my chest, jaws, ears, and piercing headache. Spent 2 days in the hospital, EKG, chest x-ray, bloods test every 6 hours, and stress test. All came out good no signs of a heart attack or any indications that one is going to happen. `Do not know for sure if it’s the med but I’m going to switch to something ells or possibly try a BP supplement. If you have any of the symptoms that I describe do not right it off GO to the ER these are signs of a heart attack Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jayne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on 20mg Lisinopril (made me very tired and cough), cut in half (not tired but coughed). Started diligently working out and quit taking(blood pressure great. Started sitting too much for long period of time, blood pressure went up, now taking Losartan Potassium (25mg)- blood pressure great and no cough. Exercise 30 minutes per day would solve dealing with all of this :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin B. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

dang doctor took me off of Lisinopril 20mg and said here take this Losartan Potassium 100mg, really 100mg. There was no easing into this drug. I felt like I was going to die after the 4 day taking it. I quit taking it. I went back to my other med since I had a few left until I can cuss I mean talk to my doctor about this. I read the reviews here and saw no one taking 100mg like I was. What the heck was my doctor thinking. Might change doctors on this one

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ken | 45-54 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained weight... Lost energy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catwils | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has definitely messed with my head. Dizziness, loud cricket sounds in my ears along with loud bursts of what sounds like electrical currents. Weight gain and overall tiredness. Can’t wait to change to different medication. Blood pressure not consistent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peri | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Losartan 25mg for 3 months, it has lowered my BP to what is suppose to be normal but I feel awful. If you haven't the energy to do anything, what is the reason to take it, so you can sit in a chair? BTW, blood pressure is only high when It is taken in the doctors office and they don't really listen when I say it is lower taken at home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Diastolic Heart Failure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking in the morning with all my other meds but BP was dropping too low when taken with beta-blockers. Have been taking it before bedtime instead for 2 months now without any problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aaron | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently was diagnosed with high blood pressure, I've had it for a while but just ignored it. Recently my Doctor put me on Losartan 25mg. It lowered my BP to better levels, Hypertension 1 instead of 2. I noticed a slight discomfort in chest and dizziness, didn't think anything of it. I then was put on 50mg of Losartan, After maybe a week, my chest started to hurt and I started to get irregular heart beat and Atrial Fibrillation. I'm considering stopping this as I'm concerned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Troe Rahiem | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I don’t personally know what everyone is talking about. I’ve read most of the comments about this drug and it almost made me not take it but……… I THEN PRAYED AND TRUSTED GOD AND MY BODY. I’ve been on Amlodipine for a couple years for high blood pressure and it isn’t doing what it used to do so I needed to change or add something for the kick. I’ve recently started getting healthier…NO SMOKING, NO VAPING, or NO ALCOHOL, and walking 3 miles a day so far at a good tempo… I also reduced my sodium intake A LOT And stopped eating out. My wife and I are on this journey together because we both suffered from BP issues. Anyways, I started cooking with natural flavoring’s such as Basil, parsley, fresh ginger, lemons, limes, fresh garlic, honey and Raw AppleCider vinegar.. I have many other Herbs to cook with as well but that’s the sum of things. My BP used to consistently be anywhere from 145/89 to 175/114 … I Almost gave up because no matter what I did, I always had high BP.. I also suffer from anxiety so that didn’t help. Trust me, coming from a person who’s scared to take anything new because of side effects, Losartan has significantly improved my BP now to a consistent 130/80 and I’m a thick black man who came from home cooked southern style meals… lol All I’m saying is give it a try, I feel at peace now, no dizziness… no anxiety about Blood Pressure … and most of all I’m healthier… ALL I’M SAYING IS STOP LISTENING TO EVERYONE ELSE and Try it for yourself! I feel amazing…Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bogaert | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 100 mg Losartan pill and have had good control of blood pressure. That is except so far for pills manufactured by CAMBER (white pear shaped pill) and Ward/Hikma (round green pill). These pills made me very uneasy and nervous. The effects were immediate with the 1st pill. Had to go to the pharmacy and have the pill changed to another manufacturer and on two occasions had to go to another pharmacy.. Recent pills manufactured by Strides Pharma and Cuzaar have been tolerated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Neck muscle pain became too extreme to continue to take this product! Only getting a few "at most" hours of sleep each night. Pain was bad enough, I could not lift my head from the pillow without using my hands. I am not exaggerating!! This was only after 3 days from first dosage. I will starve myself enough to loose the weight needed to lower my BP, to a better level, before I take this Losartan again !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moira | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well for me although I don’t sleep as awesomely as I did when I started taking it. Has anyone else felt “brain snaps” like a rubber band? I take 100 mg at night and it usually happens then. It happens less often now after 4 months but I haven’t heard anyone mention them at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Krich | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks taking this med heart rate insane. BP still way high. Legs started swelling scaring me literally to death. May stop on my own I can’t handle it and dr keeps raising it. Not sure what to do at this point but I can’t take this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More