Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

test blood 2- 3 times a day. it brough my blood sugar down to 69 the first day. I had to eat more.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I find my readings go well over 200, enen into the 300 range; I guess depending on the type of meal. I get very listless and have arm pain when I attempt to lift them. Also. the neuropothy seems to have if anyting increased as my hands and feet feel a "tingling" sensation associated with PND

Shared reviews and ratings

jawjam | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
11/13/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 100 year old mom has taken this med for about 20 some years, the last 9 of which I have been her 24/7 care provider. I found out how many points her sugar increases per carbohydrate eaten and then how much it was decreased by taking 1 mg of Prandin/Repaglinide. Knowing this information has allowed me to regulate her medicine for anything she eats and it has been working out very well except when taking some UTI medicine...they tend to decrease her sugar without as much medicine. (At 100, she doesn't exercise much which makes figuring easier.) Love the medication and thankful it doesn't cause cancer, like so many of the other diabetic medicine have as possible side effects. Doctors may feel those are side effects "they" are willing to chance but not me for my mom!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lynda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/20/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on 5mg before lunch and dinner. this drug works wonders and if i need an extra pill its ok to take one if i want pizza or something like it...the generic didnt work and raised my sugar made me very sick so if you have trouble with this drug ask to try the REAL drug..a life saver for me and now i can have lower sugars almost normal...thank god my dietition new about this not all dr. do they push insulin instead..ask for this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/1/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking about two years. No side effects other than two instances when I did not eat after taking. Low blood sugar is scary. A1C was 6.3 but also exercise 5 times a week and have good diet and weight control. INSULIN IS LIKE THE BOGY MAN FOR ME SO I WORK HARD TO KEEP FROM HAVING TO TAKE IT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
La | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/6/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am doing very well with Prandin. The only problem I am having is a severe amount of abdomen bloating - to the point where it hurts. Anybody else having this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/25/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prandin seems to helpme, if i forget to take it before i eat my blood sugars can go high

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daxjen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so glad that my doctor ordered Prandin for my diabetes type 2. I have been using it for the past three months and 100% satisfied with the results. Before , I used to be worried about checking my diabetes. I used metformin with glyburide and lantus injection. The results were unfavorable. Now I am not afraid to check my diabetes since the reading is where I wanted it. Great pill. I am so pleased. Now, Health First told me that they do not cover that pill. and so I discussed it with my doctor. If I have to scrape the last penny to buy it, I will keep on using this pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/29/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has dramatically lowered my blood sugar levels. The first week was pure torture, as it tends to give you the runs. After that it eased up. One bad side effect is the weight gain. I am working on that aspect, but if I cannot start losing weight, bye bye Prandin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes diahrea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alliej0225 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on prandin several months ago with great success. My sugar was all over and, now, I only have to take it at night before I eat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sugar was very out of control, now that I am taking Prandin my sugar is wonderful. For me this has been a wonderful drug and my dosage is only .5mg. If you are having trouble keeping your sugar down this is absolutely a drug to ask your doctor about!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/2/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I do not take the .5mg before a meal my blood suger reading goes up 100 or more by the next reading.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MADJID | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IMREA | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/17/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE BEEN TAKING PRANDIN FOR 16 YEARS WITH EXELENT RESULTS. STARTED WITH 1+1/2MG AND INCREASED TO 3+1/2 OVER TIME. ALL OF A SUDDEN I STARTED TO GET LOW BLOOD SUGAR REACTIONS.[GLUCOSE LEVEL ~60] NOW TAKE ONLY 1 PILL OF 1/2MG AT DINNER, EAT ANYTHING AND MY BLOOD ALWAYS READS GOOD. ARE THERE ANY RECORDS OF DIABETES CURING ITSELF LIKE THIS? COULD SOME OTHER MEDICAL CONDITION BE EFFECTING MY BODY'S INSULIN PRODUCTION? IS THIS A MIRICAL?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miteymse2001 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/12/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken the drug for 7 years I have been on the lowest dose.Before on once a day meds. I had lows at odd times of the day. With Prandin I could have more self controll. Now since I am on diuretics, and unable to exercise, I find my blood sugar going higher than normal. I am going to see my doctor to raise the dosage. I don't want to lose the ability of self control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ra_Khu | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prandin really keeps my blood sugarlevel under control. But, this weight gain is drving me crazy. Within two I have gain five (5) pounds. Calling the doctor to have this med changed out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vijaya | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug in combination with glimepiride gives me chest pain, back pain and palpitation, which reduces on stoppind the same.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm very happy on how this med has lowered my sugar readings. I have been on it for about 3 weeks. I feel though I need to stop taking it because my back and hips hurt 24 hours a day. Will call doctor and see what he thinks. Anyone else have this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mash1022 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/4/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is great to keep your sugar from spiking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VA | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had some 300 readings over the holidays. back on meds. love this one. too bad its so expensive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More