Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

I took this for about a month. It's easy to use and works great, Except it makes my heartbeat run fast and skip beats. I have Atrial fib. (controlled with Rx medicine) and it made it worse. When I quit taking it the problems stopped. So, if you have heart problems be careful.

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

This is the worst medication I've ever taken to relieve allergy symptoms! I am throwing the rest away!

Shared reviews and ratings

John O | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/5/2020
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had constant runny nose during day at work and it was very annoying. I have BPH (enlarged prostate) for several years and knew I could not take an antihistamine with the warning on it: "Do not take if you have an enlarged prostate" (because within few days it can stop a man's urine flow!) I saw Claritin, a leading worldwide OTC drug and figured it must be special because it did not have this warning. I took it for over a year in 2016 and it worked great allowing me to do my job working 8-10 hours a day in medical eqipment business. Then in 02/2017 I immediately stopped taking it because urine flow stopped the first night of a week cruise. I had to have an internal catheter inserted connected to an external leg bag by cruise medical staff. After I got home it took my urologist 9 months to get my prostate back to normal and catheter removed. (it was removed several times during this time period but had to be reinserted within few hours since still not normal). I have been fine ever since after that 9th month when removed. Note: I was on prostate med (Tamsulosin) for years before I took Claritin and never had problem. When I started Claritin I continued to take it (tamsulosin) with no problem so the only thing we can assume is that the Claritin over the course of a year caused this since nothing else was introduced into my body. Anyway, after several months of going back Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracy | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/10/2020
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take one every morning and it works great for me I have forgot to take it in the morning And I would have a bad day I have tried a lot of different allergy medicines but this one seems to be the best for me thanks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Garlicy Girl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried it for my tinititus as I wondered whether the humming in my ears may be caused by fluid build up in ear due to pollen- my tinititus disappeared within 1 hour- amazing!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2019
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't work and it is pointless since it does not address other allergy symptoms. Another medication where the risks out weigh..... Not sure why they even make these medications, it has to be money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tmr | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
12/8/2018
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my son extremely sick for several years. We had no idea it was caused by the loratadine until a couple months ago. My son had continual tummy aches, anxiety, vomiting, motion sickness/vertigo. Works somewhat for his allergies, but not worth the many years he suffered and the heartache it caused me watching him suffer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IHATEPOLLEN | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/26/2018
Condition: Sneezing
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/3/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told to take this medicine instead of Benadryl because I also take other medications. This medication caused EXTREME itchiness and welts as well as a burning sensation all over my body. I took it for 2 days and couldn't handle it anymore. I did not take it last night and today I am fine. I will never take this medicine again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fordmexico | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works very well to relieve overnight congestion in my sinuss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
London | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2015
Condition: Sneezing
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked the first few times but quickly lost its durability and strength.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After several months of using the 24 hour dose every morning, I noticed serious pain around my eyes by mid-day. After forgetting the dose one day, and restarting it the next day with subsequent pain, I decided to stop completely. Now the pain seems to be gone. I believe the drug might be drying out my sinuses too much and thus giving me pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grace548 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I should have checked possible interactions before taking this. Got a "severe" interaction with one RX med I take and has not been at all helpful in doing anything to help with the allergy-related nasal problems. I did not experience any side effects with this but I should have checked for interaction problems!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2015
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took loratadine in the form of "Claritin 24 Hour Allergy"- after taking it for 2 weeks, my hair started to fall out. The FDA didn't require the makers of Claritin to label this side effect on the packaging. I have lost 50% of my hair! Do your homework please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/4/2015
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps me with the itching, and nerves.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
| 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2015
Condition: Sneezing
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The bottle instructs to only take 1, 10 mg pill within a 24 hour period. Without taking 2, I spend all day rubbing my nose trying not to sneeze; I look like I've been crying all day from red, itchy, watery eyes and my ears, nose and throat are always sore. I feel like the only way this medication is effective is if I take 20 mg instead but is that even safe?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mamaste | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no complications. Sneezing & runny nose resolved leaving my nose less irritated

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Starr | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter usually takes Claritin for her allergies and it works very well for her, this year her pediatrician (we usually see the allergist) prescribed her with Silarx Loratadine Oral Solution. And her relief her has come no where close to what it does when she's taking Claritin, it looks like we'll be switching back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/27/2014
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

doesn't always stop the itching and was wondering if it contain pseudophedramine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sidci | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The tablets I take on a daily basis have helped me control my allergies and, in turn, helped control my asthma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst medication I've ever taken to relieve allergy symptoms! I am throwing the rest away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More