Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

142 People found this comment helpful

What in the WORLD is going on, here? After 12 years of drinking virtually every day (moderate to extreme amounts) and desperately wanting to quit, I finally made it in to see my GP. I am the worlds most sinister alcoholic. No DUI, no legal problems, generally stayed out of embarrassing situations, successful professional and a complete and total drunk. Drink in the mornings, throughout the day a...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

It does not work for me.6

Shared reviews and ratings

Inmylife6995 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2021
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a very heavy drinker. Not daily, but when I drink 2-3 times per week I cleared a fifth plus. Black outs were completely normal and hangovers accepted. I hated myself. Struggled every day I drank my brain saying what are you doing you don't want this, all the while getting ready to go out drinking. Do I love all the feelings or side effects of this medication, no. Is it better than the depression, sadness, anger, frustration I dealt with drinking? Absolutely. If you're at the end of the rope, tired of fighting yourself to quit before you kill yourself or someone else (dui) give this is shot. The cravings are gone(I am 3.5 weeks in). If I decide to drink it is one or two and struggle to do it and I'm done. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggierecoveryc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/20/2021
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was a binge drinker for a very LONG time and would go months without a drink and then drink every night for a few weeks to a month but things changed over the years. I started drinking a lot but maybe a few days a week and I made sure it was after 5 o'clock when I would start. I.was at an absolutely miserable job that I hated and I started to drink on my half hour morning commute be ok until maybe 4 then bought the small paper thinhgs of wine and.drive home finishing that one and have the big bota box waiting for me and I would drink almost all of at night and may have enough for a travel mug for the morning. I decided to go to detox for 5 days and was prescribed naltrexone when I got out. I did ok but in my heart I.wasn't ready and would take it before I left work and I still had cravings and would just drink through them. I ended up quitting my job because he treated me like crap and thought shaming me would make me quit....flash forward to the pandemic and I needed a job but want to interviews buzzed or drunk. At that point 7 AM was fine to.start drinking and I had stopped the naltrexone at that point. When I "hit rock bottom" and actually stopped and got support out worked! My craving was 90% gone and if I felt like I was going to fall off the wagon I would reach out to my support system. I was on 100 mg for.about 9 months and it truly helped. I gained.a lot of weight after because of my sugar craving and general binge eating so my doc put me back on 50 to.hopefully help that and with weight loss and I've been on it again for less than a week and it is helping some and helps.me curb my cravings and if I do eat cake, etc its way less. The side effects are annoying but my past experience was that they do go away within a few weeks. I am now a recovery coach and we learn a lot about opioid med antagionistics. I was told that naltrexone is hard to get on but easy to get off vs methadone which is easy.to get on but hard to get off. I personally HAVE to take it at night Otherwise I can get very very sleepy during the day but right now I'm extra sleepy because I just started I'm extra sleepy because I just started it, It also heads giving me a Right bit of nausea But that is going away pretty quickly. Space. So with this new Time trying for Time trying for been jeeting I think it's helping I'm not 100% sure Yet. I would suggest anybody trying this who really wants to get off of alcohol or Opiates Maybe started higher dose and also With now tracks on you have to be clean Hi for drug use But I highly recommend it To my clients who are serious about quitting drugs or I'll go Who are quiting drugsdrugs when they are afraid to try methadone or suboxone. You need to be clean for a few days to start it.. It also helps with chronic pain and inflammation. If this doesn't work for you I would strongly suggest trying an abuse, that can make you really sick. But nothing will.work for you unless you are absolutely ready. Support is also really important whether its from a 12 step like AA, a sponsor a therapist or doctor who you can trust or friends and family. I'm not fan of AA but it helps.so.many people, I.do.sometimes go to meetings for the.support and being party of the community not for the steps. You CAN get clean and sober without AA. So when I was finally ready it worked well for me but I think you have to be at that point. I also also NOT a fan of he.Sinclair method but whatever works for you go.for.it! ++And I should say that a lot of this I am dictating through my kindle so it might come out kind of weird to say the least++Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only day one. 50mg dosage They said once in the morning once before bed. I'm so nauseous, shaky, sweaty and tired. But then out of nowhere where I want to get up and move around but no desire to do so, so I just stare at the ceiling while laying in bed. Can't sleep on it, kinda hard to breathe. It's not drinking withdrawals I haven't had one in 2+ weeks. Not sure if this is for me. Really really don't want to take another dose AT ALL!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carmen L | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for about 3-4 months now. I started with 25 mg daily, then it was bumped to 50 mg daily. I was prescribed this for weight loss. I honestly think about food and eating more now than ever, and have actually gained 5 lbs in the time I've been on this medication. I feel like I just can't stop eating. I haven't had that before. I am also very, very tired most of the time. So, in addition to eating more, I am also sleeping much more... and I told my doctor that I am not taking this any longer. I'd rather find something else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bex | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m commenting because I couldn’t find any other reviews from people prescribed naltrexone for self harm urges, so I figured I’d share. I have been taking naltrexone at 50 (now 25) for a year-ish. Though hard to say since I’m always put on multiple meds at once, I would overall say this medication has helped me. I did have nausea for a while after first starting, but it has gone (could’ve just been anxiety nausea)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shaun | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great starting with the first pill within one hour of taking! Haven't had a drink or an urge to drink since starting 3 days ago!.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/20/2021
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Sinclair Method is absolutely remarkable! I’ve been a heavy drinker since I was a teenager - so for about 47 years. For medical reasons I needed to control my drinking or possibly quit altogether but I couldn’t do it by myself. I’m in my 11th week of The Sinclair Method (TSM) and my drinking is down over 65% and it continues to drop. I no longer drink every day, my cravings are gone, I don’t have blackouts or drink more than I want…and I don’t worry about my drinking anymore. I know that it is hard to believe but it has been easy, it has a 78% success rate and you can reach your goals relatively quickly. Just take the Naltrexone dose at least 1 hour before your first drink. The pill takes care of the carvings and that gave me time to reflect on my drinking behavior without that getting in the way. I watched the actress Claudia Christian’s Ted Talk about TSM. Then I watched the documentary One Little Pill which she was in which lead me to the book that the movie was based upon, The Cure for Alcoholism: The Medically Proven Way to Eliminate Alcohol Addiction by Roy Eskapa. Within a week I was doing The Sinclair Method. The bottom line is that I chose what looked like the “easiest way out” with the highest odds of getting there….and getting there quickly. Why would I not choose that? If you need to quit or cut back there aren’t a lot of options out there for you. With TSM there is no detoxing, no white knuckling, no lifetime meetings, no increase in cravings, no making amends and no multiple relapses….just getting your drinking under control and your life back. I’m glad I chose this path. More people need to know that there is hope - and it’s called The Sinclair Method. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dana | 35-44 | Female | Patient
7/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For binge eating and weigh loss this was prescribed to me. Only took it two days and I have never been so violently sick. Literally 45 min after taking it I was so nauseous and the vomiting was so intense that I almost went to the ER. I do not have a history of any alcohol or opioid use. I do take some other medication for depression (Lamictal) but my psychiatrist said that shouldn’t have interacted at all. She said that I am a rare case of this kind of reaction. But I have heard from a couple other friends that this also made them really sick and they couldn’t take it either. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nutmeg | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried naltrexone at a low dose of 4.5 mg dose years ago for my fibromyalgia pain, and it had no effect. But at a higher dose (I started with 24.5 mg and now take 50 mg) it is extraordinarily effective. I'm thrilled with this result, but I worry about the long-term effects, so I do not plan to take it indefinitely. The side effects - energy, a spacey feeling - I find pleasant. But this also makes me worry that perhaps this is just another painkiller, and that I'll build up a tolerance and be worse off when I try to wean myself off it. It's promoted as safer and non-addictive, but not enough is known about it yet for those claims to be trusted. It perplexes me that naltrexone is an opioid antagonist, but it feels slightly like an opioid to me. So I'm trilled to have relief from the pain, but I proceed with caution. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2020
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I finally decided to quit drinking. I was prescribed this pill as a trial to see if it helped with the cravings. It sure helped! I have been taking this pill every day for 21 days. On day 22, I figured I would cut the dose in half to begin weaning myself off the medication. Unfortunately, I was craving alcohol all day long with the half dose and decided to make myself a cocktail. Two sips into the cocktail I became nauseous and felt hot. I had an instant headache and did not catch a buzz from the attempt. The rest of the drink went down the drain. It was not enjoyable at all. This medication is amazing and I learned that Iâ??m not ready to cut down on the prescribed dose. Iâ??m actually glad that the drink I made wasnâ??t enjoyable, as it confirms that alcohol is poison and I donâ??t need it in my life anymore. Knowing that the drink I tried to have wasnâ??t enjoyable at all will make me avoid alcohol all together for a while. I am so grateful for this medication and will talk to my doctor about the monthly shot, as I heard it worked just as well as a daily pill. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lighthouse | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2020
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m on day 3. I donâ??t have a desire to drink, but I think itâ??s primarily because this medication is making me extremely nauseous. Also having some dizziness and sleepiness, although seem to be getting better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Woe_is_me | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/11/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was actually prescribed naltrexone for binge eating. After my Husband cheated on me followed by the suicide of my stepson I definitely went into a downward spiral. I started therapy for obvious reasons and expressed how I would buy a whole cake, chocolates and pastries and EAT IT ALL. I am honestly surprised I didn’t get diabetes. I also started to drink a bit more then normal but nothing to the point of needing help as the drug is intended for. I am 5feet 7inches, 135 lbs athletic build. I take 25mg at night right before bed cause it knocks me the f out. I still have a cocktail occasionally but either nurse it or forget I have it. It has helped immensely with my binge eating. I did notice when I eat and before “I know” I am full/had enough, my body does this quick intense reaction of wanting to spit out the food and hits this “yuck” button. This medication definitely discourages over eating, at least for me and helped me feel more in control. I have a very dear friend who I know struggles with drinking and suggested this medication. She’s currently on it and extremely happy. I would definitely agree with a majority of the comments about finding the right dosage that works for you. Technically I should be taking 50mg but my body works better on 25mg. This medication can be a game changer in someone’s life, I highly recommend it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Niki Nik | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2020
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nonstop vomit/ not even h20 1 pill=2 days dry heaving only Forced sleep is better/ scares me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cheryl | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/4/2020
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried to stop drinking on my own with no success. Ask Doctor for help, given 50mg Naltrexone this immediately took away the cravings and desire to drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andrew T | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2020
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Waited a year before writing a review to be sure I gave an accurate depiction. Heavy daily drinking for 20+ years. Drank to get smashed and could easily go through a 12pk. Doc wanted me on antibuse plus lithium (or something like that) for the withdrawals. Did my homework online and found out about Naltrexone. I pitched it to my Doc and he wrote a scrip. I knew it wasn't gonna work. No way. You get a month's supply and a prayer. Taking it for the 1st time was THE hardest thing I've ever had to do mentally. I didn't want to let go of my passion. The demons were wrestling me. But I just banged the pill down with a glass of water. It was evening time and the time of day where I'm usually well on my way to wastedville. I had 6 tall boys in the fridge at the ready. But I waited an hour to see if this pill made me feel any different. The time went by and the magic happened. NOTHING. No euphoria I was expecting this pill to create, no substitute feelings causing me to not want to drink. No crave, no wants. I opened the fridge, looked at those tall boys and thought to myself well that was a waste of $7. I didn't want one! I didn't get pukey thoughts or feelings either if I thought about drinking one. I didn't want to. I just didn't need to! I can't explain it. No vertigo or weird twitch in my face. I took 1 pill a day for 4 weeks. I probably coulda gone 2 weeks, but decided to be "safer". That was November 25, 2018. It's January 2020 now and I haven't had a drink since. Still no crave. Ya I miss it at times, but I'm not missing the drinking, I'm missing the shenanigans my friends and I used to do. But I don't need booze for that; and you'd be amazed at what you can get into while sober. You get to find out who your friends really are/aren't. My quality of life with my wife & kids is great now compared to divorce talks I used to have. I never went to AA or therapy. Don't need it. People always ask me is there a magic bullet?? I say yes. Yes there is. Put it on a billboard.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FredericKahler | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The oral route is fraught with too many distractions and temptations. For example, this pill has a very short half-life; you can start drinking again a few hours after ingesting. A far better approach is the monthly shot given by a nurse. It is more expensive, but a grant may be available. In applying for the grant it may occur to you that you will likely get a better chance at the grant by padding your alcoholism with opioid abuse, but can such a add-on trouble you later or this all confidential. Regardless, the shot far exceeds any AA program or pill. It has changed my life. The pill, not so much.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. Gatsby | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2019
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a no off switch black out drinker. I was so hopeful in this drug. I was extremely disappointed.. It made me crazy, edgy, and completely pass out - like couldnâ??t revive pass out. I hate it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnDanaPoint | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2019
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does NOT reduce cravings. Go google "does naltrexone reduce alcohol cravings" if you don't believe me. Many reviews here claim it does, it does NOT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a week of detoxing safely after drinking heavily and in and out of the hospital over 200 times in 5 years (only 31 years old), I started taking 50 mg a day in the morning and have had no desire of drinking. This plus s good aa group and sponsor has helped me obtain sobriety. Highly recommend!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fitgal44 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2019
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a habit of drinking in the late afternoon daily, and after being prescribed this, I have no interest in drinking. I have had a few drinks since I started it a month ago, but I don’t get any enjoyment out of the experience and am amazed that I have no desire to drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More