Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

As an alcoholic, I kept relapsing every 3 to 5 months. This has prevented my relapes, and I had no urges to drink at all! Don't even like to see it or smell it!

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

never used

Shared reviews and ratings

Ken | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got so sick first time i took it. headaches, dizziness and anxiety. So I chose to wait a few days and try again (No booze for 3 days now) I got violently ill. I vomited until there was nothing left and I was dry heaving and some stomach bile was coming up. It was really painful. I vomited 12 times in 8 hours. It was horrible. Then the diarrhea started and was equally as horrible. It's been 18 hours since i took the pill and i'm still in rough shape. I just tried 2 oz of juice with 2 oz of water and a pinch of salt and 5 minutes later I threw it all up. I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy. So if you don't mind feeling like you are dying then it will help you not drink. Just not worth it in my books... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/22/2016
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just about to start this table t I have a alcohol problem , and all the comments are about opiates is there anyone out there . That takes it for alcohol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2015
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

keep taking it, don't give up. it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maggie_62035 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2014
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 1 month. It has worked for me. No side effect at all. I am taking this medication for opiate usage and heroin. This is a miracle pill for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bowlingmomma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2013
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I honestly don't know what to think yet. I just started taking 1 a night last night. So, They gave it to me for cravings. It's been 30 days since I took any pain meds!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skittishpixie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2011
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

given to me for cravings, being clean for 2 months now. Had a lot of side effects, throwing up, jaw clenching, tiredness, headache,chest pain, don't want to eat or drink, feeling as if i am going thru withdrawals all over again. Just a general feeling of being sick. I don't think i will continue taking this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
postess | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2011
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only taken 2 doses but I was extremely nauseous yesterday afternoon/last night. Did not eat dinner and threw up before bed finally. This pill is great-it made not want to eat or drink. I guess its a diet pill too. I told my husband it's great-just as if I was drinking and got sick. Yea! I'm going to try and take it tonight before bed or maybe I will only take a half. I really want this to work but the nausea sucks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/20/2011
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
revia | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2011
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

never used

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissNucci08 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2010
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Husband and I have been taking Naltrexone for a little over 4 months. I am was a IV Diladid user, using anywhere from 200mg to 300mg a day. I went to inpatient pack in Feb for 30 days but relaped in treatment and immediatly after. This drug caused us to loose our home and even our son we still could not stop. Since taking Naltrexone I have been clean with no cravings for over 4 months. We are close to having our son back. Life is getting back on track again. I highly recommend this to anyone struggling with addiction. It works!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carlos | 55-64 | Male | Patient
3/9/2010
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It amazes me the different reactions people get from Naltrexon. I am considering myself for opiate dependence. I relapse once in a while and I do not like the idea. I am just hoping that the medication will be perfect for me. I have been on Suboxen and that worked good, but I had to cut down the Suboxen in 1/8 so that I could get off it on 1 mgs. It worked great for me. But one can still get sick when one tries to kick although on 1mg. I did not feel any withdrawls. I am considering Naltexon I just wonder about the side effect and the cost of the medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
activemom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2010
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this med. for 2 days and want to stop. I've experienced extreme anger, sadness and lethargy. In additional to being an alcoholic, I am also bipolar. Most disturbing for me was the constant sensation of NEEDING TO STRETCH - like when you first wake up. My muscles would tighten and I would have to outstretch both arms & legs up to 30 times in an hour. Very strange. Looked like I had turrets syndrome. I was wondering if this has happened to anyone else. After two days I've discountinued due to these side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
not as fat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/13/2010
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gone to treatment 4 times. It wasn't until naltrexone that I got sober and like it. I was on it for 4 years and sober for 6 years. Then a 3 year relaspe. I have been back on naltrexone about a year and glad to be alive. The first two or three doses are like a bad acid trip, I would recommend a tranquilizer at night for the first few days. But after that you don't even know you have taken anything. Its just that the never-ending cravings are GONE! Its such a blessing. You don't even think about alochol and it doesen't bother you to be around it. Its a miracle! I thank God for people who found this drug. I have alot of arithis and a lot of pain. I have hydrocodone, but asprin works just about as good. I can deal with the pain alot better than being so sick from drinking a fifth of tequilla, or a gallon of wine. Plus I have lost a pile of weight. A case of beer has alot of calories.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tm_thomas | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/11/2010
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my fiance was an opiate addict for 3 yrs and he went to rehab and gave him revia. he had withdrawal for the first few days and he toughed it out... now he has been clean for a yr and has made so much improvement! he's the man i fell in love with again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
huckster | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

want to know more info on this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jon1960 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/27/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i use to cutt myself years ago and it started again after nine years after i had a head enjury. i cutt myself four times in two months. my doc put me on naltrexone and it stoped me from cutting. the proplem is i have real bad pain for years and i can not take the drugs i use to take. i would like enfo on what i can take, ill ask my doc because i got to go back to a pain center. the med is good for not drinking and cuts you down on smokeing. i did not like this drug at frist because of not being able to take the pain meds i use to be on but i would rather not cutt myselfRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T3kids | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/13/2009
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on revia for 1 year for an opiate addiction. It has worked great for the cravings. The side effects have mostly subsided. In the beginning stomach cramps, nausea, hard to eat (appetite is still not great), but overall it has prevented me from any relapses in a yr.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2009
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2008
Condition: Habit of Drinking Too Much Alcohol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/2/2008
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feel bad, terrible diarreah and still have craving for Lortab.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More